We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Overnight Stay.....Arrive Hungry!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Booked by telephone and as room required was not available offered great DB&B deal. Excellent welcome and upgraded to fabulous suite that was just a delight.In excellent decorative order with a warm colour scheme the bed and linens were of very good quality. The bathroom was huge...with the latest modern fittings. As it was in the cold of February the excellent heating made it all the more cozy. Despite the best efforts of staff placing boosters nearby, I was unable to get WiFi in the suite but managed it in all the public areas. The bar staff were very friendly as were the wait staff in the restaurant . The choice of menu was extensive for this grade of hotel with portions being of good quality and size.....have a good appetite prior to sitting down!. We woke to a covering of snow and a bleak dark snowing morning but the rural location of the hotel makes this an enjoyable experience.Breakfast was very reasonable with good choice of cereals, yoghurt,pastries or full
cooked. We would have no hesitation staying again given the accommodation,food and value for money. On site parking is plentiful wit easy access to hotel.

Room Tip: The suites have huge baths, rain showers and lots of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westsussextraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed here with a group of friends for the Rugby (which I would rather not talk about!). The hotel is in a beautiful setting and is a really nice building - I would imagine it would be lovely for weddings. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and the food was excellent. They even put on a male choir in the evening which was wonderful entertainment! Should we be in the area again, we would return!

Room Tip: As for one of the bigger rooms upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrittlePeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I stayed here with my partner for his birthday. Our room was the nicest of any hotel we have stayed at, beautiful. The bathroom jucuzzi tub was the icing on the cake. All the staff were lovely especially the manager who was friendly and welcoming. Fab! We had a three course meal, it was delicious and so filling. Will 110% be going back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaLouPhil87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed here for a romantic break and will definitely be staying here again. Our room was lovely as was the rest of the hotel. The staff were very friendly as were the locals that we met whilst cheering on Wales in the rugby! Food and drink is very good and well priced. The views and nearby walks are fantastic. We would reccomend this hotel and are already planning our next stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 21 which was lovely. Four poster bed and a huge jacuzzi bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Returned to this hotel after our daughter had her wedding reception there 7 yrs ago, and we wern't disappointed . The welcome was friendly and all the staff very helpful. Adrian met us on arrival and made us feel at home. Jay and the staff were excellent and the breakfasts and evening meals 1st class. Prices for evening meals very reasonable and the food was well presented. The room was well decorated and of good size. A very pleasant and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: A good location if you like a peace and quiet location. A very popular venue for weddings , best to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willowsheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Our son had bought us a voucher as a Christmas present for a trip to Pendryn distillery so we took advantage to have an overnight stay near by. What a wonderful hotel. As soon as we walked through the door it had a really welcoming atmosphere. The staff were extremely friendly and obliging. Our room was on the top floor and the bathroom was as big as the bedroom with a double jacuzzi and shower. Everything was really clean and welcoming. The dinner in the evening was really enjoyable and very relaxing. Would certainly recommend to others and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Many stairs to get to the top but worth the climb for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I stayed here for 1 night with my two boys. On arrival, we were greeted by Jay, who made us feel most welcome. As it was late afternoon, the kitchen was closed, but Jay went out of his way to rustle up some sandwiches in the kitchen. Our room was huge, with a lovely large modern bathroom with impressive bath. The views were lovely and the hotel was spotless throughout. The food in the restaurant was fantastic and even my youngest, who is a fussy eater, loved it. John, who was acting as Head Waiter, was extremely attentive and helpful. Make sure you are hungry before you eat here however, as the portions are extremely generous. Crickhowell, the nearest town, is a delight and people here were very friendly. I will most definetly stay at this Hotel again, without a doubt!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangattock
0.9 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
619 reviews
9.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
985 reviews
12.3 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
534 reviews
14.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
649 reviews
14.6 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club

Address: Llangattock, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1PH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell > Llangattock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Price Range: £48 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished hotel is located in quiet grounds in the picturesque village of Llangattock, one mile from Crickhowell. The hotel boasts its own on-site, 9 hole, par 3 golf course, and is perfectly situated to enjoy local pursuits of walking, pony trekking, cycling, caving or boat rides on the Monmouth to Brecon canal, which adjoins the hotel. The hotel dates back to the 16th century and was once home to Welsh poet Henry Vaughan. Large car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing