We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Certificate of Excellence
ebbvale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shocking”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Had our works do there last week 7/12/13 the food was terrible waitresses didnt no who ordered wot the time we had to wait for our food my works colleagues were still waiting for food at10:15 and we was there for 7:00 they squeezed everyone in back to back had to get up everytime people went to the bar or toilet the food was so late even the tribute act missed most of is slot p.s dont waste your money wont be booking next year bad food bad service

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polksaladann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    100
    40
    19
    16
See reviews for
92
196
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights, Friday and Saturday in November, and the welcome couldn't have been warmer. It was noticable that the staff were still busy cleaning although it was 2pm by the time we arrived, all were cheeerful and seemed happy in their work. Our room was very pleasant, warm and comfortable with bottled water and the usual tea and coffee provided. There was also a water dispenser/cooler on the landing and small chiller fridges in other areas with bottled water - a nice touch. Sophie (and her 7-month old son, Harry), who ran the place with her Dad Shaun, seemed to be everywhere, meeting, greeting and serving - nothing was too much trouble.

The meals were delicious, served on hot plates and plentiful. The breakfast sausages were local and very tasty. Try the 'Old Rectory' beer, very pleasant. Our stay coincided with the Wales v Australia Autumn International so the place filled with Welsh folk who loudly cheered their team on. At half-time we were served with chips in a cone, very unexpected but a very pleasant surprise.

We were in one of the suites on the 2nd floor - very comfortable and very quiet especially on the first night. On the second there were a couple of functions taking place and there was a bit of noise as the guests left the car park - solution, have a room overlooking the golf course.

Overally, this hotel is well worth the rating given by previous reviewers. We're already planning our next visit. Hopefully Harry will be walking by then!

Oh, by the way and just a small point, it would be nice to have nice fluffy white bath robes in the suites and perhaps (in the future) linen table napkins.

Thank you Sophie and Shaun.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter if there's a function and have the better views of the Brecons
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StonecroftStroudUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

What a lovely hotel this is! 9 of us stayed here for two nights, (ages ranged from 56 - 90!) and we couldn't have been better looked after. The rooms were lovely and warm (windows opened if it was too hot, radiator worked well if it was too cold) and exceptionally clean.

The restaurant decor set the tone for an elegant dinner, with choices from the A La Carte or Bar Menus plus a Specials Board. Food was served hot, beautifully presented and obviously cooked to order but a chef who actually cares about food and takes pride in their work. Wines were very reasonably priced and complimented the dinner perfectly.

Breakfast was also cooked to order (try the scrambled eggs - delicious!) and again served on hot plates - a real test of quality which not many hotels manage to achieve these days.

Whilst the ladies visited Abbergavenny and Crickhowell to shop, the gents dabbled on the golf course and followed some of the recommended walks across the local hills. Perfect!

Personally, I can't wait to return in the Spring for another mini break. This hotel is excellent value for money, set in a wonderful location as long as you're not looking for a city break or loud music!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerryP186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I just returned back home to Australia and had to comment about this place. Just FANTASTIC! I visited there several times during my stay in Wales and every time it was spot on. The food, staff, location and building, what is there to complain about....nothing! I didn't stay as I was staying with family but this place became my second home. I had many meals and drinks in the bar. The meals are well priced and are of an excellent quality and generous serves. Highly recommend this place and will certainly be returning on my next visit to Wonderful Wales!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubalino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willenhall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed here on a living social deals offer. Excellent value for money. Location was ideal for a quiet night away. Walking distant from a lovely quaint town. Beautiful suite, the only negative was that as was an old building very creaky and woke us early the next day. Food was excellent and service was very good even though they had a big party to attend. Golf course according to my husband wasn't the best but we understand quiet time of year. Overall great place to stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kikid99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

The family had Sunday lunch here yesterday and must admit it was lovely. We started off with pumpkin soup , followed By 2 slices of beef , roast potatoes and the largest Yorkshire pudding you have ever seen. There was a lot of food to be eaten for £12.99 per head for 2 courses. There are no other meals available on a Sunday though. The meals were very hot , the service was excellent and the meals were served promptly. I have absolutely nothing negative to say about the Old Rectory , which I can't rate highly enough. We also had a midweek meal in the restaurant here with the family for my birthday and that was equally excellent. Top marks.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Besty2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night and all I can say is if you don't mind a few stairs I would definitely recommend Room 27. Havent seen the other rooms so cant comment but room 27 has the most amazing huge Jacuzzi bath, we sat there for hours with a bottle of bubbly looking at the stars through the attic window. The bed was soooooo comfy! The breakfast was top quality and the staff really friendly and welcoming. I cant recommend this hotel highly enough, Fantastic.

Room Tip: Room 27 for the amazing bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 972SianK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangattock
0.9 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
583 reviews
9.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
924 reviews
12.3 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
6.1 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
874 reviews
10.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club

Property: The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Llangattock, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1PH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell > Llangattock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished hotel is located in quiet grounds in the picturesque village of Llangattock, one mile from Crickhowell. The hotel boasts its own on-site, 9 hole, par 3 golf course, and is perfectly situated to enjoy local pursuits of walking, pony trekking, cycling, caving or boat rides on the Monmouth to Brecon canal, which adjoins the hotel. The hotel dates back to the 16th century and was once home to Welsh poet Henry Vaughan. Large car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing