We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magnificent Villa”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Bellegarde

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bellegarde-du-Razes, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
acmturi
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magnificent Villa”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Went on a yoga retreat organized by owner with a top yoga teacher from London and all meals prepared by local chef with local ingredients. Lovely rooms some with their own bathroom, lots of light. Great space for a large group could even be cozy for a couple. Great pool, great location, close to vineyards that do great wines, close to other cities to visit. Only an hour from Toulouse airport.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: with large group couldn't take a hot bath not enough hot water
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect place to relax and enjoy the pleasures of life!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I was there with a group of friends on a yoga retreat and we had a fantastic time!
Villa Bellegarde is absolutely stunning, comfortable, luxurious and spacious! It's surrounded by beautiful fields of vineyards and sunflowers where your eyes and mind get lost in time and space... everything slows down there. The food was amazing, too! I was truly impressed by the location, impeccable organisation and the warm welcome of the host! I would definitely recommend it to any group of friends or a family! You'll be up for a really good time in a very high quality time together!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M T
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent, well equipped villa in a lovely peaceful setting.”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a great family holiday at Villa Bellegarde and have already recommended the villa to several friends. The villa is one of the nicest we have stayed in as a large group and is excellently decorated and furnished. The large, well kept gardens that surround the villa provided more than enough space for the children to run around and the various seating areas were much appreciated.

The pool was of course a big hit in the hot weather and the areas of shade around the pool were welcome on the hottest days. Our 7 year old was rarely out of the pool and had learnt to swim by the end of the week. The setting of the villa was perfect, being surrounded by beautiful rolling countryside. We were lucky enough to be there when the sunflower fields were in full bloom providing a wonderful backdrop to the garden.
 
The local villages are very picturesque and the couple of miles cycle ride to buy bread from Belveze du Razes each morning along the quiet country road and past fields of sunflowers and vines was most enjoyable.
 
The surrounding area has a number of attractions and we particularly enjoyed the botanical garden at Limoux and a walk along the tree lined Canal du Midi.
 
Fanny, Sylvie and the gardener were all very helpful and added to a fantastic and relaxing holiday. We hope to return soon.
 
The Trood Family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful setting
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Aug 2013
Many thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Villa Bellegarde and the modern fixtures of the villa.

As far as the location of the villa is concerned, the villa is situated in a private & secluded wine estate with views over the mountains and surrounding vineyards. The closest village is at 3km from the house and is a short 25 mins walk through the countryside or 5 mins drive. The village has got all the amenities necessary:
 Crédit agricole Bank
 Huit à 8 (grocery store)
 Butcher
 Bakery
 Newsagent
 Pharmacy
 Hairdresser & Beauty Salon
 Post Office
 Belvèze-du-Razès Castle and Wine Cellar
 Summer restaurant ‘Le Chêne Vert’

I hope this answers your question and we will love to welcome you at the Villa again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Annie D
Dymock, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“A glimpse of Utopia”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

From the moment we enquired about the villa until after our return home, things could not have gone better.

Fanny is incredibly helpful and very easy to communicate with, Sylvie, the care taker, is also extremely helpful and so cheerful, and we were happy she agreed to spend a little time with us, telling us about the villa and the surrounding area.

The villa itself? Stunning! Finished to a very high standard, it was well appointed. If I had to make note of anything that was other than excellent, I would say the en-suite upstairs could usefully have had a wc rather than a double walk-in shower, but the shower is, indeed, a thing of beauty.

The huge fridge was great, especially as we were a group made up of two families and there were 11 of us in total. The villa is also equipped with a fab cooker and oven as well as a supper selection of cookware (important to us as we are keen foodies). Hot water was just that - extremely hot and lots of it.

The sitting room is large and the iPod dock is great, the tv easy to use and is more than big enough. Wi-fi easy to connect to and supported everyone's various devices.

There are hair driers at the property, so you needn't use valuable weight in your bags (especially if you fly Ryanair) and there are also one or two adapters too.

Outside the gardens are large and well kept. There is a BBQ which was clean and there was charcoal and lighters (we did buy more and obviously left what we didn't use)

The pool area is lovely, and the pool itself large enough for all the children to have loads of fun. My only complaint of the outside area is there Are on or two loose patio slabs.

The area itself is gorgeous, with views across the snow capped mountains and the vast fields of sunflowers. The local town has a lovely little supermarket, but the hyper-markets are not far away either.

Would I recommend it to a friend? Definitely! We want to go back ourselves.

FAB!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being there
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin K
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful villa in idyllic countryside”
Reviewed 5 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely rustic villa set in serene countryside with vineyards and rolling fields and even a nearby lake. We only had a short stay but it felt much longer as you begin to relax straight away and everything is provided with all the amenities we needed. The interior was stylish and simple whilst outside there is plenty of space and a good size pool. We enjoyed a couple of trips to local vineyards, the local village is a quick drive away with a great bakery and small shop and newsagents that also sells international papers. The only regret is that we weren't there long enough but we're looking forward to returning soon for a longer holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sense of tranquillity
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Villa Bellegarde”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Bellegarde. The villa itself is very beautiful, surrounded by vineyards and not overlooked. The view of the snow-capped Pyrénées from the bedroom window was lovely to wake up to! It is close to the local village and a short drive from other pretty villages (I would recommend a drive to Alet-les-Bains, which has a beautiful riverside setting and you can also have a look around the remains of the Abbey). It is also only around a 40 minute drive from Carcassonne so very convenient if you are flying in with Ryan Air (I would definitely recommend having a car to get around). The villa was spacious, immaculately presented and spotlessly clean with a big family bathroom and a number of lovely ensuites in most of the double rooms. If you like to cook, the kitchen is very well stocked with pots, pans and utensils, there is a large fridge and we made great use of the huge oven during our stay! We went to some of the fantastic local food markets and got some great local produce to cook with (we would recommend the food market at Mirepoix on the Monday). The villa was also a fantastic base to explore Cathar country - we took a trip down to the Chateau de Peyrepertuse (a breathtaking ruined fortress that sits on the cliff edge) and although it was a longish drive (about a couple of hours), the countryside on the way was beautiful and it made a great day out. We also had a great day exploring the medieval city in Carcassone, which is definitely a must. If you fancy lazing the day away at the villa there was a good sized pool and plenty of garden furniture (table, sunloungers, chairs etc.) if you wanted to sunbathe or eat outside. The caretaker, Sylvie, was extremely welcoming and easily contactable if we had any questions. Overall we all had a really great stay and hope to be able to return again one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location and beautiful setting
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$265
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing