We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
West Lodge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Premier Inn Tring Hotel(Tring)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hartwell House(Hartwell)
US$310
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
124
65
8
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
65
8
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsraf haltonjulie and mikeone nightlovely gardensmall hotelpassing out paradelocal arearear gardenroom was cleanlovely breakfastreceived a warm welcomepretty gardendefinately stay againbuffet tablehome from homesteep stairssingle room
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I was going to praise this Hotel for the Hospitality and quality of food.
Booked for B&B and also one evening meal. I thought the evening meal was a bit pricey for what we had.
However when we checked out I was surprised to find they had charged an extra £8.70 for my 2 night stay. When I queried this I was told that the cost of the evening meal was more than stated on the menu!
The owner then went away to check the menu and agreed I was correct and then said we had been shown an old menu and the price had gone up in the last 4 weeks.He did say that he had now reduced the cost. However it still came to more than I expected and the answer for this was they had charged a service fee!There was NO mention of a service fee on the menu.
I feel this an underhand tactic and completely spoiled my stay.others beware.

Room Tip: Downgraded service to terrible after my experience at the end of stay.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

We are very sorry that your lovely stay with us was marred by a small error on your bill of £2pp. As was explained at the time, our 2 course dinner menu has recently increased from £18 to £20 and unfortunately the old menu template was used in preparing the dinner menu specially for you that evening. We were very happy to reimburse this at check out. The service charge is clearly stated at the foot of the menu but again, we offered to remove it, although you were happy with the service you had received. Although invoice errors are highly unusual, we always run through the contents with guests and welcome the opportunity to resolve any issues at the time. We thank you for bringing it to our attention and do hope that, in time, you will reflect on the other aspects which we understand contributed to a very pleasant stay. Best regards Julie and Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The owner was very friendly, helpful and I really enjoyed my stay. The room was clean, tidy, comfortable and had all essential amenities. Breakfast was served in the conservatory facing onto a pretty garden. The breakfast itself was delicious - they used eggs from the local free range chickens for the scrambled eggs. l would definitely stay here again over a chain hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Selina01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for your comments - very much appreciated and hope we see you again!
Very best regards mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were attending my cousin's Ruby Wedding meal at a local restaurant so wanted somewhere just for one night. We found the West Lodge on Tripadvisor and were so glad we did. We were shown to one of the rooms in the beautiful garden which had everything you could want. It was a very warm weekend and as soon as I mentioned this the owner delivered a fan and asked if we would like a drink, which he delivered to our room - the hotel is licensed. Everything was spotlessly clean and the shower piping hot. Breakfast next morning was excellent with local bacon and free range eggs and any requests were met immediately. A shame we were only spending one night as the garden is lovely and well worth spending some time in. Any downsides? Only one, we are used to a 6' bed at home so found the double in our room rather small but this doesn't take anything away from what is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Hi, thank you for your kind comments - we always appreciate the feedback. Hope to see you again! Very best regards mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We found the west lodge hotel very nice.lovely clean double room over looking a well kept garden it was just a shame we did,nt get time to enjoy the garden as it was just a one night stop over.we picked this hotel as it was so close to the RAF base Holton(8 minutes away)as we wanted somewhere close by as our daughter was graduating from Holton the next day.would love to stay there again & for longer next time.breakfast was spot on,very friendly people.Well worth a visit.A&J Hughes

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Hi, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback - it is always greatly appreciated. Hope we get the chance to see you again. Very best regards mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

At first we were slightly puzzled as to why this place is rated so highly on Trippy. It’s a much extended Victorian lodge with a lot of the feel of a thirties semi. The floral carpet, woodchip and anaglypta came as a contrast to our previous night in a “stately home” hotel. The melange of artificial scents used in the cleaning products and laundry needed the prompt clearance of an open window. BUT the bathroom and bedroom were freshly decorated and spotlessly clean with everything you could want and the bed comfortable. The night itself was quiet.

What really gets this place the stars is the people. At under a dozen rooms it’s a proper owner-managed hotel of a size you don’t see so much these days. So grumpy owners would make your stay horrible – but these people are lovely, friendly and passionate to do a good job. It’s the kind of place where you can ask for “coffee on the strong side please” and know you’ll get it, and where they check that the boiled egg you ordered turned out just how you wanted it. Breakfast only (and jolly good too) but two good restaurants in strolling distance for dinner. Chic and luxurious it is not; good value, comfortable and welcoming – absolutely.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jandelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your impressions of West Lodge. We are so pleased that you appreciated some of the quainter aspects and the high standards we maintain. Of course, as a nine room converted lodge house, there are certainly comparisons to be made with a large stately home! (Having said that we're still looking for the floral carpet!)

However we are confident that our room tariff and marketing information attracts guests looking for a small character hotel with a high level of hospitality.

Best regards

Julie and Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews