We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Found by accident online - but certainly go again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Goat Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanfair Caereinion
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Goat Hotel
Llandysul
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Found by accident online - but certainly go again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

From the intial phone call right until we left I can only say the service and overal care was first class. They were interested in our overal needs and worked hard to make sure they did all they could to help. the only hiccup was on arrival when we discovered our booking for food had not been noted - so what did they do - theyopened the restaurant early just for us, and the food was amazing. I would stop over again for that only. My partner enjoyed the real ales and the atmosphere of the bar - as we all did as we had a go at Tivial pursuits in front of the fire.
Lovely people lovely place.

Room Tip: the higher the room in the hotel the less noise if pub area still open Book early for evening meal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecuyere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    18
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
20
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Popular with locals and visitors alike. Landlord Richard knows how to look after his real ales and his customers, offering 2-3 guest ales from the local Montgomery and Shropshire brewers along with those from further afield in England and Wales. CAMRA listed, good food, cosy fires and with Argument as a surname there's always something you can find to chat about. Paul Stocks, Ellesmere 3/4/9012

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swinton, Manchester
Level Contributor
210 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Llanfair Caereinion is not a place name that trips lightly off the tongue but upon discovering this area of Powys last year we went back again for the October 2011 school break. LC is a quiet, peaceful village about 6 miles or so west of Welshpool, mostly by B roads but accessible via the A483. The main feature of the village are 3 pubs (the Black Lion, The Red Lion and this wonderful little establishment, the Goat Hotel. There is also a chippy and a small store. that's it!
The owner of our holiday cottage recommended the Goat for a meal and told us that it would be advantageous if we booked a couple of days in advance. This we did and we could not comprehend the popularity of the hotel. All the food is home cooked with a better menu than seen in most brand name pub/hotels. The rump steak stated that it was 12 oz, but when it came it looked double that! Add to that a good starter and sweet menu and you have a goldmine!
They sell real ale and good wines that compliment a meal or a bar snack. we had a starter plus main course with two large glasses of wine and the bill, plus £2 for peppercorn sauce came to £41. Extremely good value. Alas we've been here twice now in successive years but I thought the wider travelled holiday makers might care to sample this hotel, its menu and its drinks. Absolutely gorgeous.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swintonblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanfair Caereinion
7.6 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
8.5 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
9.8 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Goat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goat Hotel

Property: The Goat Hotel
Address: High Street | Nr Welshpool, Llanfair Caereinion SY21 0QS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanfair Caereinion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfair Caereinion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Goat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pub/Inn (Licensed, Offering Real Ales) in village location. With car parking. Casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Children, Special Diets catered for. Eating outside is possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Goat Hotel Llanfair Caereinion, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing