We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Unfortunately only spent one night at this wonderful spot & wished we could have stayed longer. Wonderful location & beatiful building. Rooms were well decorated & comfortable with modern bathrooms. Staff were very accomodating & friendly & we had wonderful meals at dinner at breakfast. Don't hesitate to book...

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2010

We stayed as part of a celebration having found the hotel whilst travelling on the canal in June. Standard room had nice touches such as refrigerated bottled water and magnifying mirror available. It was fairly peaceful in spite of a wedding going on in another area although the smokers tended to congregate outside the windows which had to, therefore, be closed. The only disappointment was the evening meal which was not of the standard which the rest of the hotel definitely aspires to. The staff were very efficient and pleasant and, although the hotel was busy, they were able to give excellent atention.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Optimist7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

This is a pretty spectacular old building with well kept grounds in the quaint village of Llangattock. We arrived just as a wedding party was about to go up to the function room. Despite all this going on the staff were superb. There was nowhere to park our car but, within minutes, the manager had found a space right nect to our room. Although the room was small, it had everything we needed for a night's stay. We asked if we could eat there that evening and nothing was too much trouble at the bar (with a huge selection of drinks and decent real ales) and in the restaurant (where the food was excellent - steak cooked exactly as asked for my wife and a wonderful rack of lamb, crisoy outside and pink and succulaent inside, for me and the view across the valley to the mountains was a bonus). Breakfast was cooked to order and exactly how it should be. Every member of staff was cheerful, welcoming and helpful and definitely not just "going through the motions". We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesBargainhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We telephoned the hotel 2 days before to book up a deluxe room but they offered us £20 off a suite which we accepted. The Hotel is on the outskirts of Crickhowell a stones throw away from the Monmouthshire & Brecon canal and on the edge of the Brecon Beacons National Park. Its location is very quite. I guess they only had about half a dozen rooms occupied on the one night we stayed. There is attached a 9 hole golf course, haven't got a clue how to play the game, so gave that a miss. The suite room was of good size with a dressing room and a large bathroom with walk in shower and jacuzzi bath. The water pressure did not seem that great so it was a slow shower! Partial Sky TV in the room with hot drink facility and biscuits. Our room, 14 was on the 2nd floor, there is no lift so that could be a problem to some who find it difficult to carry luggage up stairs.
The well stocked bar is adjacent to the restaurant and has several local beers on offer.
The restaurant has a good menu with several specials available at reasonable prices. There is also a bar menu available at very good prices (I suppose £7 for an average meal). The food served in the bar was of excellant quality and it was served in good time. There is a large flat screen TV in the bar useful as it was world cup final evening. Breakfast was inclusive and served in the bar area.
The staff were very attentive with good attention to detail and friendly.
Would absolutely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob3066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

I stayed with my Husband we had a suite which was wonderful kingsize sleigh bed which was very comfortable large jacuzzi bath for two and walk in shower, heaven.
The staff were all great very welcoming warm and friendly, nothing was to much trouble,very knowlegable about the local area and places of intrest.We decided to stay an extra night but the room was booked so they moved our belongings to another for us. the food in the hotel was excellent all fresh and locally sourced and amazing valaue, a choice of al a carte, early bird, and bar meals we didn't eat any where else. the hotel has recently been refurbished everything was prisitne and spotless. We will definitly be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alipallyliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

My daughter and I had a wonderful stay at this hotel, first impressions are of a lovely old building full of history and charm, the reception and bar areas are just how they should be for a building of this age, full of old world charm with a few modern twists. On arrival we were welcomed by a very lovely young lady who turned out to be the daughter of the owner, she personally introduced herself and as well as being extremely professional, had a great friendly manner - thank you for your hospitality Sophie, this also extends to your family.

We were informed that the hotel had recently gone through extensive refurbishment and were offered a newly decorated twin room, this was truly beautiful with 2 double beds, luxurious fluffy bedding and original wooden beams running through it. The jacuzzi bath was an added bonus, and the little thoughtful extra's that made it were the huge basket of towels and complimentary products. The decor and workmanship was of a high standard.

I originally had reservations about booking a 3 star hotel but this perfect little retreat had so much to offer, including the price which was £65 BB with laterooms - I've stayed in 5 star hotel rooms that are no where near as plush and as beautifully decorated!!

The hotel is also in a great location for walking the hiils, we managed table mountain - reaching the top was just brilliant! There are many other walks in the area and I would highly recommend visiting the information centre for maps etc, the ladies here are very helpful.

I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lillybet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Stayed here twice in February and had a great time on both occasions. Great location clsoe to Usk, the canal and wonderful backdrop of the Brecon Beacons with the Llangatock escarpment and world famous caves (these are a must see)
Smashing walking country with everything you might need on your doorstep.
Good hotel acccomodation, all modern, very friendly and helpfull staff, excellent food, can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herefordianfinbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangattock
0.9 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
624 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
537 reviews
9.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
504 reviews
14.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
651 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club

Address: Llangattock, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1PH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell > Llangattock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llangattock
Price Range: £57 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished hotel is located in quiet grounds in the picturesque village of Llangattock, one mile from Crickhowell. The hotel boasts its own on-site, 9 hole, par 3 golf course, and is perfectly situated to enjoy local pursuits of walking, pony trekking, cycling, caving or boat rides on the Monmouth to Brecon canal, which adjoins the hotel. The hotel dates back to the 16th century and was once home to Welsh poet Henry Vaughan. Large car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing