We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, comfortable, extremely helpful.”
Review of West Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aston Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very friendly, comfortable, extremely helpful.”
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

From arrival the friendly helpful reception we had., the room very was comfortable chinzty n quaint very clean. Beautiful settings well kept old english style house n garden. Although we did not spend a lot of time there we wished we had. The breakfast was muliple choice n fresh and nothing was to much touble. We were made to feel welcome x would definately use this hotel again.


(only fault he was an everton supporter) only joking all was fabulous xx

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    62
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
36
85
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I have stayed here twice, on each occasion with a group of friends, who filled the hotel. Julie and Mike made us very welcome on each occasion, and we should be back there soon. I shared one of the rooms opening directly onto the garden, which, with it's stable door, was great fun. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped, and the garden is a bonus in terms of having somewhere to socialise - we have been lucky with the weather...
The food is superb. Both the evening meals were exquisite, and breakfast is sublime. The bacon is locally produced, and Mike will tell you about the source of both the bacon, and the eggs!!
Aston Clinton is handy for Aylesbury, but also for some of the prettier parts of Buckinghamshire, but you have everything for a restful break right there in the village. Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Go for a garden room if you can - there's something about those stable doors, and the garden is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clonemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed here one night prior to an event at RAF Halton. The hosts were extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming. We stayed in one of the garden chalet rooms with its quirky 'stable door' and view of the garden. The room was spacious, quiet, clean and comfortable. If you are looking for modern, contemporary accommodation then this isn't for you but if you want Victorian charm, with a garden with lots of nooks and crannies and local facilities in walking distance then this is highly recommended. We have already booked to come back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reeldoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We had our wedding at West Lodge yesterday (8th September 2012) with a theme of Afternoon Tea, and I cannot recommend them highly enough. The staff were brilliant, always eager to help and the food was amazing ! Julie has been so helpful in planning our day with us and it ran so smoothly and along with stunning weather, we could not have planned for a more perfect day. All of our guests loved the location and the beautiful garden and no one left until they were completely stuffed with food ! A huge thank you to Julie & Mike for all of their efforts - if anyone else is looking for a wedding venue to have up to 30 guests, this is the one - you will not find anywhere finer !

Room Tip: Only one slight issue with the room at the front of the hotel (4 ?) is that the spotlight shines st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbinaribena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

My partner and I stayed at this hotel (B&B more appropriate) for one night along with my parents as we were visiting family. I checked us both into our separate rooms during the day to obtain they keys so we didnt have to check in later that evening.
On arrival the host mentioned the owners were on holiday and she was standing in for them.
We booked (and paid additional suppliments) to have our dogs (1 in each room) stay with us. After check in we were told the dogs were only allowed in the garden, as we had garden rooms we were told to use the side gate which would mean we didnt have to go through the hotel at all which was even better for us.
We got back to the hotel at 10pm that evening and, as the guest book states the hotel bar is open until 11pm, decided to get some drinks to have whilst sitting in the beautiful gardens as the weather was so nice it was still warm. When we rung the bell just after 10pm the host came to reception in her dressing gown and said "you got me out of bed", we asked if we could buy some drinks to drink in the garden and were told the dogs were not allowed in the garden at all which meant we ended up taking our business to the pub up the road.
The bedrooms themselves were lovely and the bed very comfortable, the hot water wasnt working but the shower was a power shower so didnt really affect us. The next morning breakfast was adequate however had to prompt to refill orange juice etc at the buffet and the toast with the full english etc however was nice quality.
I wouldnt stay here again as our whole party was made to feel like an inconveinience and that the dogs were a problem when we booked the rooms specifically as they stated they would take dogs and paid additional on the rate for them.
We paid almost £200 between us for this experience so I definitely expected better, and although I can imagine this is a lovely place to stay when the owners are there I wouldnt chance it again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinejen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
I am very sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations and it is unfortunate that I had not been in direct contact with yourself regarding this booking. The lady who enquired about our "no pets policy" discussed with me the ways in which we could accommodate your group and two dogs. We had also communicated by email several times. I am pleased that you enjoyed the aspect of the Garden rooms and we made sure that direct access to your rooms was possible through the walled garden. As we do not usually allow pets, and the garden is enjoyed by all our guests, it would perhaps not be appropriate to have dogs running loose and I was assured that this was not an issue at the point of booking. Unfortunately, we could not accommodate your last minute request for two additional dogs to be brought onto the premises. I am sorry that you felt this was inhospitable of the cover staff who were simply complying with the original terms of booking which aim to consider other guests in the hotel. Once again I regret that you felt this was not handled well and hope that you will accept the good intentions of the arrangement we set in place to welcome your group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ainthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

To often reviewers express opinion based upon one experience. I do this, too.
In this case, though, I can give a valid opinion based upon almost 8 years experience!
West Lodge is a fine find. Forget the Holiday Inns and the room over a pub....go for the enchanted garden, the shady seats, the cooing doves, the scented roses, Go for a cool glass of wine on the sunny patio, in seclusion. Go for a quiet and peaceful night's sleep in a comfortable, spotlessly clean room. Go for a relaxed breakfast with the genial host attending to your every need.......go for a stay at West Lodge.
I am risking it here a little. If too many go then I may not get my room!
Thank you both, Mike and Julie, for another great stay. You have proved that it is possible to run a hotel business based upon quality and attention to detail.....not just for a month, but year on year. May your time at West Lodge be long and may you and your family prosper......altruist me!

Room Tip: Choose a chalet for immediate access to the garden and no stairs. Get Julie to cook dinner for your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tectak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta, Europe
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

My husband and I were lucky enough to spend 6 nights at this lovely hotel. Very homely and welcoming - definitely home from home. The owners are very friendly and we loved our room with its Laura Ashley style decor. The abundant cooked breakfast was a lovely treat every morning along with everything else that was on offer including fresh fruit in season. Our one regret was that we couldn't enjoy the garden more as it rained every single day throughout our stay. Looking forward to going back soon. Aldo & Charlotte

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schembri_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aston Clinton
2.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
492 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#3 of 6 in Aylesbury
730 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
9.2 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
549 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Tring Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lodge Hotel

Property: West Lodge Hotel
Address: 45 London Road, Aston Clinton HP22 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aston Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aston Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — West Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Lodge Hotel, near Aylesbury, was originally a 19th century Lodge House and part of the Rothschild Estate. Privately owned, West Lodge has been sympathetically restored with an eye for detail and comfort. An ideal location for small weddings, functions, private parties, business conferences or those guests attending local courses at ESRI, RAF Halton, Green Park, Aylesbury and Grendon Underwood Prison Training Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your West Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hotel Aston Clinton
West Hotel Aylesbury
West Lodge Hotel Aston Clinton, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing