We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Llangattock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
South West
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect again!”
Reviewed 22 April 2009

Ty Croeso, House of Welcome is a fabulous hotel with the best and most sensitive hospitality. Nothing is too much trouble for Linda and Pav who look after you to the highest standard along with Lisa (chef) and Maureen ( housekeeper). I have stayed many times before yet on this occasion I was the only guest! This was not considered an inconvenience more an opportunity to fulfill my needs and make my stay as pleasant as possible - It was brilliant. The food is delicious and I love my breakfast - Pav always remembers what I like, and offer me guidance on a walk for the day regardless of weather. Come here once and come back again is what I would say! Fantastic

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2009Elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    29
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
243
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Champlon, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2009

We stayed for five nights over Christmas, walking (and bird watching) in the hills or along the canal every day except Christmas Day itself when a magnificent lunch was served.
The hotel was very quiet but Linda and Pavel, and Margaret and Alan who help them to run the hotel, are excellent hosts and we had a most enjoyable time.
We stayed in room 8, with its four-poster bed and superb views over the Usk valley, which was spacious and comfortable and which we thoroughly recommend.
We stayed on a half-board basis with menus specially adapted for the Christmas period, the food was good and very tasty without being over-elaborate and there was a sensible well-priced wine list. Breakfasts were cooked to order with excellent ingredients although after trying the Welsh breakfast the first morning we chose the traditional British offering on subsequent days.
The bar-lounge was most comfortable with a welcoming fire and offered a notably wide range of drinks at reasonable prices.
We were sorry to leave and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others. It is just such a shame that Britain has so few good-value hotels to this standard these days.

  • Liked — Homely feel
  • Disliked — Narrow access roads
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2008

You get what you pay for at Ty Croeso, which is a great value, comfortable hotel right in the heart of superb walking and cycling country.
Pavel is a wonderfully gentle host and serves a mean selection of whiskies to warm you up after a day's walking. There's a spacious lounge for spreading your maps out and (not that we had the weather) a lovely terrace to sit and admire the views. Even a spacious shed to store our bikes.
But, let's be fair, it's not a luxury country house hotel and, if that is what you are after, then you would be better off elsewhere. Rooms are a little small, the toiletries adequate but basic and the towels on the small side. If you're okay with that, fine; but these things can make a difference if you are wanting a comfy weekend away.
Breakfast is excellent; but the dinner menu unchanging. So, if you are staying more than a couple of nights, opt to eat in town for a change. We did that and they were kind enough to reduce our Dinner, B&B rate accordingly.
With a little bit of upgrading, this hotel would be perfect - but then you'd probably pay more ...

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank papa-rupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMJWales, owner at Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 October 2008
Our toiletries/towel sizes are a policy decision in line with our Green Dragon Award which recognises that we are doing what we can to help the environment. We don't supply toiletries packaged in plastic bottles, nor large pieces of soap which invariably are left behind, partially used. We monitor energy use and are conscious of the energy needed to wash and dry laundry. Bath towels rather than bath sheets make a difference. Some of these actions also save money and we are able to pass these savings on to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2008

We liked the fantastic views and the wonderful location, the king sized bed, Pav and Linda and the laverbread for breakfast.

  • Liked — It was a great place for anyone on a walking holiday
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2008

I have stayed at Ty Croeso hotel more than once and it never fails to be a most relaxing experience. Surrounded by magnificent countryside there are opportunities for every kind of activity from challenging hill walking to a more gentle pace along the nearby canal ( 50 metres) or valleys ( my choice). The friendly and attentive owners and their equally friendly and helpful staff know the region well and are always available for advice. After a day spent outdoors the relaxing ambience of the hotel adds the final touch together with the delicious cuisine that never fails to delight. The stunning views can be enjoyed from all areas of the hotel in an atmosphere that is always welcoming.

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — steepness of the garden
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank krstroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLOS. UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2008

A lovely hotel. We booked the same night we stayed so had possibly the smallest room. It was tastefully decorated and very cosy. We found the atmosphere very friendly and the hosts welcoming and helpful. The location is fabulous , the hotel is nestled just above a canal and is within reach of some fabulous walks. The evening meal was nice but the onion soup was fantastic! Couldn't have chosen anywhere nicer for a last minute stay. Will definitely return.

  • Liked — friendliness of hosts
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaTGlos_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2008

Chose the Ty Croeso based on normally reliable Trip Advisor reviews - but have to say, it didn't live up to expectations.

True, the hosts were very friendly and amiable - and the food, both at dinner and breakfast, was good, but not great. The setting is also very pretty, although I wasn't expecting the hotel to be surrounded by houses.

Our room was very small and the finish left a lot to be desired. Generally, it was clean - although there were plenty of cobwebs in the ceiling. The bed was tiny, and as my husband is 6' 3", we didn't get a wink of sleep.

What I found most interesting is that the Trip Advisor average cost suggested £47 per room per night; perhaps if that had been the case, I might have been more impressed with my lot. As it happens, we paid £110 for dinner, bed & breakfast (it should have been £106 but I was overcharged but didn't notice until I'd left) - which considering the standard of the facilities, I think is over priced.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — The bed (room 3) !
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CastellNedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMJWales, Owner at Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 June 2008
The bed in Room 3 is a standard double bed. We have a larger room with a king-size bed & the master bedroom.

There are 4 family houses between us and the canal which are all part of the Victorian workhouse complex. The hotel was the infirmary of the workhouse. There's no other buildings other than these and we're way off the main road, so very quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangattock
0.3 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
0.8 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
9.0 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#2 of 16 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Dardy | Off Cwm Crawnon Road, Llangattock, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1PU, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell > Llangattock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llangattock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful B&B on the hillside above the Brecon Monmouthshire canal overlooking the charming town of Crickhowell in the Brecon Beacons. Stunning views across the Usk Valley towards the Black Mountains. All Ty Croeso bedrooms have recently gone through extensive refurbishment and now offer ensuite facilities, free Wi-Fi, & DVD TV's within the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Croeso Crickhowell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing