We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing was too much trouble”
Review of West Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aston Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The room was clean and comfortable and we had a lovely stay and would definitely come back.
Fab cooked breakfast in delightful surroundings. The gaden was beautiful and very tranquil with garden furniture where you could sit and read the Sunday papers or have a coffee.

Room Tip: Garden rooms very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeb29, Manager at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Many thanks for the feedback - it is always greatly appreciated and I'll pass your kind comments on to everyone involved. Best regards Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2013

From the first phone call to book and explain our requirements, the service was first class. Our rooms were light, bright, clean with thoughtful extras. Particularly handy was the 4 gang socket to charge everything! Food excellent with fresh berries at breakfast and the everything else from local suppliers. We will definitely try to stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oaptobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you - your kind feedback is much appreciated. Many thanks mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Have just returned from a three night stay, We were made very welcome, the rooms were perfect, beautifully dressed, clean and warm.
Breakfast and evening meal served in delightful surroundings, the food was beautifully presented, cooked to a high standard, local and delicious. All in all a great experience and I would not hesitate to recommend West Lodge and I look forward to repeating the experience in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you - we really enjoyed having you and your friends to stay and hope to see you again in the future! Very best regards mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed as friend was having birthday party in Anthony hall which is stone throw away so perfect location. Welcome and general helpfulness if the owners can't be beaten. We had 4month baby with us so one issue we had was that the main bed was SO creaky that it woke the baby when we moved. For the cost of £85 I would have liked a more sturdy feeling bed.

Breakfast was excellent and even kept warm for me when I had to leave the dinning room due to baby crying. Bacon they use is best hubby or I have ever eaten.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treacle1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Hi, thank you for your kind comments and i am so sorry to hear about the problems with the bed - a couple of screws needed tightening! Hope to see you all again soon. Very best regards mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Very comfortable extremely clean and thoughtfully furnished.
marvellous breakfast in thoroughly delightful conservatory with very friendly and capably efficient service. I would thoroughly recommend this lovely small hotel, in reality more a very nice guest house.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. The feedback is always greatly appreciated and hope to see you again. Many thanks Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Have just returned from enjoying a few days break at this hotel. The welcome was very friendly, room comfortable with every amenity, overlooking garden. Breakfast all home produced and delicious, did not have the chance to enjoy their evening meal, but am sure it would be up to their usual standard. Would stay again if in the area and can recommend it wholeheartedly. BrendaW

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments. It was a real pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us at West Lodge and hopefully we will see you again in the future. Very best regards Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stayed there for two weeks, the service and food was excellent.
The owners make you feel welcome and treat you as a person not just as a number.
Very flexible variations on meal times.
The room I was in, for single person is just fine, very clean and fresh.
Fantastic back garden.
I would go back any time and i would take my family for a nice break .
There is a map in every room , it tell you where about you could to go in the village.
The breakfast is brilliant.
In general i was enjoying the stay.
Thank you for a great service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Hi, thank you for the review and kind comments. Very much appreciated. Cheers Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aston Clinton
2.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
579 reviews
9.3 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
573 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#11 of 16 in Aylesbury
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
716 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
4.3 mi away
Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lodge Hotel

Address: 45 London Road, Aston Clinton, Aylesbury HP22 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury > Aston Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aston Clinton
Price Range: £87 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Lodge Hotel, near Aylesbury, was originally a 19th century Lodge House and part of the Rothschild Estate. Privately owned, West Lodge has been sympathetically restored with an eye for detail and comfort. An ideal location for small weddings, functions, private parties, business conferences or those guests attending local courses at ESRI, RAF Halton, Green Park, Aylesbury and Grendon Underwood Prison Training Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your West Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hotel Aston Clinton
West Hotel Aylesbury
West Lodge Hotel Aston Clinton, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing