We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 'winter warmer'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kingscliff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holland-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Chose this hotel as we were visiting family in Essex and were attracted by their Winter Wine & Dine Offer. We were not disappointed. Our Executive Double Room with Sea view had clearly been refurbished very recently; it was very clean and minimalist in decor (which we like) with a very comfortable kingsize bed. Very relaxing bar with simple but good bar menu. The hotel's best asset though is perhaps it's staff - the staff we dealt with were warm, friendly, and very helpful. We would return if and when in the area.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank magmar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for The Kingscliff Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

We booked for an overnight stay; it was advertised as a 'Mid January Deal' - £65 for an Executive Double room, B&B, 2 people in a double room. We were allocated the most dreary, pokey, (think 'forgotten store cupboard') room, overlooking a grey, dilapidated, 'holey' car park and extractor fans (room 9). The door almost opened into the bed facing a far too big a flat screen tv and it had a very small bathroom. Very little room to walk around the bed. All in all the worst room you can imagine having to stay in, especially as we were back at 3pm from a long walk and were looking forward to chilling out for the rest of the day and evening. Back at reception they confirmed that it was in fact a 'Standard Room' and not an Executive Double room. The only other room that was available was not to our satisfactory (a disabled room in another 'forgotten' part of the hotel). Personally I found the entire hotel lacking warmth, personality and atmosphere; the bar area appeared gloomy, dark and 'boring'. The receptionist (Sarah) was very accommodating and gave us a refund straight away without any problems. We were glad to be back in our own, warm, cosy home!! (Lucky we only live 1 hour away) The town itself appeared to have little to offer either; no interesting looking shops or coffee places to sit and watch the world go by................never again!

Room Tip: Just don't bother..............if you are allocated room no 9 - refuse!!! unless you don't m...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MWheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My partner & I and my 83 year old Mother had no reservation, and had just walked out of the Lifehouse Hotel & Spa a few miles down the road.

The Kingscliff Hotel Staff welcomed us with open arms and found us 2 rooms for 3 nights.
I am given to understand they have spent a huge amount of money revamping and it has been spent well. The whole place is CLEAN fresh and modern while keeping some old features like the huge staircase.
All the staff were more than helpful and very friendly. We dined in the restaurant on 2 evening out of the 3 and found the food to be of an excellent standard. My mother is a vegetarian and on the first night, bearing in mind we had not booked with them, whipped up a nut roast for her that was delicious.
Breakfast was plentiful and the service was good.
Room rate was also favourable.
I recommend this hotel whole heartedly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We spent 3 days Twixmas 27th - 30th December. This Hotel is Brilliant the Food was excellent, Staff Friendly, Helpful, & Attentive. The Rooms are of a very high standard, very comfortable with lovely sea views.This was our second visit We took 2 friends with us & they throughly enjoyed the stay we didnt want to leave, we all had a lovely time.We will be returning hopefully at Easter.
A Big Thankyou to Manager Marion & all Staff.100% Recommend.
Location is nice, plenty to do, lots of places to visit all around, lovely walks it is a very enjoyable place to see.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but a Seaview is obviously best.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIGS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

It's was a laugh should of gone on a bit longer was all a bit gutted shots was a bit pricey. Clean toilets friendly staff enjoyed the night and stay it's quite big area the dinning room and then a confortable bar lounge area places to smoke out the back and front and also a big car park right on the sea front lovley views .

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bailey1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Excellent x-mas day lunch,great stay.This was our fifth visit at the Kingscliff Hotel.
The rooms We will give 4 star,very clean and the decor was very nice.
B-fast was good as always.
Thank you to Marion and his team.We definitely recommend this place and we gone come back.
Sam

Room Tip: sea view rooms
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Was very disappointed with this hotel. The website states it has a restaurant, in fact it is a function room with tables set up depending on how many people decide to use it. The menu on Christmas eve was a joke, the choices of main course being either roast beef, roast turkey, salmon and a vegetarian option, dessert was cheese, Christmas pudding or ice cream. Why ever would you want turkey and Christmas pudding on Christmas Eve?? There was no atmosphere whatsoever, one of the guests brought in their I Pod in so that we at least had some music. When we went to the bar, same thing, we asked for music to put on, which they did, but then closed the bar at 11pm!!.
Went for breakfast Christmas morning to find no table set for us in the dining room, they cleared a table someone was just vacating, but didn't even clean the table before we used it. The bread basket was empty and we had to ask for more bread to be brought in, no glasses for juice and the only plates, were 3 that were wet and 1 that was dirty, so we had to ask for glasses and clean/dry plates.
Although the rooms were nicely refurbished and the beds comfortable, there were some pretty basic things missing from the room. I had a single room and there was nowhere to put your things away, hanging space was provided but no drawers. No towel rails in the bathroom and no anti slip mats. Some of the staff were rude and abrupt.
The bar menu was much better than the restaurant and they should not advertise a restaurant unless they supply a restaurant menu.
My brother and his family had flown in from Portugal so that we could spend Christmas together, very disappointed that the hotel was such a let down.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotravelEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holland-on-Sea
1.6 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
404 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
1.5 mi away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#11 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#9 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
257 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Sandrock
The Sandrock
#5 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
115 reviews
1.4 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#13 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingscliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingscliff Hotel

Address: 55 Kings Parade | Clacton-on-sea, Holland-on-Sea, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 5JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea > Holland-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holland-on-Sea
Price Range: £47 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kingscliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Kingscliff Hotel, we believe that a proper night's sleep is the most important part of anyone's stay. All 30 guest rooms are appointed for your enjoyment and comfort. All rooms are traditionally furnished to compliment the character of the hotel. Some of the rooms have front line views over the promenade and sea. The Kingscliff Suite is popular for honeymooners with a four poster bed. There is a large family room which can cater for a family of four.Business travellers can expect WiFi within the hotel. There is a fax machines and photocopier available on reception. Also secretarial services are available subject to prior arrangement. Each bedroom features a LCD flat screen television with freeview channels and trouser press. Room service is available up to 9.00 pm hours. Reception will attempt to cater for your individual requirements wherever possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Kingscliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingscliff Hotel Holland-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing