We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Maderas
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Alcazar(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barrio Cafe Hotel(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Victoriano(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buena Vista Surf Club(Playa Maderas)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HulaKai Hotel(Playa Maderas)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Estacion(San Juan del Sur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Dolce Vita(San Juan del Sur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rositas Hotel(San Juan del Sur)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveller rating
188
88
19
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
88
19
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttlemaderas beachgreat poolsan juanyoga pavilionhotel restaurantminute walkwalking distancea wonderful staybeautiful placesun loungersrestaurant offersoffer yogabrownierooms are niceenjoyed my staysurf lessons
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 310 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Let me start by saying what a beautiful resort this is. The rooms, though spartan, were comfortable and spacious. I especially loved the hammock right outside my door, and the mosquito net saved me from all the creepy-crawlies in the night. The pool is beautiful, clean and well-maintained, with cushioned deck chairs and hammocks. Food in the restaurant was good but a little higher priced than you might find elsewhere because of the location, and staff was friendly and helpful.

The only reason I gave Casa Maderas four stars instead of five is that I found the proprietor/manager less than skilled at hospitality. She seemed less interested in welcoming guests and making sure they had a pleasant stay than she was in attending to the many details of running a resort. That stuff needs to be invisible to guests. I never got the feeling that anyone was happy that I was there (and no, I don't need the validation). After all, this is a resort.

With some serious attention to improving the level of hospitality, Casa Maderas would be perfect!

Room Tip: Rooms at the top of the hill have a great view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misstutti2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMaderasEcolodge, Manager at Casa Maderas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit at Casa Maderas Ecolodge. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We always appreciate input, positive or negative and always look for ways to improve our place and/or ourselves. It's definitely not the manager intention to make our guests unwelcome and I apologize the disappointment that you experienced and assure you that this is not the norm. Hopefully we will see you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

This place Is really one of my favourites, why ? First of all it's so beautiful and relaxed. The lovely cabins is located in levels, and at the top is a pavilion overviewing the landscape! From here i could see the morning sun rice, alongside doing morning yoga or a meditation! Mmmm fantastic! The flowers, plants and the colourful paintings on the walls and inside the cabins, makes the place so cozy and yet delicate and special! Good food, smoothies and drinks On the menu! In the nights when the light turns down and the ambient mood lightning is turn on, it's so nice to sit by the pool, underneath the stars, and listen to the sound of the wind and the crickets! I highly recommend this place - good Energy! And personally I LOVE the fact that the there is good pressure in the shower....and the fact that there is a shuttle taking you to the different beaches ;)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank AnnaVanTastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Just got back from a lovely relaxing break!
What we liked:
The free check in and check out shuttle from San Juan Del Sur was ideal, and also the free shuttle to and from the nearest beach. It was a very tranquil hotel, with instructions from hotel that 10:30pm onwards is quiet time. Very relaxing, nice setting, in a rustic, ranch land.
Staff were very friendly, especially the Nicaraguan restaurant staff.
Wifi everywhere.
Yoga area, which we used the space to meditate. If you want a yoga class you have to book.
The Food:
The restaurant food was ok, nice selection especially for vegetarians, but some basic cooking skills seem to be lacking, i.e. we had totally uncocked vegetable kebabs, even after sending back they returned with inedible eggplant. Recommend the red lentil salad and Vietnamese spring rolls. 1st day breakfast was limited as we are vegetarians, the eggs were good but fruit salad was just a few small pieces of fruit, and the coffee was absolutely un drinkable!!! and sugary cheap juice not tasty. However the next two days we were blown away with delicious passion fruit juice and plentiful granola and pancake options! (I guess they went shopping!!)

The rooms:
Nice exterior, pretty basic but clean. Some of the furnishings were very cheap and tacky, i.e. ugly curtains with plastic hooks and the mosquito net was in a bad position so only covered one of us in bed properly. Cold showers (no hot water!) Wasn't too cold though.

The location:
Nearby beaches is the main reason to use this hotel! Playa Maderas which the free shuttle takes you to or a 10min walk-(very steep) is for the surfers (not our seen). The nearby deserted, swimming beaches- Playa Marsella is a 12mins FLAT walk from hotel (turn right and take the first right again down a little dirt track) Playa Majagual also beautiful and totally deserted beach walking distance 12mins from Playa Maderas.
If you want a nice lunch with incredible views- Pacific Bay Hotel 7mins walk from hotel towards Playa Masella has incredible views and lovely food-try the goats cheese salad!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Journeying_inwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this very nice hotel 3 nights and it wasn't enough... The free shuttle service ( twice a day) was enough to get to San Juan del Sur when we wanted to, but it was it's proximity to Maderas beach (10 min. walk) that was a big plus for us. The rooms where big, clean and quiet and the pool area was nice. The only negative point of our stay was that the specials menus and happy hours deals advertised in our room were not honored in the restaurant.. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a nice stay near San Juan del Sur!!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Derf_Qc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

This the place to stay. It's close to the one of the best surf spot in Nicaragua. The owners are very helpful and they do everything to enjoy your trip. For the price of an hostel, you've got a brand new resort. The food and the service are worth the price. At the end, we are just feeling that we are in heaven.

It's very easy to book tours: horse riding, surf trip, zip lines, fishing, name it!

In conclusion, if you have to go San Juan Del Sur, go to Casa Manderas. It' the palce to stay!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank method_ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews