We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stopover for a Birthday”
Review of The Goat Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanfair Caereinion
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Goat Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Quirky old coaching inn. Friendly staff and very good food - both evening meal and breakfast. We stayed in Room 7 at the top of the inn with sloping floor and ceilings ! New bathroom suite but did not like having carpet on the bathroom floor. Bed linen was OK but a bit tired. Free Wifi available. Local ales on tap in the bar. Nice touches were the liquid soap, tissues and Radox for the bath. Plenty of good towels. Very good value for money.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

I reserved a Sunday evening dinner here recently with some walking buddies after completing a 12 mile section of Glyndwr's Way and we had a decent meal, the service was good, staff friendly and the value for money was fair. The location was good on the main street in Llanfair Caereinion. The menu was unremarkable and unpretentious and the style was pubby and relaxed. It lacked a certain something (no buzz, no flair, no panache) but no complaints either. The Goat was open and trading when some hostelries in neighbouring villages were not. In a nutshell - unmemorable but more than adequate.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

As long standing members of the WLLR in the same village we have been coming to the Goat for years. A beautiful example of what independent family run business is all about. Food always nicely cooked, fresh, plenty of it. Excellent vegetarian options. Loads of nice ales. Roaring fireplace, cosy sofas, great friendly atmosphere. Warm welcome where nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are good value for money and yes although they are sometimes dated, they are always clean and all have their own uniqueness about them and that is what we love about the Goat. My husband proposed to me in one of those rooms! Cooked breakfast excellent value with the room sets us up for the day on the steam trains. A rare, authentic, ancient gem steeped with history in the beautiful mid-Wales countryside. If you want modern, homogeneous luxury, then go to a Premier Inn! This is authentic Welsh hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Everyone here was very friendly and helpful. The food was good quality and there was lots of it. The accommodation was great value for money with a good sized room and clean bathroom. The pub was warm and cosy all day. Will definitely return when we're next in the area.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank joanneaep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed at The Goat for one night in November. The options were a room with shared toilet for £30 or a private toilet for £40, so I chose the latter. My room was number 8, and was not in the main building but accessed via an external timber stair and balcony. The room was an OK size for one, but a couple might find it cramped. The paperwork on the desk referred to it as a suite, but I don't rate it as such.
By modern standards, the TV was small, but had plenty of channels, The bathroom lead off the bedroom and had a bath and basin. The loo was down a short corridor and was tiny, cold, and uninviting. In fact the loo flush mechanism broke twice whilst I was there and I had to put it back together. When I mentioned this next morning, the response was along the lines of "Yes, we know about that. It's been like it for a while." The loo role holder was missing the spindle.
The bed had seen better days, and was soft at the edges. The bedding consisted of a heavy duvet or nothing, so if (like me) you didn't like heavy covers, you were sunk.
The restaurant menu is not very exciting. I had an evening meal of fillet steak, which was tender but not very hot. By the time I was halfway through, it was cold, and I wrapped it up to bring home for our dog. Breakfast in the morning was a standard fry-up, not worthy of any comment.
The lounge area has plenty of seating and a real fire which was nice, as well as a selection of books and games. Apart from one latecomer, I was the only guest staying.
This area of Wales does not have much choice of places to stay, but The Goat is convenient if you are going there.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have private facilities. Best check first. The village is very quiet, so traffic is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff_Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

The staff, all members of the owners family, are friendly. Chatty always willing to help and offering good customer service. The food, both evening meal and breakfast are amazing, freshly cooked and very tasty. The large family room has had some work carried out in the last six months, however it still needs a little more. Some of the wallpaper is very tired. The basic cleanliness of the room is satisfactory, especially the bathroom, but there are quite a few old cobwebs in the room especially on the wooden beams. It's good value, friendly, but it is what it is

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Goat for three nights in the Queen Ann Suite.
The room was spacious with a private bathroom.
The food was very good as were the well kept ales.
The hosts and locals are a friendly bunch and it made for an enjoyable stay.
Rates for the accommodation and food were sensible, would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the Queen Ann Suite if you want a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Goat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goat Hotel

Address: High Street | Nr Welshpool, Llanfair Caereinion SY21 0QS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanfair Caereinion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfair Caereinion
Price Range: £14 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Goat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pub/Inn (Licensed, Offering Real Ales) in village location. With car parking. Casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Children, Special Diets catered for. Eating outside is possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Goat Hotel Llanfair Caereinion, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing