We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dovecote
Nearby Hotels
The George Hotel(Chollerford)
US$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matfen Hall(Matfen)
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langley Castle Hotel(Langley-on-Tyne)
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Slaley Hall(Slaley)
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Walwick Hall(Humshaugh)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Close House Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
92
23
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
23
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjane and davidtea and biscuitsthe main housethe pubone nightpacked lunchhadrian's wall walkon arrivalbeautiful gardenlovely hostsday's walkchesters fortevening mealhomemade jamsnesting boxescomfortable place to stayupstairs bedroom
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Dovecot for a night and we were most impressed. The building has been tastefully restored. It still retains its original stone but has all the comfort of a modern hotel. We were made very welcome. We decided to eat at a local curry restaurant but a meal in the dovecot is also an option. The bed was very comfortable with soft, comfy pillows and both of us had a very good night sleep. Next morning we had an excellent breakfast and we were on our way. Thoroughly recommended. We found this excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed here last week, six of us girls, as one of our stops on the Hadrian wall walk. We came with very tired feet and Jane immediately made us some lovely tea and helped us settle. This was by far the best place we stayed at during our walk! Our dinner was home cooked and we loved it -especially the home grown tomatoes which were the tastiest i had in a while. Be sure to check out their secret garden where wonder tomatoes grow! We also liked the fact that we were able to hang out in the living room, and actually with there lovely two dogs as well. The owners are careful not to let dogs get into the living room if the guests are not dog lovers, so no worries there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adria051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Finding it!! satnav was useless, although I realised that I had actually driven past it. The lanes are very narrow, but traffic minimal. Jane had to come out and stand in the lane to guide me in. I did not stay in the Dove Cote itself but in the house. My room was immediately facing at the top of the stairs: the door opens and then there are steps down into the room, so it would not suit someone with poor mobility (or a poor memory!). There is a small window at floor level, and a skylight above the bed: light from the night sky doesn't bother me, so I slept very well. The room is in the roof space and the TV reception was poor, but as I was only watching football it didn't matter! Jane said they didn't usually use this room for guests.
The hospitality was great: it was like staying with friends, very relaxed and easy going. Jane and David are really easy to talk to, and there is a TV with better reception in the lounge (didn't improve the quality of the international football, sadly!).
Breakfast was excellent.
The garden was lovely. I didn't have time to look at the Dove Cote itself.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viaggio2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed six nights in the Dovecote building. Gorgeous views of gardens from upstairs bedroom and awoke to birdsong. Jane, David and Becky were wonderful hosts and breakfasts (plus one dinner) were delicious & more than ample for a day of walking. Our plan was to hike along parts of Hadrian's Wall, but rain thwarted us most days. We were grateful to have booked so much time in such a idyllic place because other guests were all through-hikers who were committed to stay just one night and then move on to their next booked stay, regardless of weather! The countryside around the Dovecote is picture-perfect and it is a short, lovely walk to Chester's Roman Fort in one direction and to the village of Humshaugh (where the pub serves good food) in the other. The town of Hexham is a just a few miles away with sights to see on a rainy day, and the town of Durham with a noteworthy cathedral is minutes away by train for another rainy day! Dovecote is a worthy destination even if you don't care about Hadrian's Wall.
Claire & Steve, USA

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed only one night but wished it was longer. The owners are so nice and the service they give is outstanding. They make you feel like you are home. Tea in the greenhouse was very welcomed after a long travel. Great breakfast and lots of walking options in the area. You can even walk to the pub. We would go back anytime.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madservices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews