We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of The Railway Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thorpe On The Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Railway Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2012

In fairness, I can't comment on the food or the B&B, but we called in here on a cycle ride for refreshements and food. The beer was disgusting and even though the landlord agreed and pulled two more pints ... this was equally rank. The lack of empathy and acknowledgement that the beer was off meant that we just left our beer and put it down to experience. Obviously we didn't stay and order some food so they lost our business. If the bar experience is anything to go by, the recent reviews of the B&B and food corroborate that The Railway Inn is to be avoided.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for The Railway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

Where do I start. The whole place is in need of a serious clean. The bedroom needed decorating, the bed linen and towels were old and worn. The bedside mat was badly stained. I actually wanted to go home. The resteraunt carpet was filthy so bad that my feet stuck to the carpet. The upholstery on the chairs was also very dirty. By far the worst place I have ever stayed.
With a little elbow grease and outlay of new linen the place would just about be acceptable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gill510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Quite simply one of the worst b&bs I have ever stayed at. The landlady looked very unkempt and not at all welcoming, the room was reasonable and fairly comfortable but the restaurant and the breakfast was awful. We went for breakfast twenty minutes after the time slot we were given and to our dismay nothing was ready. No tables laid, dirty tablecloths and chairs and the carpet covered with food stains. The cooked breakfast, when it finally arrived, was swimming in grease and my wife found a hair in hers which suspiciously looked like it could have come from the dog that popped in from time to time.
Will never go there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dennishorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

booked a table for 6 people for a birthday .When we arrived we was told by the most ignorant and rough looking of a pub owner that we had booked a table at18 45 and not at 19.45 and that we were late and the chef had gone home! Fact 1 we had definently booked for 19.45 fact 2,it's a friday night and theres no chef there on what should be the busiest night of the week,why?His attitude and manner was appalling the bar area was filthy and the pub was near enough emptyand no wonder.AVOID IT LIKE THE PLAGUE!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

The landlady was lovely she needed more help from her family . Breakfast was good

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicoladickinson2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

I dont know why people are complaining about the Railway Inn, They are saying they dont take cards and they do, also saying there is no WiFi when there is, The breakfast was excellent, No problem with the rooms, and a good pint of Hob Goblin, they dont even charge to use the rear field for camping etc, where else can you get Bed and Breakfast for £22.50 each per night, Booked through Booking.com, in a nice country pub,We had 3 good nights there, No problemo. Brian and Katrina, Portsmouth.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wave129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

..This place has ETB 3 stars from 2006..HOW??

It's a chalet/lodge style 1 bedroom apt (one of two) adjacent to pub. We were shown in by pub landlady (we assume) , we were tired & cold. The radiators were off (she didn't mention this), & didn't work. After 15 mins we figured out that the little mobile radiator could be pulled out of the bathroom & used in the bedroom. There was also a wall fixed blow heater behind the door, which we put on.
The mats were filthy & stained; the tiled floor similar. I had some 'wipes' with me & used a whole packet up just making the floor clean enough to walk on, even with slippers. UGH.
The sheets & pillowcases were creased & had marks/stains on them, as had the dirty brown blankets on the beds.
There were spiders scuttlling about & cobwebs/dead insects hanging from the beams.
I wanted to check straight out but it was dark & late & were tired. I slept on top of the bed.
Breakfast: adequate but 'greasy spoon'. No brown bread offered (white only) no soya or semi-skimmed milk on offer.
We left next morning & happily checked into a lovely clean comfy hotel in Lincoln city centre for just £15 a night more.
Never again- how on earth did it get its 3 stars?

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsyinme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe On The Hill
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Lincoln Thorpe on the Hill
Travelodge Lincoln Thorpe on the...
#1 of 1 in Thorpe On The Hill
347 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Eagles Guest House
Eagles Guest House
#1 of 3 in North Hykeham
359 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Railway Inn

Address: Station Road, Thorpe On The Hill LN6 9BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Thorpe On The Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpe On The Hill
Price Range: £30 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Railway Hotel Lincoln
The Railway Inn Thorpe On The Hill, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing