We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short break at the old Rectory near Brecon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Short break at the old Rectory near Brecon”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Two night stay special covering breakfast and one evening meal. Lovely location set close to the beautiful Brecon national park. Had a great room over looking the golf course and hills, beautiful large modern bathroom with walk in spa and large spa bath. Only downside with room was that it was at the top of the house so three flight of stairs to climb! If you have any physical problems, I suggest checking with the hotel to ensure that you get a room on the lower floor; there is no lift available. Both breakfast and evening meal were excellent. Good selection available for evening meal, even on our special deal. Food was well presented and portions were generous. Service was attentive, friendly and not rushed. General manager was was also a good source of advise for trips out. There is a 9 hole golf course attached to the hotel but this is of a poor standard and not kept to an acceptable standard for a course but ok for a bit for fun. Off the road parking and a number of pubs within a short walk.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    97
    39
    19
    15
See reviews for
90
192
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We booked online because of the photos, however we were disappointed with the family room as it only had a very small and poky bathroom with a shower instead of the bath we expected. It seems we were given the only room in the hotel not to have had the makeover portrayed in the website photos. The floors were creaky and noisy and we could hear the guests on the next floor above, so we didn't sleep well. The bar meal was excellent and great value, and the friendliness of the staff was lovely, but the stay was let down by a very average room.

Room Tip: ask for top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nannynain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We had a great time even the whether is not great but the location of the hotel of course was perfect nice view from our room.We had a fantastic time stayed here for an overnight stay as we booked the hotel through livingsocial,we didn't expected to have a first class experience.Thanks to Shaun for having a wonderful room,Thanks to John and the other staff for a great food you deserve to have AA Rossette awards.Also the breakfast was great unexpected and nice to have muffins.I would say overall experience lovely place,lovely location,lovely scenery,lovely room,lovely room and lovely staff.I can't wait to come back again and experience all over again!

Room Tip: Superior Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nurseyunique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

It has been remiss of me not to have added the Old rectory to my list of reviews as I have had some excellent lunches and dinners here as well as attended a wedding party which was brilliantly run and catered.

The host, Shaun is always present ensuring things run smoothly. Our last visit was on a beautiful hot day so we sat outside and enjoyed a light lunch of sandwiches, They were fresh and enjoyable and accompanied by a small salad (where did the tomatoes come form they were superb) and a few crisps.

I also enjoyed two pints of the hotel's own beer,

Thanks Shaun see you soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CardiffTaffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Value for money excellent, location and setting perfect. Unfortunately a shower that dribbled not flowed with water heated from the centre of the earth & total dis-organisation at breakfast. No table set when we arrived, staff appearing indifferent to offering any form of customer service. No glasses for the juice buffet, no side plates for toast or pastries-used a cereal bowl and saucers instead. Tea served with no milk, no side plates or serviettes on the table, when requested this was duly delegated to a younger staff member clearing another table. The cooked breakfast was wholesome however no breakfast menu but a throw away comment from the waitress "we offer what you'd expect for a cooked breakfast" Would definitely stay here again and trust that the staff were having an off day.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor as sound insulation is poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilgregory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Just returned from a one night stay at the hotel, wish we could have stayed longer!! Very clean and welcoming hotel. Lots of staff always on hand and very polite and helpful. We stayed in Room 15 which was lovely, no complaints at all. The food was excellent. As we booked the hotel through livingsocial, we expected to have a small set menu, this was not the case, we had an excellent range of food to choose from, something for everyone! There were a few options which had a £5 surcharge (lobser, fillet steak) but they looked fantastic and well worth the extra money. Bar prices are very reasonable. Crickhowell is about a 20 minute walk away. However, if you have walking difficulties it would be best to drive or get a taxi as you have to walk up a very steep hill. Already planning when we can go back. Would highly recommend and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmor_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My daughter just got married and had her wedding reception here and I cannot give the place enough rave reviews and credit. Everything was perfect down to the tiniest detail. The food was incredible, every course, everyone commented, the Pimms delicious!! The staff just incredible they just couldn't do enough for you, a special thank you to Sean and Sophie Ellis and John who was in charge of the day, he was outstanding and we feel so grateful that he was there to take care of us and everything all day. We all stayed and the rooms were gorgeous. I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a gorgeous wedding venue or just have a meal and stay the night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangattock
9.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
12.3 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
12.9 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club

Property: The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Llangattock, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1PH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell > Llangattock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished hotel is located in quiet grounds in the picturesque village of Llangattock, one mile from Crickhowell. The hotel boasts its own on-site, 9 hole, par 3 golf course, and is perfectly situated to enjoy local pursuits of walking, pony trekking, cycling, caving or boat rides on the Monmouth to Brecon canal, which adjoins the hotel. The hotel dates back to the 16th century and was once home to Welsh poet Henry Vaughan. Large car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing