We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money - whether you're a beginner or experienced diver.”
Review of Aliwal Dive Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umkomaas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aliwal Dive Lodge
Reviewed 24 November 2012

The lodge
This is a very well-run B&B combined with a well-organised, well-managed dive centre. The rooms were spacious and clean and attention to detail could be seen throughout the lodge. It's small enough to be cosy but large enough to offer what you need. The managers (who are also divers) go out of their way to accommodate any request. Add to this very reasonably priced accommodation and dive packages and it's easy to see why this is great value for money.

Diving
Aliwal Shoal itself does not have a spectacular reef from a coral point of view. What it does offer is the chance to see large things - especially sharks! The lodge also offers baited shark dives which are handled very professionally and at no stage did I feel unsafe. I would definitely recommend this experience! The rental equipment is in good condition and the whole diving operation is done safely and properly. Dive masters / instructors are keen to please and the lodge probably has one of the best skippers (Basie) I've ever dived with.

All in all the lodge is a great breakaway if you're in Durban (it's close) or even Gauteng. It should be ideal for diver training and if you are a diver looking for adventure ask for the baited shark dive. I recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NilsWormsbaecher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

Aliwal Dive Lodge is situated in the heart of Umkomaas, with views over looking the sea. The rooms are suited for divers and non divers alike with ensuite rooms air con or fans depending on the room and views dwon to the Indian Ocean. If you want to dive Aliwal Shoal this is the place to stay especially if you like sharks then go stay and enjoy some good SA hospitality and some of the best diving you will find anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank submersiond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank slepeni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basie A, Owner at Aliwal Dive Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
Thank Nicolas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WP94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umkomaas hotels
0.0 mi away
Blue Ocean Dive Resort
Blue Ocean Dive Resort
#1 of 11 in Umkomaas
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Umkomaas Guest House
Umkomaas Guest House
#4 of 9 in Umkomaas
33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Park Guest House
Ocean Park Guest House
#2 of 9 in Umkomaas
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stroke One Inn
Stroke One Inn
#7 of 9 in Umkomaas
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Aliwal Dive Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aliwal Dive Lodge

Address: No 2 Moodie Street, Umkomaas 4170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umkomaas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Umkomaas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing