We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
intuoso
London, United Kingdom

Very nice resort - away from it all

Review of Haadson Resort
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Jan 2013
We spent 3 days at the Haadson resort, it is 20km from town so you really are away from it all. Which is lovely, bar when you want to head into town where they charge UK rates for the taxis which was a little disappointing. Though the main reason for choosing this resort is to be away from the hoards of tourists, and close to nature (we are interested in wildlife) so on that it delivers. It is a bit cheeky calling it a beach retreat (this is being a little picky) as we expected it to be right on the beach, but there is a road, which isn't a problem at all, but many would have set their expectations that it was right on the beach.
The gardens are lush and well kept, they have a small lagoon where you can paddle around which is great for watching the kingfishers.

We stayed in one of the garden rooms, it was a very good size, and had a lovely small balcony, however when we first tried the bed the bedding stank of damp and mould, particularly the pillows, we went to the reception to request all the bedding was changed, the lady working the reception was very pleasant but seemed reluctant in assisting us immediately so asked us to eat dinner first and then return later for some new pillows, really we would have expected someone to have gone and changed all the bedding asap, having clean bed linen is the very minimum any hotel should provide, even the 2nd class over night train we took to get to southern thailand and cleaner linen! Paying the kind of money for this room I would expect better. We returned to receive some new pillows, which were clean, as we wanted just to relax and luckily it was hot enough we just didn't use the linnen and left it to get changed the next day. It was not a great start. The smell of damp did seem to linger the whole time we were there, the room is also a little worn and tired in places, but we got used to it.

As previous reviews have said, the food is tailored for the western palate, so if you like thai food, the restaurant although pleasant, is probably not the best place to eat, but the food is nice and you can ask for them to make it hotter to get a little more thai like. The cocktails aren't that great either, but they are drinkable! The breakfast is again for the westerners, they offer some noodles and rice, as well as eggs bacon, tomatoes, fruits and cereals, the german style friend potatoes are particularly good.

Overall it was a lovely stay, the resort really is very beautiful and the staff are pleasant too, I think the rooms are a little expensive for what you get, they are a little tired in places and the damp mouldy smells really need to be addressed. Bangsak beach is a great getaway location, and would recommend staying in this area.
I would give the Haadson an overall rating of average/good.
Date of stay: January 2013
Room Tip: Check the bedding!
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£56
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • travelup.com
0.8 miles from Haadson Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
£38
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from Haadson Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
£38
  • Official Site
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
2.0 miles from Haadson Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
£49
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.7 miles from Haadson Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
£39
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.1 miles from Haadson Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
£14
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
3.7 miles from Haadson Resort
Restaurant
£55
No prepayment needed
    686.9 miles from Haadson Resort
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £70
    • AVANIHotels.com
      £114
    2.1 miles from Haadson Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £50
    • Priceline
    2.7 miles from Haadson Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Bang Muang
    Reviews (307)
    Filter reviews
    307 results
    Traveller rating
    195
    84
    20
    6
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    195
    84
    20
    6
    2
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews deserted beach bang sak beach takua pa khao tsunami thais sand sunbeds coconut
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    62 - 67 of 307 reviews
    Reviewed 8 January 2013

    Stayed at Haadson for 10 days, which was 8 days too long. The Haadson Resort has an idyllic setting, tucked nicely between jungle and beach. Quiet , quiet , quiet.... Almost to the point where you feel whispering is too loud, which makes a perfect place to begin a relaxing holiday. I just stayed in this one location too long, after the 1054page novel was finished (mainly around the pool), there're was not much else to do.
    Restaurants(?) lack authenticity with their ambience and food (basic), and no quiet piped music at all made for rather boring eating experience in such a perfect location. The BEST Thai food I had was at one of the beach shacks, Black and White, about a 10 min stroll down road. People there were lovely, they had Thai music playing in background, cold Bintang and warm and warm welcoming smiles.
    Service at Haadson was also a little lacking. I'm not a painful demanding guest and very much respect people's privacy and ethnic backgrounds. In the whole time I was there the pool bar was not tended to once, I had to go searching for staff if I wanted food or drink (the closest 7eleven is a 10 min taxi ride away) so I was pretty much at the mercy of the resort(?) for food and drinks.
    All in all... The place is definitely relaxing and laid back and perfect for getting you into holiday mode, but only for a few days... After that its boring. The location is idyllic and beautiful, the resort itself is basic, with less than basic amenities. The staff are welcoming, service is lacking. In comparison to other resorts and places I have stayed in Thailand... The Haadson had a 4star price tag with 2 star service.

    Date of stay: December 2012
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank GazAndMandz
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 31 December 2012

    I was lucky enough to visit this wonderful resort for 2 weeks for my 50th birthday , organised by my husband, David.
    A quiet location away from the usual busy hassles of Phuket and Bangkok . Good staff and excellent food with a choice of traditional Thai cuisine or European menu. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt very relaxed and at ease there . Would recommend this place to others seeking a peaceful retreat holiday .

    Date of stay: November 2012
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Rachelwroath
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 31 December 2012

    a great place if you want to be away from it all and enjoy lovely beaches or chill by the pool. it is located directly by the beach and a 15 min drive from khao lak itself. day trips can be organized at the reception. there is not much surrounding Haadson resort except a couple of very, very basic restaurants along the beach on either side. the beach just outside the resort had bull dozers on it and has a very high terrace which is a big shame. you have to clamber down the terrace to reach the sea. but there are fantastic lonely beaches 5-10 minutes walk on either side of the resort. the ocean has a little surf but it was still safe to go in the ocean with our baby. the beaches are very shady the whole morning.
    pool area is very nice. there is no attended bar at the pool but one can order food and drinks by phone from pool.
    we had no hot water in our villa on arrival but this was fixed the next day.
    there are a lot of mosquitos (due to the almost stagnant water surrounding the villas) so bring enough mosquito repellent.
    we saw quite a bit of wildlife in and around the resort (frogs, lizards, geckos, monitor lizards, a little snake...)
    would definitely consider coming again.
    the staff were generally very friendly and attentive. 1-2 of the staff seemed less motivated and had very limited knowledge of english.
    the island villas are lovely, well equipped with outdoor rain-showers and quality of sleep good as it is very quiet.

    Room tip: the 'island' villas all have a terrace and a view of the lagoon.
    Date of stay: December 2012
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank pemberley_ch
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 17 December 2012

    There are two room options - a private bungalow (villa) or a coconut room, which are attached in fours, two upstairs, two down. We stayed in a bungalow overlooking a canal, with lots of trees and privacy. The coconut rooms are towards the back of the property, but looked beautiful too. It doesn't seem like you can go wrong whichever you choose. All villas and rooms have outdoor space that is your own.

    Pros: the staff is friendly and on top of things, we felt very welcome. The property has a relaxing setting with many trees and birds and canals.The beach is directly across a small quaint soi.

    Cons: there are just two small family restaurants and no convenience stores on the street. The beach water is not as clear as some and the sand at the water is a little muddy feeling. This could be because of the work that is being done. Currently the beach is undergoing some restoration work from storm damage, to the left of the property. They expect it to be completed shortly. Despite what I'm saying we did swim and enjoyed it.

    A good place to come to rejuvenate, read and settle into some natural surroundings.

    Date of stay: December 2012
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    3  Thank tropicaltoes
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 14 November 2012

    We stayed at Haadson a couple of weeks ago during a two week stay in Thailand. The initial impression of the resort was not perhaps the best it could be but please don't be put off. there is work going on to stabilise the beach but you can easily get away from this with a short walk up the deserted road. The room was just right with plenty of space and a balcony. The pool is simply fantastic. The staff are beyond friendly and treated us like royalty even down to inviting the guests there at the time to their annual staff party which was great fun with a beautiful Thai food buffet laid on. We did the cooking class whilst there and really enjoyed it, it was well organised with staff all over the place helping set up and clear up, after a table was laid for us to eat it all!!
    The beach is deserted except for a few Thai families at the weekend. Worryingly though there is a huge resort with all sorts of water features being built just up the road I hope this does not impact on the peace of Haadson.
    They lay on a shuttle to Khao Lak each afternoon for a couple of hours which is all you need there as there isn't much there.
    All in all we had a relaxing and chilled break for three nights here, nothing is too much trouble for them.

    Room tip: The team keep each block of four rooms as quiet as possible by putting the minimum number in each block. Unlike some places which group all together for ease of cleaning etc.
    Date of stay: November 2012
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank ladyawl
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews