We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Linden House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Humshaugh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Linden House B&B
Ranked #3 of 7 Humshaugh B&B and Inns
Mattighofen, Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

After a long hike along Hadrians Wall Path Dick and Susan welcomed us with tea and cake a comfortable and large room. The pub for dinner is just a few steps away and has nice meals. The breakfast in Linden Housen was delicious too. We enjoyed it very much there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed at Linden House for one night while walking Hadrian's Wall. The room was lovely and spacious and the shower was delightful after a long days walking. Sue and Dick were great hosts, welcoming us with a cup of coffee and the best fruit cake. Sue gave us a lift to the pub (as the local pub was closed on Sundays) and picked us up later on which was most welcome. Breakfast was lovely and one of the best we had. The bed was really comfy which made for the best nights sleep of the walk.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We staggered across the threshold at Linden House after a gruelling 21 mile walk along Hadrian's wall to be met by Dick & Sue with glasses of ice cold water followed by tea, coffee and absolutely superb fruit cake.

The room is large, airy and with great views out over the countryside, whilst the bathroom was a thing of luxury!

Taking pity on our tired limbs, Sue drove us to the pub in the next village for dinner and collected us afterwards.

Breakfast the next morning was probably the best of the week.

We were made to feel like household guests rather than paying customers, which I think is what Dick & Sue are aiming for.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintsOnTour2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We arrived at Linden House, wet and tired after a long days walk. We were met by Dick and Sue who welcomed us into there home. Our wet outer clothing was taken dried, warm coffee and fruit cake was very much appreciated.

Although this is a Bed and Breakfast, you are staying in a Grade II listed building a family home.

You room is very comfortable with an on-suit bathroom finished to the highest standard with a large bath. After the days walk a bath was a great way to relax.

The Crown Inn only a few yards away serves a reasonable meal at a reasonable price.

I would rate my stay at Linden House as A++ above excellent.

Thank you Dick and Sue

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ady_Portsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snodland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

We started our Hadrian's Wall walk from Humshaugh as we were just doing the central parts and this room slightly spoilt us compared to the rest of the accomodation, and the breakfast was also probably the best. The ensuite bathroom is something quite special with a large bath that just begs to be used, and rather better than in a top hotel.
The assistance and service from our hosts, Dick and Sue, was also quite exceptional and we felt it for the entire trip even though we only stayed the one night; this included opening the village shop just for us on a Sunday evening, providing us with a loaned flask of soya milk for the trip and helping us book a taxi back at much lower rates than we otherwise would have had.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed at Linden House for just one night while walking Hadrians Wall and it was really the jewel in the crown.
More Country House than B&B, large comfortable room, high quality furnishing and a bathroom which puts all others to shame.
The village off Humshaugh is quiet and peacefull with a local shop and a good pub for meals.
We will certainly return to Linden House.

Room Tip: Only one room but it's excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

This Grade 2 listed building and B and B was the most amazing accomodation we had the privilege of staying in on our Hadrians wall hike. The hosts were most welcoming and knowledgable. As animal lovers they thoughtfully provided a dog basket and even doggy sat whilst we went to the local pub for our evening meal.We can not praise Dick and Sue highly enough for their kindness and generous hospitality. Beautiful home and wonderful breakfast- we felt like Lord and Lady of the Manor. Would love to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GandDManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Humshaugh
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beaumont Hotel
5.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
2.8 mi away
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Humshaugh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hallbank Guest House
Hallbank Guest House
#20 of 63 in Hexham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Reading Rooms Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden House B&B

Property: Linden House B&B
Address: Humshaugh, Hexham NE46 4AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Humshaugh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Humshaugh
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing