We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Our son had bought us a voucher as a Christmas present for a trip to Pendryn distillery so we took advantage to have an overnight stay near by. What a wonderful hotel. As soon as we walked through the door it had a really welcoming atmosphere. The staff were extremely friendly and obliging. Our room was on the top floor and the bathroom was as big as the bedroom with a double jacuzzi and shower. Everything was really clean and welcoming. The dinner in the evening was really enjoyable and very relaxing. Would certainly recommend to others and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Many stairs to get to the top but worth the climb for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

I stayed here for 1 night with my two boys. On arrival, we were greeted by Jay, who made us feel most welcome. As it was late afternoon, the kitchen was closed, but Jay went out of his way to rustle up some sandwiches in the kitchen. Our room was huge, with a lovely large modern bathroom with impressive bath. The views were lovely and the hotel was spotless throughout. The food in the restaurant was fantastic and even my youngest, who is a fussy eater, loved it. John, who was acting as Head Waiter, was extremely attentive and helpful. Make sure you are hungry before you eat here however, as the portions are extremely generous. Crickhowell, the nearest town, is a delight and people here were very friendly. I will most definetly stay at this Hotel again, without a doubt!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Having arrived after a flight delay we were feeling tired and just needed to chill, on checking in at this very pleasant country house we received a very enthusiastic welcome and proper welsh hospitality. Shown to our rooms which were spotless, most with jacuzzi baths, large plasma screens, well aired with additional bedding if required. The food throughout our stay from breakfast to bar snacks to evening meal was truly a culinary delight. Not to mention fantastic value for money throughout. I am not a great golfer but you could not fail to be impressed by this tidy and challenging course. I look forward to returning to The Old Rectory Country House and Hotel Golf Club and would have no problem recommending this for business or pleasure. The management and staff are to be highly commended to the depth that they exceeded within the hospitality trade. Hopefully see you all soon.

Room Tip: Pre-book early as whilst they are all good rooms, they do have lovely suites which are worth that we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipD186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We have just come back from this lovely hotel, it's been some time since we were here so took advantage of a Groupon voucher. Wow we were not disappointed. Room 24 excellent large sitting area and a bath tub that was huge. Next time we will try and stay for a few nights so we can walk the hills and come back and have a soak. We watched the rugby with the locals with free snacks served half time which is a lovely gesture. Nothing too much trouble, very attentive staff. Sophie was so helpful when booking, thanks so much. We will definitely be back. Food in the restaurant excellent, a tip though, make sure you have a good appetite before you go in, portions good. Lovely wine selection. Our voucher included golf but we gave that a miss incase we damaged the green thanks all a lovely break :-)

Room Tip: Suites are so spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chamberlainspragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Stayed here saturday night ,soon as we arrived everyone was very welcoming ,john and all the staff go out of their way and give you advice on the local area always with a smile on their face ,rooms excellent ,food ,bar ,breakfast ,excellent ,the building is a pleasure too be in and only 5 minute walk from crickhowell main street had a good pub crawl ,all the locals were chatty and nice thanks everyone alun and pauline see you soon

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alzybear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I would like to thank all the staff at The Old Rectory for making my Ladies Evening a night to remember. The food was amazing and the Staff friendly and helpful, I would like to say a particular thanks to John who acted as maitre d’ for the evening function and made it run without a hiccup and Shawn and Sophie who could not do enough for us. I can honestly say that out of the 52 quests that stayed, not one of them had a bad word to say about the accommodation, service or food which made the whole experience very pleasurable. I would not hesitate to recommend The Old Rectory for a meal, a function or a good night’s sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Booked to stay for a long weekend for a surprise for my wife and I for our anniversary.

Enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back again.

Stunning location, if you haven’t been to Crickhowell you don’t know what you’re missing it’s a delight!!

The hotel was old and grand on the outside but clean and modern on the inside and very warm (no saving on the heating bills there!)

The staff are a credit to the owners and are all friendly and attentive!

It is a family run hotel (father, mother, daughter) which adds to the friendly feel
.
We have stayed in lots of similar hotels in hay on wye (20mins up the road) and this was by a mile the best run!

You won’t be disappointed!

Room Tip: we went for the standared double which was great, but next time we are going to go for a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangattock
0.9 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
619 reviews
9.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
984 reviews
12.3 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
534 reviews
14.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
649 reviews
14.6 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club

Address: Llangattock, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1PH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell > Llangattock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Price Range: £49 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished hotel is located in quiet grounds in the picturesque village of Llangattock, one mile from Crickhowell. The hotel boasts its own on-site, 9 hole, par 3 golf course, and is perfectly situated to enjoy local pursuits of walking, pony trekking, cycling, caving or boat rides on the Monmouth to Brecon canal, which adjoins the hotel. The hotel dates back to the 16th century and was once home to Welsh poet Henry Vaughan. Large car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing