We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“70th Birthday Party”
Review of West Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aston Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“70th Birthday Party”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

After researching many 'corporate' hotels in Bucks, we hired all 9 rooms at West Lodge for my birthday. 40 guests from France, USA and UK.
Julie and Mike (owners) were very helpful in the initial planning and organising the finger buffet and drinks on the night. The whole evening went like clockwork. (they have done many weddings and parties before)
As no other guests there, so we had friends on guitars and me on drums and the evening was better than even I expected.
Comments from friends say it was like our own country house party and with the delightful gardens well lit, was relaxing and enjoyed by all. Everyone commented on the expansive breakfast selection.
Highly recommended for social, weddings and business stays. 75th birthday there next!
Mike and Lesley, Aylesbury.

Room Tip: Try the garden rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    59
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
36
84
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have just had a great time at West Lodge which a friend booked for a 70th birthday party. He had booked all the rooms so there was no chance of annoying other guests. The hosts were very accomodating and everyone had a good time. Our room was a little small for a double but was perfectly adequate for a one night stay. the room was clean and the breakfast very good indeed.

Room Tip: We did not get a chance to see them but the Garden Rooms were well liked by members of ou party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cockfosters-couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We were heading for Tring to look for a place to stay for one night, we missed the turn and came across West Lodge. This was the perfect small hotel. The rooms were pleasant and clean the owners friendly , the breakfast excellent and the room rates were reasonable. We occupied a pleasant double room and our friend a beautiful ground floor single room with a view of the garden, ideal for anyone less mobile. The location is excellent with a very good pub almost opposite serving food throughout the day, ideal for an evening meal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay. The hosts Mike and Julie are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.. Our room was excellent we stayed in one of the larger garden rooms. The room was clean with good wif. There was a wide choice at breakfast . We ate one night at the hotel and it was excellent. The location is good for visiting Bletchley and St Albans etc. We have stayed in many hotels and this was one of the best. We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enid4551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you! Look forward to seeing you again. Very best regards Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The rooms are comfortable and cosy. There is a lovely garden to sit in and the breakfast was very good. The owners were very welcoming and friendly and we greatly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is quirky and historic and we had a very peaceful night.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frances_hare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi, thank you for your kind comments. Really pleased you were able to enjoy the garden. Hope to see you again. Many thanks Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed twice at this friendly hotel recently. Firstly in January when our daughter started her basic training at close by RAF Halton. Had such a good night sleep and lovely breakfast that we booked two rooms for the night before her Graduation Parade in March 2014.
Again the owners were very helpful and another great breakfast, nice touch allowing us to keep use of our rooms right up until 11.00am when we need to leave fro RAF Halton which is less than 5 mins away.
If you need a stay over for the same reason as us then we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stafford404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi, thank you for your kind comments. We really appreciate getting feedback. Hope you had a safe trip back and we get to see you again in the future. Very best regards Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I booked in here last minute following a disastrous stay the night before at a different hotel. We were a little bit worried what to expect after such a bad experience but West Lodge Hotel turned out to be a bit of a gem!

This was a welcome contrast - friendly, comfortable, with a key attention to details. On arrival we were warmly welcomed and showed to our room. We were shown places to eat in the local area on a map and helped with our bags.

Our room was welcoming with quality bed linen and towels.

While the bathroom lacked a bath, it was comfortable with a good shower, it was clean and tidy which after our previous experience was a bonus! The bedroom was cosy and welcoming with good storage and space. There was a good selection of tea/coffee making bits and an extension lead was thoughtfully supplied to address the lack of plug sockets (which was ideal for a couple with a ridiculous number of work ipads/laptops).

The location was very good and that night we ate in a lovely pub across the road, although we were lucky to get a table and I would recommend booking if you are there at a weekend.

Internet speed was fab and we were able to watch netflix in our room.

Breakfast was good quality with local produce and meat. It was generous and high quality considering the £70 cost of the room.

Overall we were thrilled with this find as they made up for the dreadful previous night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeb29, Owner at West Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hi, many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback - always greatly appreciated! Hope to see you again in the near future. Very best regards Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aston Clinton
9.2 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
2.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Aylesbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#3 of 6 in Aylesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
1.7 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lodge Hotel

Property: West Lodge Hotel
Address: 45 London Road, Aston Clinton HP22 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aston Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aston Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — West Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Lodge Hotel, near Aylesbury, was originally a 19th century Lodge House and part of the Rothschild Estate. Privately owned, West Lodge has been sympathetically restored with an eye for detail and comfort. An ideal location for small weddings, functions, private parties, business conferences or those guests attending local courses at ESRI, RAF Halton, Green Park, Aylesbury and Grendon Underwood Prison Training Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hotel Aston Clinton
West Hotel Aylesbury
West Lodge Hotel Aston Clinton, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing