We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Nearby Hotels
The Manor Hotel(Crickhowell)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$422
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier inn Abergavenny Hotel(Llanfoist)(Great Value!)
US$110
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Angel(Abergavenny)
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Llansantffraed Court(Llanvihangel Gobion)
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tower Hotel(Talgarth)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
300
107
42
25
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
300
107
42
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursejacuzzi bathon arrivalbridal suitewalk in showerwedding venuebeautiful hotelevening mealbooked this hotellovely venueone night stayfamily roombrecon beaconsno liftwedding breakfastfull welsh breakfastsunday lunch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Recently stopped at the Old Rectory Hotel over the weekend for a gate away break. Had to say the whole stay was amazing, the food was without a doubt the best we have had in a long time. Beautifully presented and tasted just as exceptional as it looked.

We were also impressed with the staff. There was a chap called Dan who looked to be in charge, he looked after us the whole weekend and was very attentive when we were dining there. We also found the waitresses pleasant and well mannered.

Both myself and my partner have agreed that we would like to return in the near future.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steven_H546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I had a pleasure to stsy for 3 nights .It was the best place I have stayed.The staff were freindly very eager to help , accomodating and helpfull.
The room was great and we been with a baby were welcomed all over the hotel with smile.A special thank you to the girls at the bar specially Gorgina. She was fantastic very hard working amd good.
Tha k you again once again

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank mk2010_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

A nights stay was booked for my husbands birthday and we were very disappointed with the overall stay.

We arrived to what looked like a really great hotel on Easter Sunday located in a beautiful village of Llangattock. Looks we're deceiving!

Upon checking-in we were given a key to a room which hadn't been cleaned yet (this was at 4pm and check-in was supposed to be from 2pm)

I returned to the bar to notify a staff member who gave us a key for another room, which again hadn't finished being cleaned! With very little apology we left our bags and went out for the afternoon.

Luckily for us we decided to dine at The Bear in Crickhowell that evening to avoid any further disappointments for my husbands birthday. I wish I had booked a room for the night there!

We missed breakfast at The Old Rectory as upon check-in were not informed breakfast was served until 10am.

During check-out we were not even asked if we had a good stay!

This place has so much potential but is managed by uninterested, incompetent people. If you do not care about providing a good service, you are in the wrong job!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Emerald-foody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Did not stay at the hotel as caravaning nearby at Isaf Farm. The food was excellent. We started by sharing the olives and bread which was plentiful and the oils and balsalmic were really good. I had the duck of the new a la carte menu whilst my husband had the pork which consisted of different cuts cooked in different ways. Again both dishes were excellent. We both had the lemon tart as most of the desserts were chocolate based, great for chocolate dessert lovers but not us. Lemon tart was good. Service was great ascthey ere very busy and though we ate in the bar we were not neglected.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LindaE193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We have just returned from our friends wedding at the Old Rectory and can honestly say it was perfect. A lovely building in a stunning location. The rooms were generous with a huge ensuite whirlpool bath and Sky TV. The conservatory was the perfect setting for the ceremony with beautiful views of the golf course. The reception and evening party were held in the main function room upstairs accessed by a beautiful wooden staircase. The food served for the wedding breakfast, hog roast and breakfast the next morning was excellent and the service we received from Sophie and her team was first class. Nothing was too much trouble for the entire two days we were there. Can't wait to go back!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Huw L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews