We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but not helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Lincoln Thorpe on the Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean but not helpful”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

After a long shift and drive, my colleague and I arrived at this particular Travel Lodge quite hungry and weary and in much need of a good meal & rest.
Instead we found ourselves discussing, in the Foyer for around half an hour, and trying to persuade the young girl on the reception that we required two decent single beds in the room and not the one double bed. She just kept asserting that a family room had been booked and NOT a twin room. (Our company always book a twin room.) She stated that there was 2 makeshift type camp beds under the double bed. There were indeed two small, basic camp beds under the double - but they were totally unsuitable as there was NO single mattress in the room and even no sheets and bedding. Sleeping on a bed base would be detrimental to your back and would only afford a poor night of uncomfortable sleep.
The receptionist claimed that the room was suitable for three workmen.
To prove her point she asked two passing workmen guests if they were satisfied with their room. They told her categorically they were indeed NOT!
She then changed her tune and gave us a Disabled room which had two single beds joined together. Even though we are both strict heterosexuals and felt uncomfortable with this proposed solution, we decided, due to our hunger and tiredness, it was the less of the two evils.
Why couldn't the receptionist have done this in the first place? But more essentially we should simply have been given 2 single beds.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Lincoln Thorpe on the Hill, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your review James C. We do consider our family rooms to be suitable for 3 adults and we are sorry to learn that you found the room set up to be inconvenient. Our family rooms will either consist of a double bed with a sofa bed or a double bed with two pull out singles beds. Our reception team will always try to meet our customer’s request and we are sorry that a twin room with two single beds was not available on this occasion. All customer feedback is provided to the hotel directly which helps improve the service they offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    83
    50
    15
    11
See reviews for
93
114
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Fantastic stay, refurb to a high standard, staff are excellent! Stacey was a star pointed out some really good bars in the town centre. Definitely will be staying more often very good value for money. Taxi prices into the town were reasonable priced only 15 minutes as well. Also good food restaurant with in walking distance also free car parking which was an added bonus!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank louloubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights couple weeks ago....what can i say apart from we will be back!!! Rooms were very clean and the staff absolutely brilliant!!! Nothing too much trouble.....issues trying to find where we were actually going in Lincoln and it turns out only few miles away. Hotel is a great location and of a high standard. Thanks for a great stay and will see you soon for the lincoln market!!!!!

Room Tip: One at the back.....lots quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We needed an overnight stay close to Lincoln as we were visiting our son at university. This particular Travelodge had recently been refurbished and was done to a very high standard. Reception staff very pleasant and helpful. We will definitely return next time we visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Ideal for short-stay if visiting Lincoln or just passing through. Lodge is well set back from A46 so nice and quiet (back-room face woodland and would give even a light-sleeper a perfect nights rest). Little Chef on site but choice of pub-dining
options just over the A46 Take the car rather than try and cross on foot after dark!
A very pleasant visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank jayjay_92013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here two nights while visiting Lincoln.
Hotel had been recently redecorated and felt fresh and bright.
Room was warm and comfortable.
Bed was very comfortable.
Clean en-suite with plenty of hot water and good shower over the bath.
Good TV but limited channel choice.
Our room was at front of hotel facing main road 200m away but very little traffic noise.
Good parking.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Bus stop to Lincoln is 400m away and there is no pavement for part of the walk where you have to go round a busy roundabout. Likewise if you want to walk to restaurants nearby
( e.g. McDonalds) it is not an easy walk because of lack of pavement on the roundabout.
Booking was quick and easy online.

Room Tip: Room 16 faces car park and is on sunny side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here for one Friday night, arriving at 11 pm, to 2 very friendly reception staff. We had booked on the internet that same day, including disabled rooms in the search which we had selected. The receptionist kindly offered us a normal room, but we were happy with our choice, which was clean & plainly decorated (this hotel is billed as just having been refurbished). My only gripe was that there was no bath mat, only a single hand and bath towel. Otherwise a good value stay in a comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Disabled rooms are sometimes a little more spacious and on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe On The Hill
1.7 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Pride of Lincoln
The Pride of Lincoln
#2 of 2 in North Hykeham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
5.5 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Lincoln Thorpe on the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Lincoln Thorpe on the Hill

Property: Travelodge Lincoln Thorpe on the Hill
Address: A46 Newark / Lincoln Road, Thorpe On The Hill LN6 9AJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Thorpe On The Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thorpe On The Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Lincoln Thorpe on the Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Lincoln Thorpe on the Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Lincoln Thorpe On The Hill Hotel Thorpe On The Hill
Lincoln Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Lincoln
Lincoln Travelodge
Travelodge Lincoln Thorpe On The Hill England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing