We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you to Amanda and her amazing Team”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kingscliff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holland-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We too had fabulous time staying at the "The Legacy Kingscliff Hotel".
My husband and I were both tired after watching the Airshow and rather than eat in the restaurant which we had previously arranged, we decided to order room service... On arriving at the hotel we could see that there was a lovely wedding party taking place and also see how flat out Amanda and her staff were working.. Knowing this we never expected our evening meal to be very quick.. How wrong were we. A knock at our door to find two lovely members of staff with our hot meals. Wow! have never had service like this before. And then again at breakfast Bev was so attentive and cheerful whilst looking after our every needs.. Amanda, we will return. It would be rude not to. A huge thank you to all. What a gem of a hotel!

Room Tip: As for a quieter room if there are any Wedding venues on during your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redrobin916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

Have stayed here a number of times when visiting family as it's the only local hotel. Will never go back. 3 times now we have received a call on the day of our booking informing us that we have been "out-booked" despite having Booking Confirmations from the hotel. On each occasion we have had a heated debate with the Management and been given a room. Doubtless at the expense of someone else being "out-booked". Hotel is average - nice public rooms - bedrooms are adequate. Breakfast has been a shambles every time we've stayed. Last time we stayed we took one look - hot food had mostly run out, no bread, no milk, no cereal, only 1 member of staff visible, many disgruntled looking guests, one loudly complaining - so we decided to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Spent two nights at this tastefully decorated hotel. Excellent service by young enthusiastic staff. Had a wonderful meal as part of the Great British Bake Off. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Most 1st floor rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJK_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Ignore any bad reviews of this hotel . We booked via travelzoo and had a really good deal. From the moment we arrived we were very warmly greeted. Rooms nicely decorated and very clean. Restaurant food was lovely. Lots to choose from and nicely served up and it was nice to have breakfast brought to you by a waiter/waitress. The continental platter was help yourself. Staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will be going there again .
Sue Tofts

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Made to feel very welcome on arrival, easy parking to the rear, clean room, lovely meal that evening and a very full full English for breakfast. I would definitely choose this hotel to stay in again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We just had two nights at this lovely hotel.
There are marked differences between the amazing service at dinner to the breakfast experience.
I really don't want to put this hotel down but it's almost like staying in two different places. Dinner is so plush, food amazing and the service can't be faulted. Breakfast however is haphazard, messy and disorganised.
Room service is faultless, quick and accommodating. We requested an ice bucket and wine glasses, they were with us in less than 2minutes.
The room was stunning. The huge, enormous bed was possibly one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in. The decor just simple but very effective. This is a beautiful hotel which can offer a really relaxing break and it's just on the beach.
The food at dinner on the first night was very good quality, beautifully presented and delicious. Well done chef !!
Well done!
It's obvious there is a lot of work going on to make this hotel work. The manager needs to understand that the breakfast team need work.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms just lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Nice attentive & cheerful people running an good quality hotel offering fantastic value for money. Food brilliant, room very clean and comfortable, charming staff who try very hard to make a stay here enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holland-on-Sea
1.6 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
412 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Clacton-on-Sea Central
1.7 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#9 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Langtry Hotel
The Langtry Hotel
#11 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
153 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Sandrock
The Sandrock
#4 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
120 reviews
1.3 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#14 of 17 in Clacton-on-Sea
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingscliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingscliff Hotel

Address: 55 Kings Parade | Clacton-on-sea, Holland-on-Sea, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 5JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea > Holland-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holland-on-Sea
Price Range: £41 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kingscliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Kingscliff Hotel, we believe that a proper night's sleep is the most important part of anyone's stay. All 30 guest rooms are appointed for your enjoyment and comfort. All rooms are traditionally furnished to compliment the character of the hotel. Some of the rooms have front line views over the promenade and sea. The Kingscliff Suite is popular for honeymooners with a four poster bed. There is a large family room which can cater for a family of four.Business travellers can expect WiFi within the hotel. There is a fax machines and photocopier available on reception. Also secretarial services are available subject to prior arrangement. Each bedroom features a LCD flat screen television with freeview channels and trouser press. Room service is available up to 9.00 pm hours. Reception will attempt to cater for your individual requirements wherever possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Kingscliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingscliff Hotel Holland-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing