We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Manor Hotel(Crickhowell)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Angel(Abergavenny)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Llansantffraed Court(Llanvihangel Gobion)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tower Hotel(Talgarth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
299
107
42
24
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
299
107
42
24
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursejacuzzi bathon arrivalbridal suitewalk in showerwedding venuebeautiful hotelevening mealbooked this hotellovely venueone night stayfamily roombrecon beaconsno liftwedding breakfastfull welsh breakfastsunday lunch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
467 - 472 of 489 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Unfortunately only spent one night at this wonderful spot & wished we could have stayed longer. Wonderful location & beatiful building. Rooms were well decorated & comfortable with modern bathrooms. Staff were very accomodating & friendly & we had wonderful meals at dinner at breakfast. Don't hesitate to book...

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We stayed as part of a celebration having found the hotel whilst travelling on the canal in June. Standard room had nice touches such as refrigerated bottled water and magnifying mirror available. It was fairly peaceful in spite of a wedding going on in another area although the smokers tended to congregate outside the windows which had to, therefore, be closed. The only disappointment was the evening meal which was not of the standard which the rest of the hotel definitely aspires to. The staff were very efficient and pleasant and, although the hotel was busy, they were able to give excellent atention.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Optimist7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

This is a pretty spectacular old building with well kept grounds in the quaint village of Llangattock. We arrived just as a wedding party was about to go up to the function room. Despite all this going on the staff were superb. There was nowhere to park our car but, within minutes, the manager had found a space right nect to our room. Although the room was small, it had everything we needed for a night's stay. We asked if we could eat there that evening and nothing was too much trouble at the bar (with a huge selection of drinks and decent real ales) and in the restaurant (where the food was excellent - steak cooked exactly as asked for my wife and a wonderful rack of lamb, crisoy outside and pink and succulaent inside, for me and the view across the valley to the mountains was a bonus). Breakfast was cooked to order and exactly how it should be. Every member of staff was cheerful, welcoming and helpful and definitely not just "going through the motions". We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesBargainhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We telephoned the hotel 2 days before to book up a deluxe room but they offered us £20 off a suite which we accepted. The Hotel is on the outskirts of Crickhowell a stones throw away from the Monmouthshire & Brecon canal and on the edge of the Brecon Beacons National Park. Its location is very quite. I guess they only had about half a dozen rooms occupied on the one night we stayed. There is attached a 9 hole golf course, haven't got a clue how to play the game, so gave that a miss. The suite room was of good size with a dressing room and a large bathroom with walk in shower and jacuzzi bath. The water pressure did not seem that great so it was a slow shower! Partial Sky TV in the room with hot drink facility and biscuits. Our room, 14 was on the 2nd floor, there is no lift so that could be a problem to some who find it difficult to carry luggage up stairs.
The well stocked bar is adjacent to the restaurant and has several local beers on offer.
The restaurant has a good menu with several specials available at reasonable prices. There is also a bar menu available at very good prices (I suppose £7 for an average meal). The food served in the bar was of excellant quality and it was served in good time. There is a large flat screen TV in the bar useful as it was world cup final evening. Breakfast was inclusive and served in the bar area.
The staff were very attentive with good attention to detail and friendly.
Would absolutely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob3066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

I stayed with my Husband we had a suite which was wonderful kingsize sleigh bed which was very comfortable large jacuzzi bath for two and walk in shower, heaven.
The staff were all great very welcoming warm and friendly, nothing was to much trouble,very knowlegable about the local area and places of intrest.We decided to stay an extra night but the room was booked so they moved our belongings to another for us. the food in the hotel was excellent all fresh and locally sourced and amazing valaue, a choice of al a carte, early bird, and bar meals we didn't eat any where else. the hotel has recently been refurbished everything was prisitne and spotless. We will definitly be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alipallyliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews