We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is exactly as you expect, great midweek quick dinner”
Review of The Meadowlark

The Meadowlark
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Shoeburyness
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“It is exactly as you expect, great midweek quick dinner”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is basic, but for a dinner midweek or because you don't have time (or inclination) to cook at home it is perfect. I doubt anything is home made, possibly all pre packed and reheated, but it's hot, tasty, staff are really friendly and helpful, the decor is clean, new and some great local photo's. Buy 1 get 1 free £27 for family of four, can't be bad.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HOLLYOHSouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    92
    47
    35
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bubbles burst”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Been a regular diner here since it's opening ,generally having a good experience. My last visit will be my last visit, due to becoming ill following a sunday evening meal.
The food has steadily declined and so has the service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 475Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice decor but food average”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Visited with my wife to enjoy a nice meal decor is nice but air of a very clicky clientele present, good selection of beers but food average ,as it was lukewarm and badly presented with not much taste.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

good value pub grubb it is two for one all the time on all manes which in my eyes it great value the staff are freindly and helpful and the food is good

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jimmy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Who serves burnt food to a child”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

At the meadow lark in shoebury a treat for my 12 year old he loves the restaurant . Firstly I had to ask to order my food and the 25 minutes later it turns up burnt which I then have to send back no apology which I find unacceptable who serves food burnt to a child with no morals x the meal arrived again my fish was dripping in water and my sons meal still didn't look great x overall a very bad experience x

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debbiejanefisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Meadowlark also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Shoeburyness, Southend-on-Sea
 
Shoeburyness, Southend-on-Sea
Shoeburyness, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Meadowlark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing