We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice - a mostly excellent stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lopesan Baobab Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We chose this on a friend’s recommendation, backed up by the positive TA reviews. So imagine our surprise as the Thomson coach drew up to what looked like a huge block of council flats, and us muttering “let’s hope this isn’t it”...but it WAS!

Actually it turned out to be very good. Some of the architectural detail remained hard to love, in particular the huge Soviet style glass-plated function room that bridged the hotel entrance, that clashed with what we came to see was the overall impressive jungle idea of the hotel.

Check in was speedy, although we didn’t get the garden view room we had requested (apparently this usually costs extra, but also all occupied in any case). The staff all seemed friendly and helpful, giving the place a good vibe.

“Dark” is though certainly a feature of much of the interior, including the atmospheric walkways to the rooms with their jungle theme (some with small ponds with fish and turtles).

This includes the bedrooms too: pretty comfortable and a good size, though being unusually long had quite a lot less daylight than most we’ve stayed in. Also an odd feature is the open-plan bathroom that you walk straight into from the outside corridor with a walled-off toilet on one side and separate wet-room with shower and BIG bath the other side.

The sound insulation between rooms was poor, perhaps the only real criticism, but in practice not a big issue for us…and we hope for our neighbours too! You have to pay to use the room-safe, only mildly irksome, but we didn’t use it as the hotel seemed pretty safe and secure. There’s no kettle or cups but we knew this from the reviews and took our own.

We went half-board and chose the main buffet restaurant for all our breakfasts and evening meals. This was truly excellent, with a big outside seating area on a platform by a pond feature with “African bush” opposite - palm and baobab trees, complete with model giraffes, crocodiles and real-life tweetering birds, candle-lit tables etc - all giving a very relaxed, special holiday feel. The inside table and serving area was nicely calm and intimate too – nothing like the bright clattering experience you might expect in a hotel this size. Coupled with great service this was one of the best hotel restaurant “ambiences” we’ve ever experienced, and certainly of those we’ve stayed in the Canary islands.

Food quality and variety was mostly very good, great salads, tasty side dishes, main courses (some cooked in front of you), big choice of breads, dessert, fruit, cheeses etc, and with some themed nights (SE Asian, Indian etc). Breakfast options equally wide ranging, the only minor issue being the hot water for the big range of teas on offer being not quite hot enough. There is an another adjacent big buffet restaurant that serves exactly the same food, but apparently was more geared to younger families.

The grounds were a great feature of the hotel, beautifully landscaped with lots of trees, flowers etc with a very quiet and peaceful feel, aside from some of the activity times, but even then noise was never intrusive. The main river-style pool circuit, with some wider beach sections, works very well scenically – though the water here was a bit on the cool side for us. There are a couple of separate pools, including quite a sizeable and notably warmer (guess 30C-ish) one just by the central bar/entertainment areas that we used the most. We never had a problem getting a sunbed.

The hotel’s location is also good, set back “one hotel row” from the scenic Meloneras sea-front promenade with its upmarket bars and restaurants, all a pleasant 5 minute walk away, and 10-15 minutes to the edge of the main Maspalomas beach and atmospheric dunes, again along quiet roads/walkways. There’s also a bus station (but a nice small one!) about 5 minutes walk away with a good range of direct, pretty regular and good value services to Playa del Ingles, Puerto de Mogan, Las Palmas, the airport etc.

Scandinavians seemed to make up the majority of the other guests when we were there, followed by Germans and then Brits, that suited us fine. There were also quite a lot of families with pre-school children, that the hotel seemed to cater for particularly well, without this intruding on the overall peace and quiet.

We stayed 11 nights and were sad to leave after a great relaxing holiday and would certainly be happy to return – ideally getting a garden/pool view room next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank David Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear David Lee,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and also for taking time for writting this kind and detailed review.
We are happy to have met your expectations. We are very proud of our African theme and it is always nice to hear that our guests also enjoy it.
We would just like to mention that we have kettles on request for our guests.
We are very much looking forward welcoming you back soon.
With best regards,
Begoña Ramírez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,722)
There are newer reviews for Lopesan Baobab Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,150 - 2,156 of 5,724 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

Relaxing week at this quirky African themed hotel. Lovely clean room, with a pool and sea view. Great selection of food available on the half board option with varied selections each evening. Heated pools within large landscaped gardens.
Negatives were: tea/coffee facilities not supplied, lack of English TV

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank iandurband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear iandurband,
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and also that you have found the time to valuate us on Tripadvisor.
We will like to comment that of course we provide tea/coffee facilities. It has a weekly charge.
We hope that you will visit us again in the near future and remain
Withy best regards
Begoña Ramírez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had a lovely relaxing stay, it is well located, shops nearby from designer to more regular market areas. The African theme is well presented, loved the turtles and the Jungle and of course the baobab trees. However, in the room was surprised there were cracks in the bath where something perhaps had been dropped in it, looked a bit unsightly. The shower head looked a little mouldy. I think there were some cracked tiles somewhere in the room. Some areas of the corridors had peeling wallpaper. We requested a double bed, as we usually have this in other 5* hotels but we got twins beds pushed together. The duvet did not seem quite adequate for this purpose. TV lacks English channels and had more German film channels. There was no music channel or radio, some hotels have ipod docks so people can listen to their own music (quietly of course) in their rooms or at least charge up for taking to the beach or pool.
That said, this is a lovely unusual hotel and the bars and relaxation areas, pools and gardens were stunning, the food in the restaurant provided plenty of choice and was delicious. It was lovely and quiet, only one incident of some loud people at 2am but I wasn't sure if they were in the hotel or down by the shops below as this is what we overlooked. Towards the end of our stay there were some rather noisy young children in the restaurants which was a bit distracting and we were glad to be going home as this spoiled the ambience a bit. At the beginning they seemed to be more in the family areas which seemed a better idea. I possibly would not stay here again but that is probably because I would choose a couples hotel in future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jill Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Jill Angela B,
First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the Lopesan Baobab Resort for your recent stay in Grana Canaria and also for sharing your experiences with other travelers.
We are glad that the better part of your evaluation has been positive but we are also thankful for mentioning the things that from your point of view have to be improved, so that we can work on an even higher customer satisfaction.
We hope that you will give us a second chance and that we can welcome you again with us on a future stay in Gran Canaria.
Best regards
Begoña Ramírez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Baobab is a large African themed hotel set back from the waterfront at Maspalomas. It is a great hotel for couples or families. The food is good as are the garden and swimming areas so it is easy to relax. Staff are friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Duncan Clark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Duncan Clark M,
Thank you very much for your fantastic review and for have chosen us for your recent holidays.
It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable winter break with us and we would love to welcome you back soon in the Lopesan Baobab Resort.
With best regards
Begoña Ramírez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We have stayed in the hotel twice and both years it has been perfect. Great rooms, great food, amazing staff all contributing to an amazing holiday. Last year this type of holiday was new to us, but we were very keen to come back and are already talking about next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank George Philip A... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear George Philip A... B,
Thank you very much for visiting our hotel again and also for your loyalty to the Lopesan Baobab Resort.
We are glad that you have experienced a again a perfect holiday and hope to welcome you soon for the 3rd time.
Best regards
Begoña Ramírez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Great hotel which I would recommend. We were here for 10 days and the food whilst good quality became repetitive. The hotel needs to upgrade its wifi offering. Far too slow and at times unusable. The small gym lacks a sauna and steam room - given this is a 5 star hotel. Pool and gardens are great as are the rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear S H,
First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the Lopesan baobab resort for your recent holidays and also for sharing your opinion on the web.
We are happy that you had a good time with us. I would like to mention that we don't have Wellness Center (we recommend our guest to use the facilities in our sister hotel Lopesan Costa Meloneras or Lopesan Villa del Conde).
Regarding the internet comment we would like to inform you that we are working at the moment on a second free WiFi line, so we hope that the problems with the connectivity will be solved soon.
With best regards
Begoña Ramírez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel as a couple. We pulled up to the hotel and first impressions were wow! Amazing hotel, loved the African theme, reception was huge, lovely reception staff.
Room was really great, spotlessly clean and modern, we were above the restaurant overlooking one of the pools. Couldn't fault the room apart from not having a kettle!
The resort itself is gorgeous, again so clean, lovely pool areas with a lazy river and places to sit and relax in the sun with a drink!
The buffet restaurant was great for the amount of people they have to cater for, loads of choices, something for everyone and the cava at breakfast was a welcome touch!
The surrounding area is really nice, lovely promenade with nice bars and restaurants, couple of supermarkets.
The only thing that would probably stop us going again is that I would say the hotel is more for families as there were lots of children at the hotel. Then again we did know it was a family hotel before we went! I would say its a perfect hotel for people with children but maybe as we don't have children we will stick to hotels aimed more at adults in the future.
In summary a gorgeous hotel with great staff in a really nice area. Enjoy!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank eainmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear eainmk,
Thank you for spending your recent holidays in the Lopesan Baobab Resort and also for sharing your opinion about your stay with other travelers all over the world.
It is good know that in general you had a good stay. We will like to comment that of course families are welcome in our hotel, but also the couples can find a relaxing and quite area for them (for example the relax and palm pools).
We would just like to mention that we have kettles on request for our guests. If you visit us again, please, request it in reception.
Thank you again for your confidence in us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
With best regards,
Begoña Ramírez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meloneras
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.4 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
0.2 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,134 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,656 reviews
4.1 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lopesan Baobab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopesan Baobab Resort

Address: Mar Adriatico, 1, 35100 Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Meloneras
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Price Range: £165 - £441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lopesan Baobab Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 677
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lopesan Baobab Resort Location Exclusive luxury Lopesan Baobab Resort was inaugurated in 2009; it is located in the south of the island of Gran Canaria, in the exclusive Meloneras holiday area, just a few walking minutes away from the extensive, several kilometres long, Maspalomas beach and the impressive landscape of sand dunes. Famous Maspalomas lighthouse is situated nearby, as well as the long coastside promenade. ExpoMeloneras Convention Centre is also located only a few steps away from the hotel. General description Five-star hotel Lopesan Baobab Resort has become one of the preferred destinations for family holidays of Spanish national tourists. Thanks to the uniqueness of its architecture inspired by the African continent, its impressive water landscapes with pools, rivers and waterfalls, as well as the high quality services offered, this hotel shows off ethnic charm, modernity and refinement. The hotel’s main entrance leads guests over a picturesque wooden bridge to the reception area, passing a grandiose aquatic landscape with waterfalls. From the lobby you can reach the hotel rooms or the large garden area, on a surface of 56,000 square metres, in the centre of which a large 21 metres high wooden African lodge is located; this lodge houses a restaurant and a bar. Common areas are connected by an extensive sheet of water crisscrossed by small bridges. In total there are nine swimming pools (all of them heatable at different temperatures) covering a total surface of 4,245 square metres. Specially outstanding are: the “lazy river”, two artificial beaches, pools with waterfalls and caves, the “chocolate” pool (the name of which refers to its brown colour) and the “two palm trees” pool, as well as a pool with water attractions for children and babies. The hotel’s leisure and recreation areas are enriched even more by a complete entertainment programme with a variety of activities during the day and in the evenings. Materials used for the hotel’s interior decoration and design were carefully chosen searching the appropriate item for every single corner of the hotel complex. On the walls of the hotel’s buffet restaurants guests will appreciate layers of natural coconut and wooden bricks, as well as French porcelain stoneware on the floors of the pool areas. Regarding the hotel rooms an exquisite finishing with high-quality woodwork and sound insulation was chosen. Other materials which can be found around the hotel are dry bamboo, die-cut steel or coloured mortar with added shredded straw to simulate adobe. Rooms The rooms’ interior design carefully combines colour schemes and African ambience. The Lopesan Baobab was built on a plot of 72,000 square metres with a total of 522 standard double rooms, 8 of them modified for guests with limited mobility and 17 deluxe double rooms with pool, perfect for guests looking for privacy, romanticism and/or relaxation; there are also 55 family doubles and 15 family doubles with direct access to the “chocolate” and the “two palm trees” pools, as well as 8 superior double rooms, 40 junior suites, 20 senior suites and 1 royal suite. There is no doubt that the hotel’s different room categories can meet any requirement or need guests may have, since they can choose from comfortable standard rooms, spacious family rooms, luxury rooms or magnificent suites for young and old. All rooms offer excellent views which vary depending on their location, as for example beautiful panoramic views on the dunes, on the nearby palm oasis, on the hotel’s garden area or the island’s mountain landscape. Gastronomy The Lopesan Baobab Resort offers high quality cuisine in all restaurants, characterized by an elevated level of creativity. For this purpose the hotel’s select kitchen staff puts special emphasis on using the best products and on preparing them in presence of the hotel guests. The ‘Akara’ Restaurant is only open for dinner and its name refers to an African recipe; it offers flavours from the very heart of Africa with a menu committed to originality. The hotel’s second a la carte restaurant is the ‘Pili Pili’ Restaurant, open at lunchtime and specialised in paellas, seafood and grilled meat. Furthermore, there are two buffet restaurants, the ’Marula’ and the ‘Baobab’, the premises of which are conveniently separated to provide differentiated atmospheres where delicacies from international occidental cuisine are served. The restaurants’ wine cellar provides an excellent selection of the finest wines from around the world as a complement to the great gastronomic offer. The hotel also hosts five bars, two of them located in the pool areas; Henry Stanley bar and Mungo Park Bar complete the resort’s restaurant and bar options. Leisure and sports activities The hotel has at its guests’ disposal a complete and varied entertainment programme, offering something for everybody. Many of the organised activities take place during the day and in the evenings, when it’s just the right time to have a drink or enjoy professional shows on the hotel’s outdoor plaza, on a specially designed stage, next to the magnificent African lodge. Furthermore the resort offers a fully-equipped gym and a varied wellness programme, as well as other activities for sports fans. For golf fans the golf courses of Meloneras Golf and Maspalomas Golf are available and a free bus shuttle service to these golf courses is provided by the hotel. For the little hotel guests fun is guaranteed at the hotel’s Panchi World Mini-Club with a stage and two pools for children, one of them with a water-slide. The Lopesan Baobab Resort also houses specially equipped rooms for conferences, conventions and events with highly functional and stylish facilities which can be easily modified and adapted to hold particular events. The hotel’s large panoramic ‘Karisimbi’ room is specially outstanding with a size of 1,002 square metres and a capacity for 800 persons, the perfect choice for any kind of celebration, conference or event. To complete the hotel’s range of services there are, among others, a hairdressing salon with beauty treatments and massages, a boutique & souvenir shop and a private parking area (with extra charge), as well as a babysitter/nanny service (with extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lopesan Baobab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lopesan Baobab Hotel Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing