We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Plaka, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ljnorris
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned home after a week in Villa Daedalos and I must say, what a fantastic villa! The views were amazing and the gardens well tended with an abundance of colour. The villa had everything we needed and the owners were very accommodating. Plaka itself is a lovely quiet village, but with plenty of places to eat. Our favourite was Taki's Taverna, with it's vast menu and very friendly staff. I would definitely return to Villa Daedalos and would definitely recommend both the villa and this area of Crete.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: definately the views from the villa
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally M
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I travelled here for a week of relaxation with my wife and two teenaged daughters, during a European trip last year. The villa is just as it looks in the pictures. The view is breathtaking and ever changing - as evidenced by the many photos I took at different times of the day and lighting conditions.

Everything was just as we hoped: Convenient location with a number of good walks in the vicinity; beautifully appointed villa; a choice of local eateries within walking distance; and a friendly local taxi service at good rates for trips further afield if we did not want to drive.

I recommend using the pizza oven at least once. We had one perfect evening making and cooking pizza and eating outdoors at the villa.

The owners were very helpful and although we did not need to contact them much (because we had everything we wanted) we were sure they would provide any help we wanted if we had asked.

Really, nothing negative to say - except I agree with the earler comment that the pool is very cold! No doubt that is great in mid-summer, but in autumn it was a bit too chilly.

We would love to return if we ever find ourselves in Crete again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The pool was very cold!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith D
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded all expectations!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
4
people found this review helpful

The view alone was worth it all! The owners were most accommodating and made sure we had everything needed to truly appreciate this immaculate villa. Our two young children enjoyed the play set, running around the property and of course the beautiful pool. If we never left the villa our vacation would have been wonderful. Nonetheless, the village (Plaka) was only 1 kilometer away and has some greater places for dinner. The beach was only an 8 minute drive and has great places for lunch and dinner that are right on the water. Villa Daedalos is truly paradise found in Crete!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Pool was a bit chilly
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themoores...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Private luxury villa with stunning outlook”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent as week of total relaxation at this fabulous very private villa. A short walk able distance from the village square of Plaka where there is a small shop, cafe's and tavernas. You will need a car unless you are content not to leave the villa or the village - which is possible as the villa is beautiful, well appointed and has a stunning outlook from its perch on the top of a hill overlooking Almairida. Cannot recommend this Villa enough - it is the best we have ever stayed in in this price bracket. The Bolarakis family were lovely and saw to all out needs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location Location Location and the villa was stunning with a great infinity pool
Liked least: Local town was a little touristy
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ortenzio
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I hardly know where to begin to write about how much we enjoyed staying at Villa Daedalos! First of all, the Bolarakis family, who own the villa, could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The villa itself was in a spectacular location which offered complete privacy and wonderful views in all directions. The outdoor gardens were absolutely stunning along with the rest of the outdoor facilities. The villa itself was well-appointed and had everything one needed. We were especially pleased that the Wi-Fi connection worked flawlessly along with everything else in the villa. We were also impressed with how comfortable the beds were. We have stayed in other very nice villas in the Almirida/Plaka area, but Villa Daedalos is the one to which we hope to return time and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gardens and outdoor facilities
Liked least: We had no complaints. We loved everything!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“worth it for the view alone”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I spent a wonderful week at the villa with my extended family at the end of the season. Our party included kids, teenagers and retirees and had something for everyone. Granma and grandad loved the garden and the local villages and the kids young and old, loved the pool and the local beach - we all had a ball. The villa and its grounds are of a very high quality, the service was excellent and the welcome warm. The local village was lovely. We discovered its charms far too late in the week, having gone further afield first and the local beach had everything the kids needed. We came away very relaxed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view over the bay
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arne Klug...
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The place to stay in Crete!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Staying with friends for a week early October. Never experienced anything like it. The villa is situated perfectly when it comes to; distance from airport, view, proximity to old village with tevernas and freshly baked bread and other necessities and so on. Did I mention the view? Gives you the ultimate feeling of “top of world”, especially at night with all the lights below! We also enjoyed the lay-out of the various verandas and terraces. After barbeque on a fabulous grill, find some wood and enjoy the fire! What is commented in other reviews about the high quality of the villa itself is true. 1st class. We would also like to thank the owners for excellent and friendly service. PS! There is a twin villa next to this one, and we seriously consider to invite enough friends to fill both villas,- this is an experience worth searing!
Just one more thing; the neighbors has some angry looking dogs, heavily barking when walking by, but not dangerous. Tip: Keep the gate closed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing