We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous!”
Review of Linden House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Humshaugh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Linden House B&B
Ranked #3 of 6 Humshaugh B&B and Inns
South Bucks
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Marvellous!”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We could not have asked for more from this marvellous B&B.

Just the one room with great views out the back of the old stone house. Large luxurious room, large luxurious bathroom, enormous very comfortable bed. The hosts, Sue and Dick, are extremely helpful and great hosts. We were overwhelmed by the extent of their help - driving us in the evening to and from a pub in a nearby village (as the local one wasn't serving food), and then, on the morning of our departure, driving us all the way to a cash machine in Hexham just because we'd been stupid enough to forget our chequebook. And this wasn't self-interest - we had enough cash to pay them OK - it was purely to save us worry on subsequent days of our walk along the Wall.

It almost goes without saying that tea and cake were provided on arrival as was a lovely breakfast the following morning.

And all this for a very reasonable £75.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tortoise_or_Hare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oftringen, Aargau, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

After having walked 15 miles from Heddon Area to Humshaugh, this B&B seemed like a palace to us. The room is truly luxurious and has a lot of space, same counts for the bathroom. Dick and Sue presented themselves as wonderful hosts, we were served tea and cake just after we had arrived and also the breakfast was incredibly rich and tasty. It has been a wonderful stay and it was a pleasure to meet them both. I would come back without hesitating.

Christina and Nikolai

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina_vg_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Susan & Dick are wonderful hosts and provide a lovely room in their beautiful old stone home. Dick even drove us to a restaurant since the nearby pub kitchen was closed. Much appreciated after a long day walking Hadrian's wall. Loved the big soaker tub, king bed and beautifully presented and delicious breakfast. The grounds and garden are well maintained and the view from the bedroom window is a treat. The innkeepers obviously care about what they do and about the comfort of their guests.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattighofen, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

After a long hike along Hadrians Wall Path Dick and Susan welcomed us with tea and cake a comfortable and large room. The pub for dinner is just a few steps away and has nice meals. The breakfast in Linden Housen was delicious too. We enjoyed it very much there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed at Linden House for one night while walking Hadrian's Wall. The room was lovely and spacious and the shower was delightful after a long days walking. Sue and Dick were great hosts, welcoming us with a cup of coffee and the best fruit cake. Sue gave us a lift to the pub (as the local pub was closed on Sundays) and picked us up later on which was most welcome. Breakfast was lovely and one of the best we had. The bed was really comfy which made for the best nights sleep of the walk.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We staggered across the threshold at Linden House after a gruelling 21 mile walk along Hadrian's wall to be met by Dick & Sue with glasses of ice cold water followed by tea, coffee and absolutely superb fruit cake.

The room is large, airy and with great views out over the countryside, whilst the bathroom was a thing of luxury!

Taking pity on our tired limbs, Sue drove us to the pub in the next village for dinner and collected us afterwards.

Breakfast the next morning was probably the best of the week.

We were made to feel like household guests rather than paying customers, which I think is what Dick & Sue are aiming for.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintsOnTour2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We arrived at Linden House, wet and tired after a long days walk. We were met by Dick and Sue who welcomed us into there home. Our wet outer clothing was taken dried, warm coffee and fruit cake was very much appreciated.

Although this is a Bed and Breakfast, you are staying in a Grade II listed building a family home.

You room is very comfortable with an on-suit bathroom finished to the highest standard with a large bath. After the days walk a bath was a great way to relax.

The Crown Inn only a few yards away serves a reasonable meal at a reasonable price.

I would rate my stay at Linden House as A++ above excellent.

Thank you Dick and Sue

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ady_Portsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Humshaugh
1.3 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
5.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
674 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hunter Crook Lodge
Hunter Crook Lodge
#1 of 2 in Bardon Mill
178 reviews
2.8 mi away
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Humshaugh
283 reviews
3.8 mi away
Old Repeater Station
Old Repeater Station
#3 of 7 in Haydon Bridge
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden House B&B

Property: Linden House B&B
Address: Humshaugh, Hexham NE46 4AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Humshaugh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Humshaugh
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing