We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place & great people”
Review of Upper Hill Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whittington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Upper Hill Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Whittington B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place & great people”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Upper hill farm had beautiful rooms in a lovely, peaceful and bird- filled setting. Breakfasts were ample and delicious and the surroundings are stunning. A perfect place to base your Cotswolds adventures. Paul and Helen are fabulous and knowledgeable hosts and make you feel at home instantly. In clear weather the stars are gorgeous at night. All in all an excellent place.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Morgan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
26
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lynden, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Our group of 6 walking the Cotswold Way spent a delightful night at Upper Hill Farm B&B. After a grueling day of walking, we were met with warm hospitality and tea & snacks. Paul & Helen were incredibly accommodating! They made reservations at a great local pub and drove us there and back. The rooms were perfect - decorated beautifully with every touch to make us comfortable. Our breakfast was a delight - with enough left over to pack a lunch for the walk. When two of our group were unable to walk the next day, Paul graciously offered to drive them to our next destination! We certainly wished we had booked more than one night at Upper Hill Farm, as Paul is willing to pick up after a day's walk and drop off the next morning to continue! This was by far our favorite B&B along the 105 mile trek! Pete & Cindy, Rudi & Virgi, Don & Tres

Room Tip: With only 3 rooms, they're all spacious and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Beautifully restored farm house with pleasing landscaped gardens and gorgeous views combined with welcoming, attentive and informative hosts, and in a fantastic location made for a special stay. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joncina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My partner and I stayed for two nights at Upper Hill Farm from Easter Monday. Despite the weather being against us our time in the Cotswolds was perfect thanks to staying in this wonderful B&B- the best I have ever been to. The owners Paul and Helen were extremely welcoming and friendly with a pot of tea on arrival in the guest lounge and tips on where to visit and eat. Our bedroom, the Cotswold Room, was perfect- extremely clean and well decorated. It felt very homely especially with the extras added, like the cosy dressing gowns, hot water bottle, and little chocolate eggs. The en-suite bathroom was lovely, nice size and a powerful shower above the bath. The B&B is on the highest point in the Cotswolds, which as you can imagine, meant the views were stunning from the room and around the house. It was extremely peaceful at night - a lovely escapism from the hustle and bustle of London. Paul and Helen made a yummy cooked breakfast as well as provided a variety of cereals, yogurts and fruit salad. We felt the location of the B&B was great, by car we could easily get to all the different Cotswold towns and villages. We definitely will be returning and recommend Upper Hill Farm to anyone - I don't think you could find a B&B in this area which has as lovely and helpful owners as Paul and Helen or is as beautiful as this C18th Farmhouse.

Room Tip: The Cotswold Room is stunning, lovely view from the window and a gorgeous en-suite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Uk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had a lovely two night stay at Upper Hill farm over Easter. We were warmly welcomed by Paul and Helen with a pot of tea and helpful tips on walks in the area and places to eat. The room with en-suite was very clean and spacious, and Helen added some lovely touches such as mini Easter eggs, fluffy bathrobes and a vase of pretty daffodils. The cooked breakfast was delicious and it was fun to sit around a large table each morning chatting to the guests. Upper Hill farm is within walking distance of Cleeve Hill, the highest point in the Cotswolds where there are superb views and an easy walk to Winchcombe. In the other direction, it's only 3 miles from Cheltenham where we enjoyed a great meal at the Curry Corner restaurant, and where the new Banksy wall art is located. We hope to return one day.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Indy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Beautiful place, high above Cheltenham and just off the Cotswold Way. Quiet, friendly and well run. Breakfasts great, certainly didn't need lunch ! A great house with a great atmosphere and nice garden, we had a relaxing few days and will return when we are next in Gloucestershire. I was particularly taken with Helen's scrambled eggs !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deniseann062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here while walking the Cotswold way and this is the place I certainly hope to return to as it was such a delightful stay. The place is beautiful and so well cared for and in terms of accommodation, the owners' attention to detail means that everything was exactly as the other reviews have suggested - faultless. Paul and Helen are lovely people, who go out of their way to ensure that every guest staying under their roof has a great experience. If you are looking for a place to stay anywhere in this locality, choose this one. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittington
1.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,292 reviews
9.9 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,072 reviews
7.5 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Birdlip
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
174 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
617 reviews
5.9 mi away
No photo provided
The Hollow Bottom
#1 of 3 in Guiting Power
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Hill Farm

Property: Upper Hill Farm
Address: Upper Hill Farm Upper HILL | Upper Hill Farm, Whittington GL54 4EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Whittington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whittington
Hotel Class:4 star — Upper Hill Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold stone 18th century country farmhouse set in tranquil countryside in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty near Cleeve Common and on the Cotswold Way overlooking Cheltenham. Retaining many original features with flagstone flooring, wooden beams and exposed stone walls. Comfortable en-suite rooms, delicious breakfast, amazing scenery with abundant wildlife, peace and harmony literally at your backdoor. Walkers are welcome and transport is available to local pub for evening meals. Open all year. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing