We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay, Near to RAF Halton”
Review of West Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aston Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay, Near to RAF Halton”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Just back from an overnight at the West Lodge Hotel, Aston Clinton Nr Aylesbury.
We were attending the Graduation parade at RAF Halton which is only approx 3 miles away. Beautiful, quaint and very very comfortable with a nice breakfast.
Beautifully decorated and spotless clean. Parking within hotel grounds.
Well worth a visit especially if you have a graduation to go to.

Room Tip: Try the lovely rooms in the pld stable block at back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bax104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    62
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
36
85
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Clean & comfortable room in a quiet location. Excellent breakfast. Friendly service. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred26London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Wonderful hotel run by really friendly great people. Had one of the best night's sleep ever in a hotel, really comfy beds and nice quiet room. Local pub was very friendly and the coffee served by Mike next morning at breakfast was first class! Would definitely stay again if in the area and thoroughly recommend this hotel to other visitors.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 429phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

If you are looking for an undisturbed rest, with attentive but non-imposing service, good cooking and excellent facilities, in The Vale of Aylesbury, all at a reasonable price, then the West Lodge Hotel is the place for you. It is part of the old Rothschild estate in Aston Clinton, and it has been comfortably renovated whilst maintaining the old style of the estate. We stayed in one of the three garden rooms, where we had total independence for access. The only sound which we heard there was that of the owls in the parkland behind the lodge. Even in November, the garden was very attractive. There are lots of local places of beauty to visit, including Beechy Bucks hill ridges and canal walks, and the owners can advise knowledgeably on these, and on the history of the local area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We went for a few days to visit an area we had not been to for some time and found a very friendly and relaxing location. We would certainly return to this hotel should we visit this area again

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johncooper28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

This hotel is lovely and has beautiful gardens. We were given a warm welcome and shown to our lovely room which was situated in the stable block at the bottom of the garden. Lovely room with a large en-suite, gorgeous soft towels and good quality toilet paper! The breakfast was fine but we had our evening meal at the local pub The Oak which was excellent and only 10 minutes walk away. It's a shame we were only staying one night and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trundlie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

A very warm, friendly place that made us feel very welcome. Charming small B&B with lots of character.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aston Clinton
2.7 mi away
No photo provided
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
494 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#3 of 6 in Aylesbury
731 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
550 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
1.7 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lodge Hotel

Property: West Lodge Hotel
Address: 45 London Road, Aston Clinton HP22 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aston Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aston Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — West Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Lodge Hotel, near Aylesbury, was originally a 19th century Lodge House and part of the Rothschild Estate. Privately owned, West Lodge has been sympathetically restored with an eye for detail and comfort. An ideal location for small weddings, functions, private parties, business conferences or those guests attending local courses at ESRI, RAF Halton, Green Park, Aylesbury and Grendon Underwood Prison Training Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your West Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hotel Aston Clinton
West Hotel Aylesbury
West Lodge Hotel Aston Clinton, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing