We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“18th Century charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Goat Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanfair Caereinion
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Goat Hotel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“18th Century charm”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Absolutely lovely place, fab welcome, lovely food, friendly locals.
We found our room charming, with all the features a 17/18th century coaching house should have, but with all modern facilities.
We will definitely stay again, in fact we have booked for next month!!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    18
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
20
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This is a pub/hotel and not a country house hotel. People should accept this and judge it as it is. An ancient building, its layout is idiosyncratic which adds to its personality. Warm welcome, decent food and well kept beer are its essentials. Rooms come in various prices and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I would like too thank all the staff at the Goat Hotel, my son Calvin was staying at Red Ridge Centre, he has Autism, and his mum wanted to be close to the centre, because it was the first time that he had been staying away from us. The staff were great, nothing was too much trouble, the food was first class and the room was very good value. Calvin had a great time and no problem's., so thank you so much and all the best.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I stayed at this pub for 2 nights in April 2013 with 3 colleagues. The staff were very pleasant and friendly, 10/10, but the accommodation was dirty and poorly maintained. So poor, that my 3 colleagues would not stay for the second night and checked themselves into another hotel.

As you'll see from the pictures I've uploaded along with this review, a lot of the issues could be easily resolved.

The wall directly behind the bed above the pillows was stained a yellowy/brown colour from where people heads had been resting, the wallpaper was peeling in a number of places, the light pull-cord was probably once white but had turned a nasty shade of brown, the carpet had all kinds of stains and filth on it, and the lightshades were thick with dust like I've never seen.

If you match the standard of the rooms with your high standard of hospitality I'm sure you'll be on to a winner.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asoundguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alysonargument, Owner at The Goat Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
We are very sorry to read that you were disappointed with your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and agree that room 5 is in need of redecoration and you will have noticed that we have started this process as the room has new furniture, a new flat screen T.V. and a new bathroom adjoining. The remainder of the redecoration had been planned but we were not able to complete it before your stay. Following your comments we will not use this room again until the redecoration is completed. We thank you for your comments on the hospitality offered by our staff and assure you that we do take note of all reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Nice central location in the village, real fire friendly staff and real ales.
We had food one evening and it was nicely cooked and reasonable value.
We had the Queen Anne suite which was a bigger room with en-suite and bags of character. However, if you plan on sleeping before the bar closes, then avoid this room - it is immediately above the bar and very noisy. Not worth paying the extra for this room unless you are deaf !

Room Tip: Avoid the Queen Anne suite unless you are prepared to stay up drinking till the bar closes - just to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The Goat is a cozy local pub, restaurant, hotel that always has a frienly atmosphere. I have spent many nights enjoying to local company sitting in front of the lovely fireplace. Great food and drink!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2seenewthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Wales
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

As my local I've been using the Goat for years and thought I should write a review. Living in the area I've never stayed there myself but friends who have always seem happy especially with the welcome.
As a pub the beer quality is excellent (in the Good Beer Guide) and the restaurant provides simple but very good food - I can highly recommend the antipaso starter, the home made pies and the cheese board, but having said that I've enjoyed almost everything I've had.
The main bar has very comfortable leather sofas a real fire and great atmosphere, I can't think of may better places to nurse a pint with friends on a winters Sunday afternoon

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DP25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanfair Caereinion
7.6 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
567 reviews
8.5 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
123 reviews
9.8 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,419 reviews
7.8 mi away
Vine House B&B and Self-Catering
4.7 mi away
Dolanog Bed & Breakfast
Dolanog Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Dolanog
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goat Hotel

Property: The Goat Hotel
Address: High Street | Nr Welshpool, Llanfair Caereinion SY21 0QS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanfair Caereinion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfair Caereinion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Goat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pub/Inn (Licensed, Offering Real Ales) in village location. With car parking. Casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Children, Special Diets catered for. Eating outside is possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Goat Hotel Llanfair Caereinion, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing