We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Be Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Daresbury Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Daresbury
Cheadle, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could Be Better”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I too bought this hotel stay through Groupon. I had very good things about the hotel from people i know, and was very dissappointed when i got there. Although the hotel on a whole looked very nice and well kept. The rooms were a little basic, but generally ok for one night stay. However you cannot access the Wifi in your bedroom and instead have a wire to connect to the internet, this would have been ok, had i not have brought my ipad and so therefore was unable to use it. When in the bar i did use the wifi code that they had provied on a sign in the bar area, however that did not work. There was no air conditoning in the room and not much ventalation from the one window that opened. The fan made a very loud awful noise, so we did not really want to have that on at night.we had our evening meal in the hotel, the food was faultless and was throughly enjoyed by myself, however the service was not as impressive. They were very slow in taking our food and drinks order and our starter did in fact come before our drinks did, which wa snot the best. The staff didn't really seem to know what they were doing and considering there wa a lot of tables empty when we ate, you would not think that by the lack of service there was from the waiting on Staff. We also had breakfast in the morning which again the food was lovely. however the service was not great again. The tables were not being cleaned as quick as you would expect them to be and there was a queue with about 5 tables infront of us to be seated for breakfast. Overall, i think this hotel is good, the service just needs to be improved.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    646
    657
    509
    747
See reviews for
392
1,091
87
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cheshire, england
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed here for the night after returning from gran canaria. It was quite confusing with all the corridors, struggled to find the restaurants and bar area. Not clearly signed.
Room was quite compact but ok. It was very warm in the room.
Bar meal was very good. Not many seating areas in the bar though.
We didn't use the pool or gym so can't comment on that.
Would stay again if needed to.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellpetejacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Booked this hotel through a groupon deal and have just returned. After reading the previous reviews on this site myself and my partner were actually dreading the trip but thought as it was already paid for we had nothing to loose and it was just an overnight stay anyway. We arrived yesterday afternoon and found the staff really pleasant on reception went to the room which was really clean, furniture was a little dated but think this was the actual theme of the room anyway. We went out for evening meal but did have a drink in the bar on our return and did have the breakfast in the restaurant which was really nice. Didn't make use of the leisure facilities but the pool area seemed really busy. I will admit some areas in the hotel did seem a little shabby but the main areas in the hotel were well maintained from what we saw! I will admit that we did upgrade our room to a king so unsure what the standard rooms are like but o a whole I would stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellabella2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camberley
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

As many others stated, rooms are poor, of and tired. Still has cable Internet, no wifi. Rooms smell musty, dark and no air conditioning, so we're boiling and needed to ask for a fan. Public areas were a little better. Staff were reasonably friendly.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank waggers999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The public areas in this hotel are generally good e.g. the bar, restaurant, and reception areas were fine, the real problem comes when you get in to the corridors and rooms.

Walking to my room it was obvious that there was no daily cleaning being done. The corridors, and the furniture in them, were drab and many had not seen a duster for some time. On the third floor where my room was, there was a large hole in the carpet which had been covered with black duct tape, which had been there for a while.

My room was disappointing, starting with the lack of air conditioning, which was not helped as it was one of the hottest days so far this year. The general decor of the room was dated, and didn't reflect the initial good impression of the reception area.

Having been in the room for a while you start to notice things like the total lack of maintenance e.g. only one bedside light working, only one bathroom mirror light working, toilet roll holder hanging off one screw etc. Even worse was turning back the sheets to find a hole in the bottom sheet.

The cleaning of the room was at best, very poor. It had been dusted, but large areas on the surfaces had been missed, and anywhere where there was a ledge or an edge was missed completely.

At first I thought it may just be me being picky, but talking to four colleagues who were also staying there confirmed my thoughts about this hotel, as they all had similar experiences with maintenance and cleaning.

In summary, good on the surface, but the detail are totally missed, and there appears to be a total lack of pride in the standards that should be achieved in ANY hotel.

The hotel has now been taken over by Britannia hotels, so I hope it sees some significant investment!

Room Tip: Avoid in hot weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulWMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Daresbury hotels

wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

Rubbush, rubbish,rubbish.

Room outdated, bar/restaurent food terrible, staff poor, nothing good about this plan at all. Only stay here it is very, very cheap else please stay away. Our office is on the same business park and no one stays there. We put our clients up a few miles away.

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank chandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Do not stay here in the summer. It seems there is no insulation or air conditioning. If I wanted to sleep in a greenhouse I could stay at home.

The internet was not working and not fixed in 2 days of stay.

The Restaurant could not cope with the volume of food. The starter had bread that had been defrosted in microwave and all courses were very slow to come out.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenCKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daresbury
3.1 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,466 reviews
4.2 mi away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#8 of 21 in Warrington
1,834 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#10 of 21 in Warrington
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Warrington
Holiday Inn Warrington
#13 of 21 in Warrington
615 reviews
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Widnes
Travelodge Widnes
#2 of 4 in Widnes
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daresbury Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daresbury Park Hotel

Property: Daresbury Park Hotel
Address: Chester Road, Daresbury WA4 4BB, England (Formerly De Vere Daresbury Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Daresbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Daresbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Daresbury Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Daresbury Park Hotel & Spa is one of the best hotels in Warrington for price and facilities. Located just a 3 minute drive from the M56 and offering easy access to Chester, Liverpool and Manchester with the Peak District only 40 minutes away - the Daresbury Park is the perfect choice for short breaks, business travel, conferences and wedding receptions alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Daresbury Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Daresbury Park Hotel Daresbury
De Vere Daresbury Park Warrington
Daresbury Park Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing