We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb family hotel - one of the best we've stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lopesan Baobab Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb family hotel - one of the best we've stayed in!”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We've just returned from a fabulous 10 days at the Baobab with our 2 kids (aged 6 & 4) and it really is a fantastic family hotel. The hotel is beautifully laid out and really does look as good in reality as the many photos you see of it. We found it to be really well maintained and very clean.

We had a standard room and our daughters shared the pull out sofa bed which we kept up for our whole stay. We had plenty of room and storage space and were very happy with our room choice. The kids found the sofa bed very comfy (though I would question whether studier teenagers would be quite as comfortable on it as it seemed a little hard to me!) and we all slept really well. Our room overlooked the shopping centre & road so there was some traffic noise on the balcony, but we couldn't hear anything once the balcony door was closed. Unlike some other reviewers we didn't really notice any noise disturbance in the rooms either - there were a handful of occasions that I was aware of someone walking down the corridor and I think I heard a baby cry once but that was it! For such a large hotel it really did seem remarkably quiet and we've certainly stayed in noisier places. We did have to pay extra for the safe (€2.50 per day) and I agree it would be a nice touch if this was included but I was aware that it was an extra when I booked and having had a previous bad experience with stuff going missing from Spanish hotel rooms I was happy to pay it. My only tip for the hotel if they wanted to turn a great room into an outstanding one would be to subscribe to an English speaking kids channel for the TV as we could only get news - Cbeebies would have been the icing on the cake!

We were on a full board package and ate in both the buffet restaurants. The selection of food available was great and the fact that there was always meat/fish/eggs cooked in front of you was a really nice touch. They also do a slightly different 'theme' for dinner each evening, Spanish, Italian, African, Oriental which helped keep things fresh though the usual staples were still there for those that wanted them. There was plenty of choice for the kids too from plain grilled chicken/fish through to the usual nuggets & chips and spag bol. We found all the staff to be very friendly and welcoming, but occasionally the service was a bit mixed - we found we sometimes had to ask for drinks a couple of times before they came, or the waiter would bring the wine but not open it! Minor niggles really and all were swiftly sorted with a smile when we pointed them out. We did find after a while that the meals lacked a bit of variety, but I guess that's the downside of a full board package, there aren't many restaurants in the world I'd want to eat 30 meals in a row in! However, we did find on the couple of occasions that we ate out, the hotel food and service compared quite favourable to some of the other restaurants in the area!

The pool areas are out of this world! We managed to try every pool but our favourite was the round pool outside the African restaurant. Three of the pools were heated during our stay which was great for the kids as early in the season the water can be a bit cool. The others were all perfectly fine once you were in but did take your breath away at first. The kids also really enjoyed the beach areas of the pools (though it's actually fine shingle rather than sand) but they could still dig with their buckets & spades. The kids pool was great but did get quite busy. All the pools were clean and well maintained with plenty of sun loungers and facilities like toilets & showers close by. The hotel do ask clients not to reserve sun loungers and we found this was normally adhered to so there was no mad rush to get the best spot before breakfast. We only had one occasion in 10 days when we couldn't get 4 loungers next to our first choice of pool, but we had left it till about 11.30am before getting there. Most days we had the pick of where we wanted to be. The hotel provides pool towels and carry bags which can be exchanged for clean ones as often as you like which is a nice touch.

Our kids loved the entertainment programme with the mini disco being an absolute highlight for them. It definitely fell into the cheesy Europop category but they loved it and our 4 year old took an instant shine to 'Panchi' the resident dolphin character that appears for a nightly conga. They also took part in some of the activities laid on by the kids club (mask making, face painting etc) which they enjoyed, but we didn't leave them in the club unattended. To be honest, we just didn't feel the need, the hotel is so well thought out for families that it made having the kids around so easy that we just didn't want to offload them! The adult entertainment was a little more mixed, the flamenco act were great but some of the other cabaret acts were a little amateurish. For those that like their sport, the key games and events were shown which kept my hubby happy!

I really can't recommend this hotel highly enough for a family holiday, we loved our time here and were really impressed with both the hotel and what we've seen of the Lopesan chain, they really do seem to be an organisation committed to high standards and good service. I'm sure it won't be the last time we visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tildamai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear family

First of all we would like to express our sincerest gratitude that you have chosen our hotel for your family vacation and also for sharing your opinion with other travelers on Tripadvisor.
We highly appreciate your positive comments about your stay, especially about the food quality and selection, the friendliness of our staff and your appreciation about our family concept. We attach great importance to the well-being of families with children and we are very happy to hear that our efforts met with your expectations.

We would be delighted to welcome you again soon and remain

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,634
    1,280
    450
    136
    113
See reviews for
2,485
2,344
69
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (836)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We have just returned from a week' s stay in a Junior Suite (2 adults and 2 children aged 8&10)at this fantastic hotel! Check in was very friendly and efficient (gracias Eva) after a walk through the very impressive reception are with it's animal noises which the children loved! Our Junior suite on the 3rd floor had a magnificent view over the whole lower pool area and gardens with the famous dunes in the distance. The suite was spotlessly cleaned every day and the air con was the quietest we've come across yet. Fittings were first class and lighting was aplenty all around the suite. Lovely dressing gowns and towels changed as often as required. Chocolates on pillow a nice touch in evening.
The hotel is amazing! Attention to detail is everywhere From the life size animals to the speakers hidden in rocks in the immaculate gardens. But nothing was tacky and all enhanced the unusual African theme. Staff were all superb and all greeted you with a buenas Dias when passing you in the corridors. The same in the restaurant where nothing was too much trouble- fresh meats and fish cooked to your liking and drinks brought to your table with a smile almost immediately after they were ordered. The food in the buffet restaurant was quite simply superb. So much choice and all courses varied each night so I have no idea how anyone could find the evening buffet repetitive! Breakfast was more predictable but again so much choice of fruits, continental or cooked breakfasts and eggs and omelettes cooked to order. We sat outside for every meal which was really pleasant ( a pity that the hotel doesn't adopt a non smoking policy for all eating areas as some customers think nothing of blowing smoke over children eating at an adjacent table!)
We tried almost all pools and yes some are very cold but with children you just jump in with them! Our favourite was the heated pool near the Akara restaurant. Gr8 that pool towels provided and can be exchanged every day if required.
The surrounding area was very pleasant and we regularly walked (5 mins) down to the lighthouse and along the promenade in the evening. Timeshare touts were a bit of a pain but we found that speaking to them in Welsh left them silent as they had no answer for us!
Thomson/first choice staff pleasant but be aware that the PLatinum 30 min guaranteed 1st/2nd drop off does not apply to the return journey (over 1 hour via Playa d'Ingles) with loud untuned radio on bus!
A wonderful stay at the Baobab thanks to a well designed resort and great staff. We hope to return!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lewislw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Family,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for sharing your experiences in the Lopesan Baobab with other travellers.

We are very happy that you had such a good time with us and we are espacially glad about your positive valuation of our installations and particulary about your satisfaction with our staff and services. These qualities, as well as the mentioned care for details, are of great importance for us and we are deleighted that we met your expectations.

We also hope that you will return soon to give us the chance to provide you again an unforgettable stay and remain

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012 via mobile

We (my husband & our 13 year old daughter) had an amazing time at this African themed 5* hotel resort
Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and a offered a delicious refreshing fruit cocktail.
Our suitcases were delivered to our room direct from our taxi and there our wonderful holiday began. Our room was clean, spacious and plenty of space for our three suitcases of clothes!
We all enjoyed the wet room with a huge shower head and powerful spray - hot water was a plenty. Clean towels everyday & sheets changed regularly ( we stayed for 10 days).
The grounds, pools absolutely fantastic, though I must admit the pools were a little cold but ok once in! Plenty of sunbeds either in full sun or partial shade - no saving of sunbeds and friendly waiter service when needed. Food - great selection every night - meat/fish/salads/vegetables/bread/cheeses everything! Plenty of desserts though they were very sweet for my liking so I ate lots of great tasting fruit - I have developed a liking for papaya!
We were on half board so ate in the Pili Pili restaurant by the pool for lunch or walked into town (5mins) for a good choice of eateries.
Evening entertainment was ok but we were happy to sit on the balcony outside reception drinking cocktails or coffee and our daughter loved the hot chocolate!
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to everyone and would definitely go back again. We made some great friends especially Captain Nemo aka Mike, Evelyn & jasmine.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Anihanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear guest

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip to Gran Canaria and we appreciate that you shared your experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We are deleighted that our instalations and services met with your expectations. We also appriciate your poitive coments about our food and we are glad that our broad seleccion of fresh fruit animated you to discover a new “fruit experience”.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back on further occasions.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This is undoubtedly a family orientated complex used by UK, Spanish and other European customers - i.e. it's not English dominated. For the uninitiated, It is located in what you could describe as an up-market area
The kids entertainment team did a great job with plenty of energy and interest in the kids. There's a daily kids club and mini disco (except weekends) which it great for the kids - located near the kiddie's pool.
The staff and service is excellent; everyone if friendly and personable.
The restaurants serve good quality food; however there could with more variety at times. This is on;y a minor gripe as quite frankly after a few days I tend to get 'fed up' with eating anyway. The kids had no such qualms.
I would say that the hotel makes its profit on serving drinks - there seems to be no all-inclusive option so this is probably a fair assumption. You will find that you will pay UK prices, which can make for an expensive trip. Don't get me wrong I'm not that frugal, but if you're expecting the opportunity to find the odd cheaper bar in the area, forget it.
The prices in the resort seem to be standard, and if you travel to other resorts (Playa las Inglesis, Peurto Rico, etc) you will definitely pay less.
So, football fans, the chance to escape the hotel and watch your beloved team in a bar in a footy orientated paying Lanzarote or Tenerife prices (in my experience 1.50 - 3.00 euros for a large beer) doesn't exist. The resort has obviously fixed the local prices to keep it up-market.
Again not a big deal but a nice occasional option to have.

The hotel facilities are excellent (the gym could do with an update; yes it's sad we used it quite alot). The site is huge, and you therefore have plenty of options of where to sunbathe & swim, etc.
The entertainment is pretty conservative to be honest, i.e. standard fodder, but professionally done.
In summary, a great, well-run complex, providing a great family holiday in a safe and friendly environment.
The kids loved it.

Room Tip: There are a couple of nearby bars and one has a pretty noisy disco, licensed to 2.00am - if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Garvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear guests

First of all we would like to express our sincerest gratidud that you have chosen our hotel and also for sharing your opinion with other travelers on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for your nice words about your holidays in our hotel – we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We attach great importance to the well-being of families with children and we are very happy to hear that our efforts met with your expectations.

We would be delighted to welcome you again soon and remain

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed at the baobab over Easter 2012 for 2 weeks, it is a very large hotel with many pools and places to chill and soak up the sun, we struggled only once to get sun beds with parasols and this was at lunch time, this was a bonus not having to get up at 6.30am to reserve sun beds… so far so good!
Our room was very nice with enough room to relax and not get under each other feet, we shared our room with our 13 year old daughter, and the bathroom was fantastic with a large bath tub and very good shower, lots of hot water all day! The T.V only a few English channels, but all news! Good hairdryer so don’t take one, all in all good!
Pools were very good, but only a couple were heated, the best way to get in was jump or they felt a lot colder trying to steady yourself in, they were all very clean and not too busy, the lazy river is nice but not the most powerful so you still need to make a little effort! You can change your towels around the pool everyday if you want to, we tried to make ours do a couple of days.
Entertainment was OK! Through the day the adults and teenagers were combined and seemed to work well, the main activities were volley ball, water polo, water basket, football and a few others thrown in now and again, the small children seemed to be well looked after and had lots of fun, we were a group of teenagers and adults. Evening entertainment was to say the least not that good, only one or two over the 2 weeks entertained us, we mostly sat in the upstairs bar playing cards and relaxing and my daughter made lots of friends and went off with them to the disco bar downstairs.
The main restaurants are your typical Spanish buffet (all serving the same) with choice of cold meats and salads (varied everyday) Bread table, sweet counter and hot grill serving freshly cooked meats (pork, turkey, veal and chicken)and the fish grill (white fish varies, lobster, prawns and more) then several hot plates with various dishes, the down side to the grills is the odd chefs just do not have a clue how to cook the meats to your liking, they pretty much can get rare correct and it stops there, several times the two girls had to take back meat for it to be cooked longer, started to be a bit of a pain in the end, this was not such a problem with the veal steaks they served but when its pork and chicken I have a problem, so just be careful and check it! One of the chefs was very good let’s hope you get him? The deserts were great to look at but all quite tasteless, the usual ice-cream and fresh fruit, mouse and jelly was always out, the chocolate brownies were quite good especially on the chocolate fountain nights, chocolate lovers beware you may put a few pounds on! Service in the restaurant depended on who was on that area, sometimes they were slow and miserable and some happy and just got on with it? We ate out a couple of times just to have something different.
The other two restaurants you had to pay for, we ate in the Piri piri restaurant which was ok, but nothing more special than you could eat in the restaurant and the other we just did not bother!
The drinks were quite expensive, cocktails 6 euros, fizzy drinks 2.60, water 2.10 and so on, for the 2 weeks our bar bill just for the restaurants and a couple of drinks on the night came out at 750 euros, quite a lot to add on, the local supermarket 5 mins walk sold large bottles of pop for just over the 1 euro, we kept it in the fridge in the room.
All in all a good holiday with a few disappointments….. would we go again?….. not sure we would probably go to a different hotel! The hotel is probably 4 stars, if the restaurant was better I would have agreed with the 5 stars it advertises at. Could do with a couple of different restaurants which don’t charge extra to eat in them, the teenagers missed pizza and burgers and all the usual!
Forgot to say the beach around the pool is small pieces of white stones not sand... another disappointment!

Room Tip: Ask for a central room it is a very big hotel, the rooms we had 0117 and 0118, ground floor were in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jofrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear guests

Once again thanks a lot for your recent stay & confidence in our services and facilities, and making now a little time effort so as to share through this public touristic web your feelings about us.

We appreciate your positive comments about our rooms and installations but also your critical observations regarding other aspects of the hotel, all of which help us to constantly solve any possible future inconvenience regarding the subjects you consider need to be looked through.

We have already forwarded your coments to the respective depart managers, please be assured that they will examine each and every coment very carefully.

Although you have posted that you probably would not coming back since you prefer to try also other hotels, we would love to welcome you again at our hotel.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I just spent a wonderful week at the Baobab with my husband & 2 young children. The hotel was perfect for families (I'd perhaps say it was more suited to families than couples) and there was lots going on to keep the children entertained. Our 5 yr old used the kids club a couple of times and really enjoyed the evening discos. The children's pool was good although small (kids over the age of 7 would probably be too big for this area) Visually the hotel looked amazing, the grounds were very well looked after and there were so many pools that 1 week wasn't long enough to try them all out!
We ate in the 2 buffet restaurants - the selection of food was excellent. Every evening there was a choice of 2 meats & 2 fish that would be freshly cooked for you & the rest of the buffet seemed to vary every day. We also ate lunch at the Pili Pili & really enjoyed it, such a relaxed place for lunch in the sun. We ate out a couple of lunch times & evenings as well (even with a varied buffet it was still nice to leave the hotel & go to a different restaurant!) - Sushimex (nice for lunch) Casa Lola (this was ok but a but nothing special) Pampa (in a shopping centre but really nice food) and El Senador (this was lovely, great Spanish food).
The bars at the hotel were good - never had a problem getting waiter service (even at the pool).
The rooms at the hotel were nice - cleaning of them could have been a bit more thorough.
On the whole the staff were friendly & helpful - as always there were a few people who could have been better but in a hotel of this size that will always be the case!
We really enjoyed our stay here & would return again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vth0ms0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear guests

We would wish to thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel and to share your experiences on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to hear that you fully enjoyed your holidays and that you have been satisfied with our services and installations, especially with our efforts towards the childrens animation and the quality of our food.

It has been a real pleasure to have you with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Ensure you view the numerous photographs on Tripadvisor as they'll give you a good insight into what the hotel looks like. My wife, daughter Jasmine aged 7 and I stayed in the Baobab between 7 and 14 April. Must admit we did have some misconceptions about visiting Gran Canaria but all these were quickly dispelled. I agree with Alan J's review dated 14 April, i.e. people who write negative comments about this hotel should be banned from writing reviews! However, the old adage applies, "you can make some of the people happy some of the time but not all of the people all of the time". From a personal point of view we found the hotel was lovely and deserves top marks all round. We left our sofa bed out all week as our daughter was sleeping in/on it and still had plenty of room, that is when we were in the room. Our view is we use the room to sleep in and for showering/changing clothes, we are not spending all our waking hours in there! Bathroom layout is great as the toilet is separate so no queues! Bath was like a mini swimming pool with a marvellous shower. Daughter loved the animals dotted around the resort, one quibble being we could not find a lion! It is a tad gloomy in the hotel but I found that if I took off my sunglasses when entering the main building it was bright enough. Food and restaurants were lovely. Daughter is a fussy eater but we couldn't stop her eating so that must say something. Staff from reception, through the bars, the restaurants and cleaning ladies were all lovely, helpful, pleasant and professional. Language can be a problem although one young lady on reception advised me she can speak 6 languages which puts me to shame with my one (and not very good) language! Loved the furniture dotted around, different styles of chairs which my daughter insisted I photograph her on as she was quite taken by them as well. Grounds are beautiful, lovely shrubs and trees and all well maintained and the area clean with no litter, although guests could take their rubbish with them from the pool areas especially when it is windy as the litter tends to blow around the place. Pools are great, large and all different. My daughter delighted in trying different pools everyday. The entrance to the Hotel and the Lodge were my favourite areas, day or night! The sound of the falling water, the size of the structures, the walkways, the flamingoes etc. The surrounding area is safe, clean and lovely for strolling around but watch out for the "timeshare" touts who claim they are not "timeshare" touts! Melonares is lovely for strolling or shopping. Many great shops on the doorstep with an amble through the Varadero Shopping Centre taking one down to the sea front and various boutiques and restaurants. Lovely paved walk way down by the sea and, look up, we had the pleasure of watching a Kestrel hovering looking for his lunch! Took a day trip down to Mogan which is an old picturesque fishing village about 1/2 an hour along the coast. Pretty place and also the embarkation point for a submarine ride which my daughter loved. People on here often moan about the Baobob being for families and I agree. However, if you are a couple with no children try the Costa Melonares across the road. A bit more staid with again beautiful grounds and an amazing looking pool. All in all a lovely holiday in a lovely hotel which the three of us thoroughly enjoyed. This was helped by the lovely people we met, Jasmine met Ella and they were glued together all week which was most enjoyable to observe. Ella's family were great as were Ian and Anita and their daughter Hannah, we all shared many a laugh. Plus other people we chatted with, be they British, American or German, all were very nice people.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a Block 9 ground floor room and you'll have your own individual plunge pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MickeyC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guests

It has been an honour for us welcoming you at the Lopesan Baobab Resort and we would like to thank you for posting your opinions and impressions on Tripadvisor.

Thank you very much for your praise of our hotel and staff. Reading your coments has been a real pleasure for us and we are deleighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

Our target has always been to provide the best posible holiday experience to our guests and we are glad that we achieved that objective with you and your family.

We are very much looking forward to your next stay with us and remain

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meloneras
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.4 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
0.2 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,107 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,633 reviews
4.1 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lopesan Baobab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopesan Baobab Resort

Property: Lopesan Baobab Resort
Address: Mar Adriatico, 1, 35100 Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Meloneras
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lopesan Baobab Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 677
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lopesan Baobab Resort Location Exclusive luxury Lopesan Baobab Resort was inaugurated in 2009; it is located in the south of the island of Gran Canaria, in the exclusive Meloneras holiday area, just a few walking minutes away from the extensive, several kilometres long, Maspalomas beach and the impressive landscape of sand dunes. Famous Maspalomas lighthouse is situated nearby, as well as the long coastside promenade. ExpoMeloneras Convention Centre is also located only a few steps away from the hotel. General description Five-star hotel Lopesan Baobab Resort has become one of the preferred destinations for family holidays of Spanish national tourists. Thanks to the uniqueness of its architecture inspired by the African continent, its impressive water landscapes with pools, rivers and waterfalls, as well as the high quality services offered, this hotel shows off ethnic charm, modernity and refinement. The hotel’s main entrance leads guests over a picturesque wooden bridge to the reception area, passing a grandiose aquatic landscape with waterfalls. From the lobby you can reach the hotel rooms or the large garden area, on a surface of 56,000 square metres, in the centre of which a large 21 metres high wooden African lodge is located; this lodge houses a restaurant and a bar. Common areas are connected by an extensive sheet of water crisscrossed by small bridges. In total there are nine swimming pools (all of them heatable at different temperatures) covering a total surface of 4,245 square metres. Specially outstanding are: the “lazy river”, two artificial beaches, pools with waterfalls and caves, the “chocolate” pool (the name of which refers to its brown colour) and the “two palm trees” pool, as well as a pool with water attractions for children and babies. The hotel’s leisure and recreation areas are enriched even more by a complete entertainment programme with a variety of activities during the day and in the evenings. Materials used for the hotel’s interior decoration and design were carefully chosen searching the appropriate item for every single corner of the hotel complex. On the walls of the hotel’s buffet restaurants guests will appreciate layers of natural coconut and wooden bricks, as well as French porcelain stoneware on the floors of the pool areas. Regarding the hotel rooms an exquisite finishing with high-quality woodwork and sound insulation was chosen. Other materials which can be found around the hotel are dry bamboo, die-cut steel or coloured mortar with added shredded straw to simulate adobe. Rooms The rooms’ interior design carefully combines colour schemes and African ambience. The Lopesan Baobab was built on a plot of 72,000 square metres with a total of 522 standard double rooms, 8 of them modified for guests with limited mobility and 17 deluxe double rooms with pool, perfect for guests looking for privacy, romanticism and/or relaxation; there are also 55 family doubles and 15 family doubles with direct access to the “chocolate” and the “two palm trees” pools, as well as 8 superior double rooms, 40 junior suites, 20 senior suites and 1 royal suite. There is no doubt that the hotel’s different room categories can meet any requirement or need guests may have, since they can choose from comfortable standard rooms, spacious family rooms, luxury rooms or magnificent suites for young and old. All rooms offer excellent views which vary depending on their location, as for example beautiful panoramic views on the dunes, on the nearby palm oasis, on the hotel’s garden area or the island’s mountain landscape. Gastronomy The Lopesan Baobab Resort offers high quality cuisine in all restaurants, characterized by an elevated level of creativity. For this purpose the hotel’s select kitchen staff puts special emphasis on using the best products and on preparing them in presence of the hotel guests. The ‘Akara’ Restaurant is only open for dinner and its name refers to an African recipe; it offers flavours from the very heart of Africa with a menu committed to originality. The hotel’s second a la carte restaurant is the ‘Pili Pili’ Restaurant, open at lunchtime and specialised in paellas, seafood and grilled meat. Furthermore, there are two buffet restaurants, the ’Marula’ and the ‘Baobab’, the premises of which are conveniently separated to provide differentiated atmospheres where delicacies from international occidental cuisine are served. The restaurants’ wine cellar provides an excellent selection of the finest wines from around the world as a complement to the great gastronomic offer. The hotel also hosts five bars, two of them located in the pool areas; Henry Stanley bar and Mungo Park Bar complete the resort’s restaurant and bar options. Leisure and sports activities The hotel has at its guests’ disposal a complete and varied entertainment programme, offering something for everybody. Many of the organised activities take place during the day and in the evenings, when it’s just the right time to have a drink or enjoy professional shows on the hotel’s outdoor plaza, on a specially designed stage, next to the magnificent African lodge. Furthermore the resort offers a fully-equipped gym and a varied wellness programme, as well as other activities for sports fans. For golf fans the golf courses of Meloneras Golf and Maspalomas Golf are available and a free bus shuttle service to these golf courses is provided by the hotel. For the little hotel guests fun is guaranteed at the hotel’s Panchi World Mini-Club with a stage and two pools for children, one of them with a water-slide. The Lopesan Baobab Resort also houses specially equipped rooms for conferences, conventions and events with highly functional and stylish facilities which can be easily modified and adapted to hold particular events. The hotel’s large panoramic ‘Karisimbi’ room is specially outstanding with a size of 1,002 square metres and a capacity for 800 persons, the perfect choice for any kind of celebration, conference or event. To complete the hotel’s range of services there are, among others, a hairdressing salon with beauty treatments and massages, a boutique & souvenir shop and a private parking area (with extra charge), as well as a babysitter/nanny service (with extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lopesan Baobab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lopesan Baobab Hotel Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing