We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First Class boat and all round experience”

Review of Beacon Park Boats

Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Narrowboat Grouse: Beds have luxurious sprung mattresses, duvets and traditional Welsh blankets. Narrowboat Grouse: Impressively large kitchen with everything you'll need to cook a superb meal.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
125 reviews
Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Narrowboat Grouse: Beds have luxurious sprung mattresses, duvets and traditional Welsh blankets.
Narrowboat Grouse: Impressively large kitchen with everything you'll need to cook a superb meal.
Narrowboat Grouse: Lounge with comfy chairs and log-effect gas stove.
Narrowboat Grouse: Front deck, with seating and table, can be enclosed to form a conservatory.
Narrowboat Grouse: Snuggle up to the fire with a good book for a relaxing evening in spring/autumn.
Narrowboat Grouse: For 2 couples. Has a large canopied front deck - perfect for al fresco dining.
Narrowboat Grouse: The beds are large and comfy for a great night's sleep.
Narrowboat Grouse: At the touch of a button, the beds glide away, providing more space for daytime.
Narrowboat Grouse: Spacious shower room.
Narrowboat Grouse: Ceramic handbasin on marble counter, with Gilchrist & Soames toiletries.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Narrowboat -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llangattock, Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 125 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Ianaust1
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“First Class boat and all round experience”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

If only all canal boat companies were this professional, and boats so well equipped. This was our first hire from Beacon Park Boats and our experience was superior in all respects from all others we have hired elsewhere. Apart from a company that clearly knows how to do customer service the canal itself suits those like us who prefer cruising with very little traffic (one day passing just 3 other boats). The scenery is variable and stunning, a plethora of quiet locations to moor up against in the evening, and just the right amount of locks and bridges to make the trip interesting but not tedious.

We hired Osprey, which was incredibly well equipped, clearly well maintained and very cleanly presented at handover. A minor battery hiccup was rectified canal side at 8.00pm on a Sunday evening, within a couple of hours of us phoning it in. Looking at other hire boats on the canal we were glad that we made the decision to hire from Beacon Park - the saying that you get what you pay for holds true.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for leaving a review. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your first experience cruising the Mon & Brec canal on one of our narrowboats. Delivering the highest possible level of customer service is a key part of our business, and we love doing it! If you venture back to Wales, we'd love to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adventure...
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic Week”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a fab week on the Condor wide beam boat and the whole experience was excellent from start to finish. It's a great set up and the team who welcomed us were super friendly and helpful. On the boat you have everything you need - the beds are lovely and comfortable, the showers are amazing (really they are!) and the kitchen was really well equipped. There were 5 of us (plus dog) on the boat and you felt like there was plenty of room. The canal itself really is stunning. Incredibly peaceful and beautiful scenery - excellent for a few early morning runs as well! All in all a brilliant holiday on a gorgeous boat - a great way to escape away and fully relax.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
We're so pleased that you had a great time on Condor, and really enjoyed cruising through the stunning landscape of the Brecon Beacons. Thanks for leaving this review. We hope to welcome you back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brobecs
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was our first visit to this canal. Beacon Park Boats made it truly memorable by providing a five star boat offering every amenity one could ask for. The whole team were welcoming both upon arrival and when we returned a week later. The canal is beautiful offering stunning views however if we had one negative comment to make it would be the lack of canal side pubs. Other than that we thoroughly enjoyed our time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2017
We are really pleased that you had a fabulous, first-time holiday on the Mon & Brec canal. It's always rewarding to hear that our entire team provided excellent service. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbutch
Staines, England
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is the second time we've hired a narrowboat from Beacon Park Boats - both times we had the Osprey which is absolutely fabulous. Quality of workmanship, upkeep of the boat and the fact that each couple had a 5' bed and their own, excellent, shower was superb. The boat itself is wonderfully equipped and pootling down the lovely Monmouth & Brecon canal was a most delightful & relaxing experience. We hope to do it again!
Thoroughly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2017
Many thanks for your review. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed two holidays on Osprey which, as you say, is the perfect space for two couples. Look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B
Southsea, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent - Active or chilled: Your choice”
Reviewed 21 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our second canal trip and I did not think they could be so different. The Monmouth and Brecon Canal is the most idilic setting. It does not connect with the wider canal network so it is quieter with less moored boats; but with volunteers at the locks should you still be finding your feet.
The choices are endless. Moor up and explore the villages and countryside, walk canal-side (you will walk faster than the boat!), or drift along taking in the scenery.
For maximum enjoyment get everyone to do every job... driving, day planning, lock operations, getting the next round in!
Fabulous boat from Beacon Park Boats (we had Eagle.. five adults and two dogs fitted perfectly) and excellent service from the staff.
Improvements?... Minor point but better information about the location for water, pump-out and turning would have made day-planning much easier.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We always appreciate feedback from custoemrs. Sounds like you had a lovely holiday in this 'idyllic setting'. We would love to welcome you back to the Brecon Beacons.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clive b
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Probably the best narrowboat ever !!”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Truly exceptional company to deal with and superb narrowboats. Could not wait for our second holiday in the Brecon Beacons on Beacon Park Boats, cannot fault the service from initial booking, instruction given to the final boat return. All their staff are brilliant, and the flap jacks superb!
It's so friendly you cannot help smiling even if it's raining, wonderful set up, already introduced friends on our second trip and definitely will be back for more, cannot recommend Alasdair and Sarah more highly, brilliant holidays.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2017
What a delight to read your review. Thank you. We are so pleased that you chose to return to Beacon Park Boats. We think our staff are brilliant, too! And we'll keep welcoming our customers with homemade cakes! Look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann P
1 review
“Beacon Park Boats”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Excellent booking in and service. Immaculate boats and extremely helpful staff. Lots of useful information on board to help with advise on good places to eat etc. Beautiful canal with lots of interest. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2017
We appreciate you leaving a review, and are happy to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your holiday. It's helpful to us to know that the information we provide at every stage of your holiday (from browsing our website, to making a booking, and cruising the canal) is useful to our customers. Hope to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing