We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2009

My husband and I spent 4 days at this hotel in Crickhowell and had a lovely break. The hotel has its own 9 hole golf course which kept the husband happy while I explored the local shops which had more than enough to keep me entertained! We also walked a lot during our stay - both in the local mountains - a lovely walk up 'table mountain' and along Llangattock escarpment (fantastic views both) and also along the canal - less views but plenty of ducks and boats and it was all my legs could manage on our third day. We found the hotel spotless and our room was well equipped and the bed very comfortable. We had a view over he golf course that was peaceful and beautiful. The hotel was perfectly located for a quiet break - no outside noise which has spoiled many of our previous breaks. The large car park made for easy parking. We ate in the hotel most nights and found the food delicious and perfectly cooked- generous portions all beautifully presented - the scallops and cote de beouf were particularly memorable. Breakfasts were also very good. We had most of our lunches in Crickhowell - good bar snacks at The Bear and the Bridge End. The manager of the Old Rectory, Shaun and his daughter, were perfect hosts who made our stay that little bit 'special'. We will be back - as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank EnglandRobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2009

A very pleasant stay in a good hotel on a beautifull spot

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FriendsAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

This hotel is fabulous, it's up there with any 5 star hotel i've stayed in. We stayed in the suite which was great, the staff were friendly , the rooms spotless and beautifully decorated. I have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone, and will be returning.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank emmalouCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

We were originally booked elsewhere but the owner double booked us!! We were sent to the Old Rectory the proprietor could not have been more obliging and sincere. We had a fantastic suite it was spotlessly clean and well equiped with hot and cold drinks, plenty of clean towels and shower products. The food was excellent and the service faultless my only critisism, we werent able to stay longer. We will be going back

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandersSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

It was a wonderfull place to stay . The service was flawless. The golf course was good. The food was excellent . The grounds were relaxing . The rooms are very comfortable and clean .

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

This beautiful place was a breath of fresh air . My husband had business to attend to so I was left to relax . I was pleasantly surprised at how pretty the village of Crickhowell was with its quant little shops . The surrounding country side was breathtaking . The hotel itself was a pleasure to stay in and the staff could not have been more helpfull if they tried . The food was excellent and nothing was too much trouble . If you want a relaxing time away this is the place to visit .

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsmulberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
Thank sam6891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangattock
0.9 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
624 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
537 reviews
9.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
504 reviews
14.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
651 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club

Address: Llangattock, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1PH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell > Llangattock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Price Range: £57 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished hotel is located in quiet grounds in the picturesque village of Llangattock, one mile from Crickhowell. The hotel boasts its own on-site, 9 hole, par 3 golf course, and is perfectly situated to enjoy local pursuits of walking, pony trekking, cycling, caving or boat rides on the Monmouth to Brecon canal, which adjoins the hotel. The hotel dates back to the 16th century and was once home to Welsh poet Henry Vaughan. Large car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing