We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Almonte
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Menzies House 1850 Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Almonte B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 October 2013

What a lovely spot, with a garden leading down to the water's edge, plenty of chairs and loungers for relaxing, and pretty views of the Old Town Hall across the way.

I booked a room here at the last minute and stayed in the Rose Room. Spacious room, comfy bed, great Wifi, and a plate of homemade cookies left on the bedside table.

Hosts were charming and attentive, and breakfast was great: fresh coffee, yogurt and fruit, eggs benedict, and warm, fresh scones.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HaydenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

Spent 2 nights at this wonderful Bed and Breakfast. Frank and Pat are most gracious and wonderful hosts. The house and grounds are inviting with a full size pool and a dock down by the Mississippi River, where you can sit and enjoy the water. Bring your kayak or canoe and enjoy the River. The room was very spacious with a king size bed and en suite. Breakfast was great and Pat's scones are to die for. I definitely will be making a return visit to this delightful B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornwallite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We have been to Menzies House four or five times and love everything about it. The Rose room is fantastic and very spacious, the living room is spacious and Pat and Frank are warm and welcoming. Would highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SchoolBOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I have stayed with Pat and Frank Vetter in their very charming B & B five or six times, on my own and with my husband and daughters. Each stay has been nothing less than wonderful. The Rose Room is our favorite with a king size bed and spacious en suite. The breakfasts are among the best we have ever had with Pat's special pancakes, scones and other treats. We love the porch overlooking the beautiful gardens and Almonte River. But most of all, we appreciate Pat and Frank's genuine hospitality. Pat and Frank open their home and their hearts to all their guests. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheLittleMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I'm not usually a fan of bed and breakfast inns, but I have to say we loved our stay at Menzie House. The home is beautifully decorated and comfortable. Sometimes I find B&B's to be a bit too "twee" - this one isn't. It's a really comfortable home. Our hosts were extremely interested in their guests and have wonderful stories to share. My only regret is we didn't get to have breakfast, we had a breakfast appointment at a local restaurant and missed out on the meal which looked lovely. Very high marks for the pool and patio which looks like something out of "House and Gardens Magazine". The riverside perennial gardens in summer are also a real attraction. We'll find an excuse to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed here one night and loved it. The price is lower than any place at that level. Nice house with comfortable rooms and a pool, good breakfast and lovely hosts, all in a beautiful small town. Rooms have fan and AC. Bathroom is spacious and clean. Wifi works fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ali2792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

A century home in a quaint, stone town. The Menzies House B&B provides all the comforts of the modern world into an antique setting. The swimming pool is full size and well maintained. The breakfast was truly amazing. The king size bed was very comfortable and the ensuite bathroom was very welcome.
Parking could be an issue depending on the number of guests, but the overflow parking is a nice walk over the bridge.

Room Tip: Room #5 upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank atc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Menzies House 1850 Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzies House 1850 Bed and Breakfast

Address: 80 Queen Street, Almonte, Mississippi Mills, Ontario, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Mississippi Mills > Almonte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Almonte
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing