We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A stay at the Old Rectory” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A stay at the Old Rectory”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed for. A night to include evening meal and breakfast

The welcome given on arrival was warm and friendly the room selected for us was a very large bedroom with a large bathroom to include a spa bath. All first class.

The evening meal was excellent as was the breakfast

I have no hesitation in recommending this lovely Old Rectory.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mumbles3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    95
    36
    18
    14
See reviews for
89
186
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had our wedding ceremony and reception here on 31st August 2013. It was an absolutely amazing day. There is no doubt that the staff at the rectory helped to make it really, really special. Sophie and Sean were super organised and very helpful with all our requests and queries before the big day. Sophie and the staff created a really beautiful ceremony room and marquee. Sean made a delicious wedding breakfast and hog roast in the evening. John (the master of ceremony) conducted the day and made sure everything ran really smoothly. We didn't have to worry about a thing. The bridal suite is very luxurious with a large jacuzzi bath. The room was large enough to accommodate the whole bridal party in the our morning preparations. They do a pretty amazing breakfast too. You won't leave hungry. All in all, we can't thank the staff enough at the rectory. All the guests commented on the beautiful setting and building as well as the attentive and accomodating staff. Thank you.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the old rectory for one night, and was very happy with our short stay. Fantastic service throughout our stay, from checking in, to checking out. We ate at the restaurant which was very good value for money. And again the service was very good. Breakfast was standard help yourself then a cooked breakfast. overall a very good stay. The location is amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahchugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at the old rectory hotel, last night. 15/09/13 .We have a wonderful welcome and our room was amazing. We had the superior suite. It was very clean and roomy. We had a evening meal in the restaurant and all I can say is wow. We had lamb, on a herb mash and red wine jus. Also the surf and turf. They portions were massive!!!! The breakfast was also very nice. Out stay was much better than expected!! I would like to thank the staff, for a lovely stay!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, UK.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed here recently for a friends wedding.
The Staff were all welcoming, friendly and attentive..
The food for both the reception and evening buffet/hog roast were excellent...
Drinks reasonably priced, everyone had an excellent day...
The room was great also, in fact no complaints at all...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misterbarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Shown to our table and asked what drinks we would like, good so far. Asked what the soup was and was told mixed vegetable interestingly the next table were told the soup was leek and potato .. I accept that leek and potatoes are vegetables but that's not quite the same. Three out of the four of us ordered steak, two asked for well done and one medium to well done, on its arrival all three had to be returned as we're very under done. It's fair to say it was very nice when it came back. No offer to refill our drinks though! We ordered desserts and still no offer of refills until we had to ask. The desserts were delicious. Dishes were not cleared away straight away and I don't have a problem with that but while we sat chatting and waiting to order coffee the staff cleared the tables around us and set up for breakfast tomorrow morning. After around 40 to 45 minutes we asked for coffee and then the dishes were cleared away. We have experienced this laying up for breakfast while you are still eating before and find it rude and off putting. I realize this helps the staff for breakfast, but surly if you are paying for food in the evening you should expect a little customer service by offers of refills and asking if everything was alright.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAnnDSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Just reurned from this hotel, we had a lovely welcome from the daugher and her 4 month old baby even though we were very early we were told our suite was ready. What a lovely surprise when we entered the room it was clean, comfortable, fab bathroom and amazing views. Water was provided in the room and also in the corridor.

The food was fresh using local produce and one of the best meals we have had for a long time. We booked through Social Living so it was a very reasonable overnight stay with evening meal and breakfast a round of golf was also included but we did not take this up as we are not golfers. We have been away quite a few times with Groupon and Social living deals but this is definitely the best deal yet, usually you are offered a set menu or certain meals off the menu but we could choose whatever we wanted from the a la carte and the bar menu.

The village itself was very pretty with lots of little cottages and streams, it was a 15 min walk to Crickhowell which had a river running through it and lots of individual shops and pubs.


The service was excellent and very friendlywe will definitely be visiting the Old Rectory again even if its just for Sunday lunch which looked very nice indeed!!

Room Tip: We had room 15 which was fab with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welshgowerlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangattock
9.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
12.3 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
13.0 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cwmtaf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club

Property: The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Llangattock, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1PH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell > Llangattock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished hotel is located in quiet grounds in the picturesque village of Llangattock, one mile from Crickhowell. The hotel boasts its own on-site, 9 hole, par 3 golf course, and is perfectly situated to enjoy local pursuits of walking, pony trekking, cycling, caving or boat rides on the Monmouth to Brecon canal, which adjoins the hotel. The hotel dates back to the 16th century and was once home to Welsh poet Henry Vaughan. Large car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing