We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostel Clandestino
Nearby Hotels
Selina Maderas(Playa Maderas)(Great Value!)
US$30
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Estacion(San Juan del Sur)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Dolce Vita(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rositas Hotel(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Barrio Cafe Hotel(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Victoriano(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa(San Juan del Sur)
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Jardin Hotel and Restaurant(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HulaKai Hotel(Playa Maderas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hush Maderas(Playa Maderas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
84
6
5
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
6
5
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunal kitchenhowler monkeysfood trucktucked awaysan juan del surfree coffee all dayyoung germanbring foodmaderas beachyoga platformlounge areathe perfect spotfree watersuper closeother guestslaid backrelaxed atmosphere
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We happened upon Hostel Clandestino through word of mouth while travelling and we are so thankful to our friends who told us about this little bit of paradise, a pleasant 5 minute walk to Playa Maderas. As a family with 2 teenagers, we liked the hostel experience as they met people from all over the world. And Clandestino was no exception as we were there over the busy New Year's holiday season with Germans, Argentinians, Italians and a charming American. Stefan and Corinna had only opened for business a few weeks earlier and their ability to welcome guests while still dealing with unexpected surprises speaks to their ability to make everyone feel comfortable and at home. We were in the dorm room (4 beds) and it was very comfortable for the four of us, with a lovely veranda overlooking the forest. The howler monkeys were crazy to listen to and the breezes from being so high up were welcome in the heat. Unfortunately the pizza oven was still being constructed while we were there so we never did get to enjoy what I now hear is a constant production of pizzas, bread and cakes, but we managed in the communal kitchen no problem. The coffee urn was on each morning before we hit the beach for early morning surfing, and some mornings we even saw the owners out catching some morning waves; nice to see them enjoy their surroundings in addition to running the hostel. The communal living and dining space is stunningly simple with amazing building and furniture design; it's a marvel to just sit and look at the surroundings and the buildings. For two such young entrepreneurs to be running this business so well is a credit to them following their Nica dream; I really hope to go again and visit them and the wonderful community at Playa Maderas.

Room Tip: The hostel was full when we were there so I only saw our dorm room...which was great with four single beds and two large windows for air flow.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marinoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I had been referred to Hostel Clandestino (named after a Manu Chau album) by their neighbors the Buena Vista Surf Club. It was a leap of faith on my part, as there were no trip advisor reviews and I was unable to access their facebook page for some technical reason and I had only ever received emails from Stephan and Corrina. Did Hostel Clandestino exist? I would soon find out and off I went; from Massaya through the town of San Juan Del Sur onto dirt roads in a 4x4 taxi with a driver that had never been to or heard of Hostel Clandestino. Along the way we drove past Pizza in the Jungle (also known as munchies blues) and the Marsella Valley Nature Reserve and Disk Golf Course, Mango Rosa, and the Flying Frog Canopy tour. The truck slowly climbed a steep road that looked as it if had been cut straight through the hill, at the top we slowly descended an equally steep road. At the intersection of three unnamed dirt roads stood Rebel Surfshop and Massage by Dunia (you must book a massage with her-excellence!, walk on up to her white board and put your name on the list). The taxi driver and I paused, shrugged our shoulders and took a sharp right up the hill that would lead us to Buena Vista Surf Club, then Village Maderas, and finally, as fate would have it Hostel Clandestino!!! Stephan, Corrina and Marius were expecting my arrival and I was warmly greeted and shown to my jungle cabaña. I arrived on December 23rd and left on January 2nd, my time spent at Hostel Clandestino was the most magical 10days of my month and half long trip to Nicaragua. The hostel itself had just recently been finished and I was approximately their 6th client. These amazing, wonderful, warm and motivated young Germans had done most of the work themselves, designed the structures around the hillside and had considered every production step along the way. I could go on, but the pictures posted have done the beauty of the hostel justice. And during the time I was there, over Christmas specifically, I felt like part of their family...few were the moments that I missed my family back in the States. The other guests staying at the hostel were equally as kind and welcoming; the quality of people in the local community was exceptional. Corrina made an amazing breakfast each morning and that is a truly an incredible feat considering my allergy to gluten. On Christmas Eve they took me along with them to Pizza in the Jungle where I happily ate peanuts, drank red wine and had an evening complete with shooting stars. Most mornings we ate together, the boys went surfing for a bit, I went off to yoga which was offered at 10am for $10 approx 500feet downhill from my room in the jungle-and the occasional surfing mission when the waves were a bit smaller and friendlier for this beginning surfer. Afterwards, during the hottest part of the day time in the hammock was necessary, and the usually a walk down to the beach for incredible food at the local eateries on Playa Maderas. New Years Eve was spectacular with fireworks on the beach and a 1:30am monsoon that made the drunken stumble back to Hostel Clandestino more fun than possibly anticipated. I miss Hostel Clandestino, I truly miss my favorite German friends that put up with my lazy crazy America ways. I plan on going back. I highly recommend staying at Hostel Clandestino. The hostel is simple, as life should be in the jungle; its beauty is in its simplicity and exceptionally wonderful owners/hosts. The leap of faith that I took into a room the Hostel Clandestino, gave me the time I needed to recover from four years of a brutal academic demand. I got to live in a jungle, get woken by howler monkeys in the morning and learn German! My time at Hostel Clandestino was epic by all accounts.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kelleyaynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews