We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Great staff, Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, Great staff, Great Hotel”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Recently stopped at the Old Rectory Hotel over the weekend for a gate away break. Had to say the whole stay was amazing, the food was without a doubt the best we have had in a long time. Beautifully presented and tasted just as exceptional as it looked.

We were also impressed with the staff. There was a chap called Dan who looked to be in charge, he looked after us the whole weekend and was very attentive when we were dining there. We also found the waitresses pleasant and well mannered.

Both myself and my partner have agreed that we would like to return in the near future.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven_H546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    100
    40
    19
    17
See reviews for
93
196
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I had a pleasure to stsy for 3 nights .It was the best place I have stayed.The staff were freindly very eager to help , accomodating and helpfull.
The room was great and we been with a baby were welcomed all over the hotel with smile.A special thank you to the girls at the bar specially Gorgina. She was fantastic very hard working amd good.
Tha k you again once again

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mk2010_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

A nights stay was booked for my husbands birthday and we were very disappointed with the overall stay.

We arrived to what looked like a really great hotel on Easter Sunday located in a beautiful village of Llangattock. Looks we're deceiving!

Upon checking-in we were given a key to a room which hadn't been cleaned yet (this was at 4pm and check-in was supposed to be from 2pm)

I returned to the bar to notify a staff member who gave us a key for another room, which again hadn't finished being cleaned! With very little apology we left our bags and went out for the afternoon.

Luckily for us we decided to dine at The Bear in Crickhowell that evening to avoid any further disappointments for my husbands birthday. I wish I had booked a room for the night there!

We missed breakfast at The Old Rectory as upon check-in were not informed breakfast was served until 10am.

During check-out we were not even asked if we had a good stay!

This place has so much potential but is managed by uninterested, incompetent people. If you do not care about providing a good service, you are in the wrong job!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emerald-foody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Did not stay at the hotel as caravaning nearby at Isaf Farm. The food was excellent. We started by sharing the olives and bread which was plentiful and the oils and balsalmic were really good. I had the duck of the new a la carte menu whilst my husband had the pork which consisted of different cuts cooked in different ways. Again both dishes were excellent. We both had the lemon tart as most of the desserts were chocolate based, great for chocolate dessert lovers but not us. Lemon tart was good. Service was great ascthey ere very busy and though we ate in the bar we were not neglected.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaE193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our friends wedding at the Old Rectory and can honestly say it was perfect. A lovely building in a stunning location. The rooms were generous with a huge ensuite whirlpool bath and Sky TV. The conservatory was the perfect setting for the ceremony with beautiful views of the golf course. The reception and evening party were held in the main function room upstairs accessed by a beautiful wooden staircase. The food served for the wedding breakfast, hog roast and breakfast the next morning was excellent and the service we received from Sophie and her team was first class. Nothing was too much trouble for the entire two days we were there. Can't wait to go back!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Huw L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just returned from a visit for mothers day sunday lunch, what can I say, absolutely outstanding, the best sunday lunch ever! 12 out of 10.Amazing!!! Would high recommend it to everyone. From the Winstone family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Excellent hotel in a fantastic location 10 minutes walk from Crickhowell and superb views to the local hills. Stayed over a 6 nations rugby weekend and the hotel had a great atmosphere with both local people and travelling supporters. The staff were patient and helpful, rooms clean and comfortable and the breakfasts first class using local produce. Will definitely stay at the The Old Rectory again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangattock
0.9 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
584 reviews
9.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
927 reviews
12.3 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
6.1 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
877 reviews
10.3 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club

Property: The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Llangattock, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1PH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell > Llangattock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished hotel is located in quiet grounds in the picturesque village of Llangattock, one mile from Crickhowell. The hotel boasts its own on-site, 9 hole, par 3 golf course, and is perfectly situated to enjoy local pursuits of walking, pony trekking, cycling, caving or boat rides on the Monmouth to Brecon canal, which adjoins the hotel. The hotel dates back to the 16th century and was once home to Welsh poet Henry Vaughan. Large car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing