We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kingscliff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holland-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“birthday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just back from a travelzoo deal of an overnight stay with 3 course dinner & breakfast at this superb hotel. Booked this deal as a birthday treat for my husband & what a treat it turned out to be. Arrived in early afternoon to be shown to our room which was superb, huge comfortable bed, spotlessly clean & spacious room with a huge bathroom with separate bath & shower cubicle . We had a side sea view which was nice, flat screen TV in room also tea/ coffee making facilities . Excellent 3 course meal in evening with equally as good breakfast the next morning. The staff were all so friendly & helpful & couldn't do enough for us.
Had lovely long walk along the beach on first afternoon & then went in to Clacton the next morning.
All in all a superb value for money stay at a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BasilNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    169
    40
    34
    27
See reviews for
129
239
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

With a travel zoo deal which offered afternoon strawberries and cream with Pimms, followed by dinner, bed and breakfast at this hotel, we decided to give it a try. Holland on Sea is the quieter end of Clacton, and only four miles from Frinton, a place we like.
The room was very good, with a huge bed and large bathroom, which had full sized bath and double shower. Décor was in neutral pale greys. Clean and comfortable. Décor in lounge/bar area is a bit gloomy. Dining room was light and pleasant, and 3 course dinner was very good indeed. Breakfast also of a good standard. Only small criticism,, the bedroom had room for a small armchair, but there was only a stool, and the lovely bannisters on the main stairs needed a dust!

Room Tip: A front sea view room is possibly best, our side room was quiet, and a good size for a standard room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normaedwina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights here on the Great British break off deal. The receptionist was friendly and checking in and out hassle free. We got the train to Clacton and walked the approx 30min walk to the hotel - this suited us as we travelled light. There was a bus service to Walton on the Naze in the village and good transport links via bus and train in Clacton - there isn't really anything to do in Holland on Sea itself, but the views are nice and it is quiet. The room was pretty nice, clean and tea/coffee etc were provided. It was pretty hot throughout the hotel with the radiators on - but the bedroom window opened fully so we could keep our room comfy, and different people like different things temperature wise. We were given a room with a bath as requested. The food was good for the price of the deal, although the full menu prices would have been more than we would have wanted to pay for the meal. Breakfast was good too, as part of the deal, full English was OK as was the salmon and eggs. As part of our deal we were meant to get a bottle of prosecco in our room, one wasn't in there, so after dinner we asked at Reception. They asked us to get the booking print-out as they thought we were entitled to red/white wine only. It was a bit embarrassing by this point as I had to go to the room to get the paperwork, and then back down and people in the bar were beginning to notice and watch our conversation. We were given the prosecco fine once we had proved we were on the right deal - but then had to carry the bottle, glasses and ice bucket up through the bar to our room, which made me cringe and my boyfriend look like a lothario! In conclusion, a pleasant hotel if you are looking to stay near Clacton - but we recommend you sign up to one of their excellent package deals to get the most satisfaction from your stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnR40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
243 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We've stayed here before and now that the renovations are complete, it is very nice and conveniently located for us. This time when we checked in there was a bit of a problem. It seems that some maintenance people had been in the room and had made a bit of a mess after it had already been serviced by the housekeeping staff. Management responded quickly and appropriately to make our stay pleasant. You can't ask for more! We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: We like the rooms with the sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

From the stress free week prior to our big day, to the last farewells a week after our first guests arrived, we had nothing but a superb experience. Amanda and her team were fantastic, there were some little issues, but that was more down to guest expectations than the staff leaving their crystal balls at home.
My wife and I had the most spectacular day, if any one is considering using this venue then let me say;
Venue - Tick
Food - Tick
Wine/Port/Champagne - Tick (they even managed to get drinks in on request)
In house DJ - Tick (we were really not sure at first, but so glad we did, Brilliant)
Evening BBQ - Tick
Rooms - Tick
Views - Tick
Gardens - Tick
Ample Parking - Tick
Service - Tick
OVER AND BEYOND SERVICE - TICK
Will I go back - Tick

To all members of the team and Amanda a big thank you. Jez & Debbie xx

Room Tip: We booked the whole hotel and checked out all the rooms and they are all nice. Sea-view my choice. G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jez C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Under new management and I must say the results are excellent. Could not fault anything about this lovely hotel. Rooms were clean, big and modern. Food was well presented and very good. Breakfast was also very good with a full english breakfast and plenty more besides. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend at this present time.

Room Tip: If you can get a room at the front of the hotel you get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexTrueblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
152 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The new Manager really does great things to this place.
Great food, well presented, friendly staff going the last mile, excellent service, great value for money.
An example for the whole area !
Well done.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christophe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holland-on-Sea
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#7 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Sandrock
The Sandrock
#8 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#13 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingscliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingscliff Hotel

Property: The Kingscliff Hotel
Address: 55 Kings Parade | Clacton-on-sea, Holland-on-Sea, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 5JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea > Holland-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holland-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kingscliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Kingscliff Hotel, we believe that a proper night's sleep is the most important part of anyone's stay. All 30 guest rooms are appointed for your enjoyment and comfort. All rooms are traditionally furnished to compliment the character of the hotel. Some of the rooms have front line views over the promenade and sea. The Kingscliff Suite is popular for honeymooners with a four poster bed. There is a large family room which can cater for a family of four.Business travellers can expect WiFi within the hotel. There is a fax machines and photocopier available on reception. Also secretarial services are available subject to prior arrangement. Each bedroom features a LCD flat screen television with freeview channels and trouser press. Room service is available up to 9.00 pm hours. Reception will attempt to cater for your individual requirements wherever possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kingscliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingscliff Hotel Holland-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing