We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Suprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daresbury Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Daresbury Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Daresbury
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a Suprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I don't know what some people expect but I have just stayed here with 3 friends and it was very good. After reading the reviews, I was quite worried. I do expect a lot when going away, I never stay at anything less than a 4* even when going abroad. All the carvery was hot, plenty of choice and very friendly staff, I am really funny at what I eat but I was quite full with what I had. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were clean. Kettle and tea making facilities in the room, ironing board and Iron and hairdryer. The pool was warm and the Jacuzzi was to die for. 3 of us had the back, neck and shoulder massage and I nearly fell asleep , it was that good. It is out of the way but it didn't stop us going to Cheshire oaks shopping centre which was about 20 minutes away and we also went into Warrington. It's what you make it

Room Tip: We stayed in room 106 and 107 on the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazsheffield_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    618
    632
    476
    703
See reviews for
378
1,026
83
472
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel has got beautiful grounds and entrance its just a shame its in the middle of an industrial estate.Rooms were a really good size as was the bathroom,bed was clean but really need new pillows,it would have been more welcoming if we had a smile from staff on reception.

Room Tip: pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Please don't read the reviews,just had a lovely birthday weekend here! My partner booked us for a night here on a Groupon deal.We had afternoon tea in the courtyard, booked in for back massage which was amazing. 4 course help yourself carvery dinner with a free bottle of wine.Food was tastey.Lovely breakfast in the morning had full use of spa pool&jacuzzi.our room was spotless with iron, hair dryer tv& tea tray .All staff were helpful& Happy.After reading all the negative reviews we weren't looking forward to our stay. We have had a great chilled out time here. We Would stay again!!!☺ A note to all the negative reviews what do you expect when staying on a Groupon, or any other cheap deal.If you want 5★ stay at a 5★.Stop looking for faults. Give the
Daresbury park a break. Come here relax & enjoy. Ive had a great birthday weekend

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank gemma j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our last night of a coach trip to Scotland. What a wonderful surprise after the shambolic hotels we had stayed in for the previous week.

The bedroom was spacious and the bed extremely comfortable, as good as my own bed.
Clean and today and overlooking the car park, so was quiet. It is probably a family room as it had a full length settee, that could be folded down to sleep the children.

The carvery was freshly cooked and excellent, and the breakfast was serve yourself (not always good thing for us, as we tend to over eat) But all the food was really good ,

If we ever pass this way again on our travels, it will be where we would choose to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Myself and some friends bought an overnight stay deal from Wowcher for this hotel. After reading the reviews I was quite apprehensive, but as we had bought a cheap deal I didn't think it could be that bad.

When we parked up we noticed the hotel was not much to look at, in fact it looked like a large block of council flats (pebbledash etc), but we thought we won't judge a book by it's cover.....
Now, I am not one to moan about a bit of flaky paint or a barely visible carpet stain, however this hotel needs a lot of TLC. There were quite heavily stained carpets in some area (the corridors most noticeably), ripped carpet and furniture and our room and some corridors smelt quite damp.

We ate lunch in the bar (which wasn't included in the deal), the beef on the beef and onion ciabatta tasted like it had been cooked and re-heated a few times in the microwave. It was averagely priced so I won't complain too much. Drinks were fairly average prices too. Staff didn't seem overly keen to be there.

Leisure facilities were great, pool, sauna, hot tub.

The evening meal was included and this was a 3 course buffet. Starters were okay, however the roast dinner that was on offer wasn't too great. First of all they ran out of Yorkshire puddings at around 8pm, so it wasn't as if we'd turned up at the end of the night. - there was obviously a lack of preparation as the hotel booked everyone into the restaurant at specific times, so they knew how many people they had to cater for. The meat was lovely however our roast potatoes were still rock solid in the middle!

We sat in the bar for a few drinks after tea, there was a good atmosphere and the staff were a lot perkier.

The bed was quite comfy if that's any consolation??

Another note - you will have to take the care or a taxi to go anywhere, it is a bit out of the way.

I feel like I can't complain too much because I purchased a cheap deal for this hotel, but this is an honest review, and I would have been highly unimpressed if I had paid full price to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammy_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Daresbury hotels

freckleton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel with friends on the 19th of July this year, I was going to write a decent review because we did have a nice time and the room we had (302) was clean and comfortable.

However !!!. When we got home on the Sunday I realised I had left a dress in the wardrobe so tried to contact the hotel, I tried for days and days using different methods to no avail, I still cant get through directly to the hotel " Apparently the lines are down" still after 2 weeks?????. This is exasperating what if it had been a piece of jewellery?, I would have thought the cleaner would have taken it to customer services and found out who stayed in the room and contacted me or the person that booked the hotel but no. I have had an email from head office saying they would contact me within 28days, ime not holding my breath !!!!!.
As far as ime concerned they are incompetent thieving swine's. Someone ! that being the cleaner and she was English has my dress so she is a thief. It would be easy for the hotel to find out who cleaned that room all they need to do is look at the bloody rota. Needless to say We wont be staying there again and I warn anyone to make sure they have all their belongings. I wasnt well when we left hence the mistake of not checking the wardrobe!!!!!!!!. P****d off.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freckletonchippy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have travelled all over the world and stayed in a variety of accommodation from hostels to 5 star hotels, and Daresbury park Hotel is by far the worst hotel/spa I have ever stayed in.
We booked it for one night as a girly spa treat, and it was an awful experience.
We arrived on the Saturday and had afternoon tea before checking into our rooms. Afternoon tea was disgusting and involved helping yourself to the cakes on the other side of the room. Presentation was just awful.
After eventually getting the keys to the room, which was freezing cold and had a broken window we then went into the Spa. There was 12 of us in total and the receptionist failed to tell us the jacuzzi and sauna were both broken, at this point we all had got changed and headed to the pool area. The pool was full of unhappy guest who had nothing to do.

I headed back to my room to get a shower and the shower was broken I called reception 5 times who failed to answer.
For my Spa Treatment I went for a manicure however it was just a nail paint, the girl even failed to remove the nail varnish I had on. I also had my nails painted in a dark room with my friend having a head massage.
I could go on and on about this experience but there’s no point.
Overall this was an awful experience I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diva121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daresbury
3.0 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Holiday Inn Runcorn
#2 of 3 in Runcorn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Runcorn Hotel
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Warrington South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daresbury Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daresbury Park Hotel

Property: Daresbury Park Hotel
Address: Chester Road, Daresbury WA4 4BB, England (Formerly De Vere Daresbury Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Daresbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Daresbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Daresbury Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Daresbury Park Hotel & Spa is one of the best hotels in Warrington for price and facilities. Located just a 3 minute drive from the M56 and offering easy access to Chester, Liverpool and Manchester with the Peak District only 40 minutes away - the Daresbury Park is the perfect choice for short breaks, business travel, conferences and wedding receptions alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Lastminute and Odigeo so you can book your Daresbury Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Daresbury Park Hotel Daresbury
De Vere Daresbury Park Warrington
Daresbury Park Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing