We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect narrow boat holiday.”

Review of Beacon Park Boats

Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Narrowboat Grouse: Beds have luxurious sprung mattresses, duvets and traditional Welsh blankets. Narrowboat Grouse: Impressively large kitchen with everything you'll need to cook a superb meal.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
141 reviews
Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Narrowboat Grouse: Beds have luxurious sprung mattresses, duvets and traditional Welsh blankets.
Narrowboat Grouse: Impressively large kitchen with everything you'll need to cook a superb meal.
Narrowboat Grouse: Lounge with comfy chairs and log-effect gas stove.
Narrowboat Grouse: Front deck, with seating and table, can be enclosed to form a conservatory.
Narrowboat Grouse: Snuggle up to the fire with a good book for a relaxing evening in spring/autumn.
Narrowboat Grouse: For 2 couples. Has a large canopied front deck - perfect for al fresco dining.
Narrowboat Grouse: The beds are large and comfy for a great night's sleep.
Narrowboat Grouse: At the touch of a button, the beds glide away, providing more space for daytime.
Narrowboat Grouse: Spacious shower room.
Narrowboat Grouse: Ceramic handbasin on marble counter, with Gilchrist & Soames toiletries.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Narrowboat -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llangattock, Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 141 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Andy T
Tresillian, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect narrow boat holiday.”
Reviewed 28 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Beacon park boats is based in Langattock and is a fabulous location for the boatyard. An impression of high standards soon hit's you with the yards set up and a lovely warm and friendly greeting from Alisdair and Sarah was very welcome after a 4 hr drive from Cornwall. Their staff are also very friendly and were very helpful helping us on our way on Harrier, a beautiful boat. The boats are 5 stars with everything you could possibly need and very comfortable. We traveled up to Brecon through six locks and back and the scenery is stunning, the highlight for us was walking around the breathtaking views of Talybont reservoir with our two Labradors. Crickhowell was also very nice. Since we have been home our friends have all admired the pictures and we have recommended beacon park boats to them as the other companies do not come anywhere near the quality of Alisdair and Sarahs business.
Look no further.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
We really do appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. It's lovely to hear that, having travelled a long way to get to the Brecon Beacons, you were delighted with what you found. We're pleased that your two Labradors also had a good holiday! We would love to welcome you back in the future. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raybutler...
St Leonards-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great facilities”
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My wife and I spent a week aboard 'Owl' and cannot praise it enough. We had a most restful week and were lucky to enjoy good weather at a time when the leaves were just turning green in April . The most comfortable four-poster bed was delightful. We enjoyed a glass of wine in front of the wood burning stove and didn't want the holiday to end The owners were very approachable and nothing was too much trouble, they even returned an item by post that I had left in the wardrobe. Can't wait for next year ! If you, like us, are unable to cope with the locks ( although some apparently are manned by volunteers ) there are about 25 miles of lock-free canal.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
Thank you for such a lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the comforts aboard Owl, some superb weather and the 25 miles of lock-free cruising. We look forward to welcoming back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Wonderful holiday on our luxurious boat - Owl - for a week. Each evening we enjoyed the hot tub in the bow of the boat and were rewarded with a shooting star on our last night.
Beautifully designed and furnished boat. Amazingly comfortable 5ft, 4 poster bed.
A real treat for our wedding anniversary.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for this review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed all the features on Owl, and delighted that even the stars helped out, to make this a perfect wedding anniversary!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon080...
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect holiday on Grouse. Outstanding boat and beautiful scenery.”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Spent a week on the Brecon Canal and had lovely weather. Experienced boaters (family of four) and this was our 10th canal boat holiday but first time with Beacon Park Boats. Boat yard set up and facilities at Llangattock first class and owners very welcoming. Grouse was immaculate with an amazing galley and lovely seating area at front. Managed to get quite a good tv reception in places which is unusual. Appreciated the large shower and water was always nice and hot. A lot of thought has gone into this boat and there were some nice touches, the welsh cakes and jam went down well! Lots of useful information provided. Chose the active week itinerary so we were able to travel the whole length of the canal and take in the beautiful scenery and wildlife on offer. The canal itself is quite narrow with lots of bridges to negotiate (some extremely low) but there are very few locks so ideal for novices but equally suitable for an experienced crew. The area is rubbish free and peaceful, the towpaths very clean. A lot of money has and still is being spent on improving the canal. Plenty of good mooring stops with rings. Visited some delightful pubs on the way particularly the Coach and Horses where the portion sizes are enormous. Had a lovely meal at the Bear Hotel in Crickhowell.
Would thoroughly recommend Beacon Park Boats and hope to return in the future.
The boat with the hot tub (Owl) looks amazing if there are only 2 of you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive review. We are particularly delighted to hear that, as experienced boaters, you enjoyed cruising the Monmouthshire & Brecon canal and appreciated the thought that we put into designing and building our narrowboats. We love living and working in the Brecon Beacons and agree that there are plenty of lovely places to eat. We look forward to welcoming you back for another break on our boats (or in our cottages).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles B
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chill”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was our second holiday with Beacon Park Boats. This time we took our daughter, son-in-law and grandchildren with us. The boat was truly luxurious with everything you could want on board. The beds were very comfortable and flushing toilets, shower, etc.
The whole time was very relaxing and at the end of the week we spent a night at the Bear in Crickhowell, which again was very relaxing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We were so pleased to welcome you back to Beacon Park Boats, and glad to hear that your entire family enjoyed the relaxing break, too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcah67
Luxembourg District, Luxembourg
2 reviews
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Everything was great from start to finish. Easy check-in and boat handover, easy check-out. The boat was in perfect shape and exactly as advertised. Beautiful landscape along the canal - good pubs - good food. Friendly service - and great sunny weather all week long. We will recommend Beacon Park Boats to our friends (actually we already did...)

Marc

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
We really appreciate you leaving this review. It is super to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your holiday in the Brecon Beacons. And you brought such sunny weather with you for early April! We would be delighted to welcome you back. Thank you for the recommendation!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith B
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A most relaxing weekend messing about on the best UK canal.”
Reviewed 7 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

From start to finish this was a superb short break Friday to Monday. Beacon Park Boats just have to be the best around. Fantastic quality, comfortable and the added bonus of no hidden extras.
This is the 3 time of holidaying with them and there is nothing to fault whatsoever.
Highly recommended. Try it. You wont be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
It's always lovely to welcome you back, and we're pleased that your latest holiday with us was another success. Thank you for your positive feedback about 'no hidden extras'. We believe that offering a totally inclusive price for our narrowboat holidays (unlike many competitors on the UK waterways) is a very important aspect of our business. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, and we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing