We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy”
Review of West Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aston Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

A warm welcome awaits at West Lodge! We had rang ahead to book and make sure our rooms would be on ground level as my elderly grandmother has difficulty walking, especially up stairs. We were told there were only 2 steps to our rooms that were located at the bottom of the garden facing the main building. We were quickly checked in and shown to our rooms and helped with our bags. The heating was on and the rooms were very inviting! We booked 3 rooms, one double for one night and a double and twin for 2 nights. We could not have been more comfortable. Nothing was a problem for the owners. We were visiting a nearby RAF airbase and advised on best routes and places of interest. The beds were comfortable and warm. The bathroom was clean and modern. Breakfast was tasty, filling and cooked to order. A quaint and homely hotel that we wouldn't hesitate to visit again! Well done Julie & Mike!!

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank MRachel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

It was a real pleasure to see you at West Lodge - thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and hope to see you again soon. Very best regards Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

Just a single night stopover. Hotel was quiet, clean and comfortable, room was reasonably modern and the welcome was pleasant and uncomplicated. Bed was very comfortable with all the usual extras you would expect of a hotel in this price range.
My only criticism would be the shower, it takes an age before hot water starts to flow and with very little pressure resulting in a "shower dance" to get wet all over!
Internet connection is reasonably fast and reliable enabling troubling free connection for work and email updates etc.
Breakfast was delicious and varied with excellent service, in sharp contrast to lasts nights meal at the Bell inn.
Overall a very well appointed, clean an comfotable hotel, fully justifying its rating and in my view deserves more credit. Will definately stay again if I find myself in this area again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Cynddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

A magical place to hold a special event. The owners make the event run like clockwork with no stress for the host. The food is fantastic. I choose to have the food served on silver trays carried by the hotel waiters. There was ample food for all my guests with each tray bringing a new delight. There is warmth and charm in the venue with ambient lighting, champagne for guests on arrival, chaise long in the lobby, lovely views over the garden. If you are looking for a special place to celebrate an important event then look no further.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I have stayed at West Lodge twice in 11 weeks as my daughter was training then graduating nearby.
The hosts are charming and were particularly kind on my first trip when a local cab company let me down and they drove me to a time dependent appointment at RAF Halton.
On both occasions my room was clean, warm and very cosy.
Beautiful thick towels and bed linen. Breakfast fantastic so much choice.
This is such good value as it so lovely , Any one looking to stay in this area look no further.

Thank You for making me feel so welcome.CM

Room Tip: Very Near to RAF Halton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Second stay here, and will visit again. Rooms well furnished with everything I needed including comprehensive hospitality tray.

Made very welcome by Julie who showed me to my room and ensured everything was in order.

Best part of the stay was the cooked breakfast made to order with local ingredients. Real bacon served with the rind on, just as it should be.

It's obvious to me that the owners, Julie and Mike, really make a lot of effort to ensure guests have the best stay possible.

Locally, I would recommend the Thai restaurant up the road. Food and service excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gortonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

West Lodge is a truly charming building with a great deal of history and character, and is very comfortable inside. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and had an excellent dinner in the lovely dining room with views out over the pretty garden. Breakfast was equally enjoyable!

Julie and Mike are extremely good hosts who make you feel very much at home.

The hotel is very well situated for local attractions and with the delightful town of Wendover almost on the doorstep. We look forward to staying at West Lodge again.

Room Tip: Room 3, being at the back of the building, was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

just back from our second stayat west lodge good rooms good food and very helpful stayed here because it is very handy for raf halton a 5 minute drive good pub over the road the bell for meals and a decent pint cheers

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickeymoustache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aston Clinton
2.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
553 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#10 of 16 in Aylesbury
760 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
701 reviews
9.2 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
567 reviews
1.7 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lodge Hotel

Address: 45 London Road, Aston Clinton, Aylesbury HP22 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury > Aston Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aston Clinton
Price Range: £87 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Lodge Hotel, near Aylesbury, was originally a 19th century Lodge House and part of the Rothschild Estate. Privately owned, West Lodge has been sympathetically restored with an eye for detail and comfort. An ideal location for small weddings, functions, private parties, business conferences or those guests attending local courses at ESRI, RAF Halton, Green Park, Aylesbury and Grendon Underwood Prison Training Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your West Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hotel Aston Clinton
West Hotel Aylesbury
West Lodge Hotel Aston Clinton, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing