We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great piece of the English countryside.”
Review of The Dovecote

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Humshaugh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Dovecote
Ranked #2 of 6 Humshaugh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here for one night while on the Hadrians wall Walk. Received a warm welcome with a cup of tea having arrived soaking wet from the rain! Our room was just right with a huge bed! The guest room was also nice and other guests used it and we enjoyed so,e good conversation. Seven guests shared a beautiful, restaurant quality meal together with wine. All in all, a very pleasant stay. Great hosts, beautiful location, all good!

Room Tip: Nice place, I'd suggest booking well in advance to guarantee a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We arrived late afternoon at The Dovecote, although we stayed across the road at East House. Jane served tea/coffee and fantastic biscuits in the walled garden and couldn't have made us more welcome. The rooms are large and have good bathrooms. We enjoyed dinner at a large table with 4 other guests, all of whom like us, were walking Hadrian's Wall. Time passed quickly as we discussed our journeys and things still to come. An excellent breakfast was served at a time of our choosing and we left for a visit to Chesters Fort saying what a great place East House had been to stay at.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICHAEL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

15 minutes walk up the hill from Chesters fort.

Friendly but discreet owners. Very nice dinner after a full days walking (nearest pub is a mile away). Lovely Georgian House with good bathrooms.

Quiet and away from the main busy road which cuts through Chollerford.

Highly recommended as a stop off point if walking the wall.

Room Tip: Chose Dovecote or Front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Loved it. A very nice house indeed, with very friendly and extremely helpful hosts. The room was clean and comfortable with a very good bathroom.
Great breakfast.
Thank-you
Mandy & Kathy (the sisters)

Room Tip: This is a B&B I seem to have clicked hotel by mistake. Ignore the fitness centre bit. Great be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I enjoyed a very pleasant comfortable one night stay at Dovecote while walking Hadrians Wall Footpath.On arrival the hosts very kindly welcomed me with tea and biscuits and ran me to the local pub for my evening meal. Thank you for your hospitality .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andersjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Dovecote was the best accommodation we had out of the 5 nights spent along Hadrian's Wall.
We instantly were made to feel at home, with Jane bringing us tea and biscuits to enjoy on arrival after another day of walking, which we devoured whilst relaxing in their lovely garden.
She also happily offered us a cooked meal (which we had not pre-ordered - although I wouldn't expect that to happen all the time!), so after enjoying a long hot shower in a very cute double bedroom, we were treated to simple but delicious chicken, pasta and vegetables, along with a bottle of wine and some apple crumble for dessert - exactly what was needed after a day of walking, and really affordable too (around £16 each I think)
Jane and David were great hosts throughout the evening - getting the right balance of service, friendliness and conversation, as well as leaving us be to enjoy the evening. Their garden is fantastic and some of the dinner ingredients came directly from there which was nice, and they arranged a packed lunch for us the next day too (again, despite the fact that we hadn't pre-ordered it, and again, I wouldn't expect this to be available all the time!
After a very comfortable nights sleep we were then treated to a delicious breakfast too - alongside normal continental options we were lucky enough to get some smoked salmon and scrambled eggs! A delicious change from standard English fry-ups.
We would highly recommend the Dovecote, and would love to stay here again (for longer than one night) should we be in the area. They also have a fabulous looking self catering cottage available which would be perfect for a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiCoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of a long day's walking on the wall. We were all shattered and dreaded the walk uphill but it was worth it. We received a friendly welcome, fantastic food from home grown ingredients and excellent support and service. 2 of us loved their room so much they would have stayed the rest of the week if it hadn't been booked. If you're looking for somewhere to stay near Chollerford then definitely consider staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Humshaugh
0.8 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
708 reviews
7.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,158 reviews
7.7 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
3.6 mi away
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Humshaugh
302 reviews
10.9 mi away
Slaley Hall
Slaley Hall
#1 of 1 in Slaley
3,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dovecote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dovecote

Address: East House, Lincoln Hill, Humshaugh, Hexham NE46 4BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Humshaugh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Humshaugh
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Grade II Listed, 18th century dovecote. Set in an acre of beautiful gardens, just across the lane from the main family home. The dovecote provides luxury accommodation with bedroom upstairs and living area and shower room downstairs. Guests have use of a private south facing terrace & can relax in the Georgian walled kitchen garden and wildlife area. Next to Hadrian’s Wall footpath and Chesters Roman Fort, on the edge of the Northumberland National Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing