We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD ACCOMODATION BUT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Aylesbury (East), Aston Clinton
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“GOOD ACCOMODATION BUT!”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stayed here last weekend 28/29th April. Accomodation was excellent but found the menu a little dissaponiting with little choice although the food was good.The steak and ale pie my wife had tasted to much of cardamum, think this was on the carrots though. Sunday night was a touch troublesome in that there was an appreciable amount of noise from other guest's, slamming doors ect after 11.30 am, and a lot of knocking each other's doors.
Would stay there again but I think there are probably better places to stay. The noise levels were unacceptable but that may just be a one off.
Generally good, staff were excellent and thanks for giving us room 11 , must be one of the best room we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Room 11 is great plenty of room. Also try the Five Bells at WestonTurville
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolves86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    52
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
46
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
420 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Booked here along with our extended families prior to and after a wedding in the area.Reception was friendly and we were shown to our room as well as around the pub areas.We were in the older rooms on the 1st floor. The room was nice and warm on what was a cold day and well decorated in contemporary colours. Overall impression was very good despite the creaking floorboards and age of the place- all part of the character and what we wanted. Needs attention to detail though- had the vacuum cleaner broken?- the carpet looked like it had been left with bits and pieces from the previous occupant( in fact all 3 bedrooms we occupied were like this), the window sill was dirty and there was mould in the corners in the shower ( it is possible to remove/prevent this) and the toilet seat was broken. A weekly check around by the manager? The bed was comfortable but the noise from the bar/restaurant areas below does filter up to the bedrooms and until quite late. Breakfast was continental with plenty of choice ( english cooked at weekends by request - but when the chef arrives which is not until 9:30 and then you have to wait. Also an additional charge- neither of which was communicated to us).Food choice in the evenings was good and ok price wise. Generally good quality although my wife ordered rack of lamb cooked pink ( not cheap) which is fairly standard and was given a well done rack- the last one so she ate it. In fairness she was offered a complimentary desert although she would rather have enjoyed the main course as she ordered it.Another review states service hit and miss - I agree and that also applies to friendliness and attitude- that of the senior people is not filtering down to all of the staff- a pity because some are excellent.Good park across the road for the kids to let off some steam. Overall we did enjoy our stay but with attention to detail my score would have been excellent not very good.

Room Tip: Without seeing other rooms - difficult to comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greecophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed here on two separate occasions, and both times were very impressed with our experience. Despite turning up both times caked in mud from walking, we were greeted warmly with smiles and without attitude. First time we were in a new room downstairs, the second in one of the old ones upstairs. Despite the creaky floorboards and the wonky bathroom entrance, we much preferred the latter. Amenities were very handy and the beds were incredibly comfortable. Breakfast fine, nothing spectacular but what do you expect at this price, anyway?
Food in restaurant was of good quality, service a tad hit and miss but pleasant enough. Beer and ale selection good and reasonably priced. A great experience, all in all.

Room Tip: The older room definitely had more character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aemwwlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Spent one night here in room 11. Had dinner in the restaurant in front of a brilliant log fire. The meal was pleasant and good value for money. I particularly enjoyed my 'orange hot chocolate'

Was a bit disappointed at not getting the downstairs rooms which are apparently newly refurbished but the disappointment vanished as soon as I was shown my room.

It was a very spacious room and it had decent furniture and lighting. The room was nice and warm and I felt at home as soon as I walked in!

The bed was a double and sooo sooo comfy...I had a great night's rest and woke up quite refreshed.

The bathroom was also quite spacious and well lit...it did have a few neglected corners though...so would recommend a thorough clean to get rid of moldy bits!

All in all a pleasant stay and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaysune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

A place that was a coaching house then a very succesful hotel now a lovely pub restaurant.

I would say all of this i was brought up here and worked here in it's glory days!!
But honestly it is a lovely place to eat with small areas to sit away from the bar area, The food is much of the same that is found in most places but cask ales pulled from real pumps works for me.
The staff are always helpful and at times when busy rushed off their feet so give them a chance, If you are going at the weekends or holiday dates book your table as you can wait for a long time for your table. Outside seating is available but no child play area(if you need a play area there is a recreation ground across the main road).
Give it a go..

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2dinlowdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in room no 8 which was very spacious, comfy double bed and sofa bed with sitting area.
The bathroom was also spacious but a little drafty due to ill fitting windows.
Good off road parking and near to Aylesbury.
Breakfast was good and plentiful ( continental).
We had a meal in the restaurant which was was very over priced. Nothing special. If you go online and join the innkeepers lodge site you get a printable voucher for a drink ......free when you show a voucher, printed or on your phone.
We went down the road to the Oak which was very nice and had lovely fish and chips for £9.95. Well worth a visit even if its to sit by the lovely log fire.
If we went back to the Aylesbury area we would definitely stay at The Bell again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laceylooKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Booked in for a pre Valentine night; Shown to our room & I noted the door handles were missing & the loo seat was partly detached. Initially shown a somewhat drab dinner table which was in a draft from the unlit fireplace.
This was changed to one much more congenial. We had an excellent evening meal in pleasant surroundings.
Went to bed to find that the bed was just awful. It was unsupportive, so one either rolled out sideways or else vanished into the central "sink hole".! Considered putting the mattress directly upon the floor, but compromised with stuffing pillows under.
Hence it is difficult to recommend a stay & many other reviews comment upon cleanliness & the beds. What a pity as it is a well known Pub & could be so much better.
Yes, I did mention the defects to management, but have yet to see any recompense which was mentioned.

Room Tip: Check the bed. Observe which fittings are missing or broken.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LymingtonShw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aston Clinton
0.1 mi away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.8 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#3 of 6 in Aylesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
9.3 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tring Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Aylesbury (East), Aston Clinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Aylesbury (East), Aston Clinton

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Aylesbury (East), Aston Clinton
Address: London Road | London Rd, Aston Clinton HP22 5HP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aston Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aston Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Aylesbury (East), Aston Clinton 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the Chiltern Hills, this unique lodge offers some of the most characterful accommodation in Aston Clinton. It's just off the M25, near to Aylesbury and Tring, making it ideal for short breaks in Buckinghamshire or for business travel in the South East.Dating back to 1650, the beautifully restored old inn has clocked up an intriguing and glamorous history. It has played host to Jackie Kennedy, Elizabeth Taylor and, given the village's links with Aston Martin, the odd iconic car launch.Guests today can still enjoy a touch of the VIP treatment - offered by the 11 stylishly decorated en-suite bedrooms, fresh, seasonal food and speciality drinks available. They'll discover the pub is full of period charm, cosy nooks and roaring log-fires, and there's an alfresco dining area perfect for soaking up the British summer.Walkers will find it's a great base for exploring the Chiltern Hills, while families can burn off some energy at treetop adventure park Go Ape, or let their imagination wander through the nearby Roald Dahl Children's Gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Aylesbury (East), Aston Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge Aylesbury (East), Aston Clinton Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing