We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It was a fantastic week in wales”

Review of Beacon Park Boats

Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Narrowboat Grouse: Beds have luxurious sprung mattresses, duvets and traditional Welsh blankets. Narrowboat Grouse: Impressively large kitchen with everything you'll need to cook a superb meal.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
143 reviews
Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Narrowboat Grouse: Beds have luxurious sprung mattresses, duvets and traditional Welsh blankets.
Narrowboat Grouse: Impressively large kitchen with everything you'll need to cook a superb meal.
Narrowboat Grouse: Lounge with comfy chairs and log-effect gas stove.
Narrowboat Grouse: Front deck, with seating and table, can be enclosed to form a conservatory.
Narrowboat Grouse: Snuggle up to the fire with a good book for a relaxing evening in spring/autumn.
Narrowboat Grouse: For 2 couples. Has a large canopied front deck - perfect for al fresco dining.
Narrowboat Grouse: The beds are large and comfy for a great night's sleep.
Narrowboat Grouse: At the touch of a button, the beds glide away, providing more space for daytime.
Narrowboat Grouse: Spacious shower room.
Narrowboat Grouse: Ceramic handbasin on marble counter, with Gilchrist & Soames toiletries.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Narrowboat -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llangattock, Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 143 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
basis15
Biebergemuend, Germany
1 review
“It was a fantastic week in wales”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

It was a wonderful week in wales. We were very warmly welcomed and everything was very well organized. The boats are fantastic and everything was lovingly decorated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2016
Thank you for reviewing your week's cruise on the Mon & Brec canal. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time in Wales and hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan R
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Owl”
Reviewed 14 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have just returned from a fabulous 11 night stay on this wonderful boat, which can only be described as "perfect". From the bubbling jacuzzi, which raised a few disbelieving eyebrows as well as a few smiles, to the very comfortable four poster bed; nothing has been left out. No need to have taken my cafetière cozy (which comes with us every time)... Theirs is an insulated one and I could have done without the extra baggage! Little extra touches go a long way to make you feel pampered and it really is 5* treatment. With the added bonus of a wood burning stove in addition to the central heating, we were also very snug indeed. So impressed were we that we had even booked our next break with them at Incline Cottage before we had disembarked and look forward to our return in early January.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2016
Delighted that you describe your holiday on Owl as 'fabulous' and 'perfect'. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to welcoming you to Incline Cottage at Llanfoist Wharf in the New Year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic barge, beautiful countryside, quiet and peaceful”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We came here for our Honeymoon and hired the 'Owl', what more could you want from a honeymoon barge than a 4 poster bed, wood burning stove and a hot tub on the front deck!
The barge is amazing, well laid out, well stocked.
The canal itself is quiet and peaceful with plenty of places to moor up.
Absolutely loved the whole experience and would highly recommend it to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the barge design and fittings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2016
Thank you for your delightful review. We are so pleased that you chose to spend your honeymoon cruising the Mon and Brec on 'Owl'. Seems like a trend, as we're getting a number of honeymoon bookings now. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike S
1 review
“Fabulous - both great fun and relaxing too!”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We live very local to the Brecon canal, and love walking along it, so decided to book a short break on board "Kite" with old friends.
The boat was immaculate, luxuriously comfortable and toasty warm!
We had a thorough handover (tip - watch the DVD they post you before you go, and don't be daunted by it - once you get stuck in manoeuvring the boat is simple (well pretty simple!)
The company is professional, friendly, and we felt very confident that if we had any problems Sarah and Alasdair would sort anything out!
As it was our first time on a barge holiday we decided to head south on the canal, as no locks - would recommend this for first timers. The scenery is stunning which ever way you go!
We had a great time.Looking forward to challenging the locks next time!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2016
Thank you for posting a review. We are delighted that, as first time boaters, you had a thoroughly enjoyable short break on the Mon and Brec. Look forward to welcoming you back, and hearing how much you enjoy going through the canal's six locks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoisFishe...
Hagworthingham
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Magic!”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The only negative about our holiday was that we only booked for a week.
From the moment we arrived at the spanking new boat yard, we knew we had picked the right team to hire from. The boat was unlike anything you would normally find on a canal. Where else can you get five foot beds and en-suite bedrooms? This was five star plus as was the service.
One reason for only hiring for a week was the fact that the canal is only 30 miles long. However, the canal is so beautiful and there are so many good walks from it, our next hire will be for two weeks. We never did get to see either end of the canal, just too relaxed and chilled out to bother.
These are probably the best boats on any canal from the best hosts. And thanks for the tea and cake on arrival.
See you again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The canal
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Delighted to read your review. Thank you for your lovely comments. We hope to welcome you again to the Mon & Brec very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveP555
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“These boats are true luxury”
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We’ve been hiring narrow boats for over 20 years and have never come across such quality boat.
The new base is easy to find and has all the facilities you need to get you underway, including tea, coffee and biscuits, a nice deck area with rattan furniture so you can relax after travelling to the base and watch other boats pass by.
Alasdair and Sarah are great hosts and welcome guests personally and also remember if you’ve booked with them before. The household and maintenance team are very thorough and the boat are beautifully presented. Local products consisting of Bottled apple juice, Welsh cakes and Jam are a welcome gift.
Alasdair gives a full briefing before you set off, however he also takes into account previous experience with their boats so this is tailored to the individual skipper.
The bed was very, very comfortable and it was great to have a full size shower cubicle. Two TV's and two surround sound systems complement the overall quality and you can even borrow DVD's if you haven't packed your own.
Free Wi Fi was available but you do have to be in a good 3G signal area to make use of it. Hey, you're in mountains and forests for a good part of the time so what do you expect. Also sometimes it's good to be away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.
The only way to improve on the whole experience is if Alasdair and Sarah decide to offer these beautiful boats on another canal, such as the Llangollen or Kennet and Avon canals. (No plans at present but you never know)
Alasdair and Sarah, thanks for another great week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the boats
Liked least: Having to leave the boat at the end of the holiday (could have stayed for another week)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Delighted that you had another super holiday on the Mon & Brec canal. Thank you for leaving a review. We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikechime...
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent holiday as always”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have been using Beacon Park Boats every year since 2008, sometimes twice a year. Alasdair and Sarah make you feel that you have known them for years, of which we have. Very friendly & welcoming with outstanding individually designed, quality and finishing on ALL the boats and cottages, Two separate on-suite facilities make it very comfortable for two couples (and a well behaved border collie).
5 star luxury all the way, with crisp white sheets & very comfortable beds, The kitchen has all you need and more, Thank you, see you next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The continuing very high standards
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
Thank you for posting this review. We are thrilled that you have chosen to holiday so many times with Beacon Park Boats. See you in 2017.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing