We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newbridge Hotel

Newbridge Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newbridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Newbridge B&B and Inns
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
365 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 708 helpful votes
“Great value hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as we had a wedding 2 miles away from the hotel and at £45 a night was a lot cheaper than having taxis from home. We checked in at the bar at 2pm and were shown to our room.

The room was very clean and well laid out. We had a double bed with 2 bed side cabinets. There was a tv, dressing table with mirror and wardrobe. The bathroom had a large electric shower that was powerful enough and very warm.

The next morning we had ordered breakfast at £6 per person. It was worth every penny. The chef was very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. We had tea, coffee and juice to drink. There was a variety of cereals. The cooked breakfast included sausage, bacon, black pudding, tomatoes, beans, fried bread and mushrooms. We were also brought plenty of toast.

All in all a fantastic stay. Would highly recommend and definately return!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayleigh_M_Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    4
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Stayed here for work over two nights. Very friendly staff at the bar, although no real ales. Asked if I could have breakfast at 7.30am and they agreed.
No evening meals, so had to resort to one of the local curry houses that take (company) credit cards as I'd left my own cards at home.
Overslept the second day (alarm didn't go off) and got woken by the other lads that were staying.
Went down at around 8am and nothing was ready for me. Nobody was about! Didn't have time to start banging on doors and trying to find someone so had to leave for work. Most doors were locked though... Guess I should of tried a bit harder, but as it wasn't my money I wasn't too worried, regardless that I hadn't had a decent meal for two days. £6 lost, or £12 for one breakfast. That first morning breakfast was OK though.
The room (5) looked as if someone had had a fight in it, some of the walls were 'damaged'. It was clean and had an electric shower. Push taps you had to push about 20 times to get hot water but no light above the shaving mirror, hence I cut myself. No heating was on, had to make use of the fan heater in the room most of the time I was in there. Only two pillows on the bed which was reasonably OK.
Ample parking however and a good bar if you don't like real ale and being deafened while in there.

Room Tip: Room 5 is double but small, only two pillows, not much room for things, keep having to move everythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NDS_Video
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Came here solely to watch the band 7th Circle. An amazing place with friendly staff and locals. Amazing for music especially as it was a Sunday night and yet it was pumping.
Clean toilets, amazing sports bar.
Would definitely come here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Miscr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed at The Newbridge Hotel just to see if what I had heard was true. Decor downstairs was a bit of a shock until I discovered the blue walls were the team colours of the local rugby team. The Hotel has a very sporty vibe which suited us. The restaurant and bedrooms were excellent and the general atmosphere was very welcoming. Beer was a reasonable price too. I was a little disappointed to miss the visit of Viv Richards. Missed him by days. We have booked Christmas dinner and the Whitney Houston tribute as we both can't wait to return. Although the beer was very reasonable it was a slight disappointment that they didn't stock Crabbies.

Room Tip: Ask for the owner "Kim" although unassuming he will ensure you have an excellent stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redlouie777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Stayed 2 nights. Rooms freshly refurbished. Clean tidy with a comfortable bed with clean linen. Cooked breakfasts are amazing!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1968ajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbridge
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Caerphilly (Corbetts Lane) Hotel
7.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 19 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Solar Strand Hotel
The Solar Strand Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosskeys
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Brewers Lodge
Brewers Lodge
#4 of 6 in Blackwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbridge Hotel

Property: Newbridge Hotel
Address: High Street, Newbridge NP11 4FH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Caerphilly County > Newbridge
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Newbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Newbridge Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing