We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A week of relax in a fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lopesan Baobab Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Como, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A week of relax in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I've been here with my husband for a week ( after 4 days in Madrid )
Everything has been perfect .. the food was VERY VERY VERY good
The breakfast was incredible ,.. so many croissant ,.. biscuits .. cakes...and eggs... bacon .. everithing yu wanted .. it was there !
The staff was really polite
Rooms were really clean
The hotel is near to Dunas / sea and to the town ..5 minutes by walk
I really recommend this hotel to all of yu
5 stars FOR SURE !!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Oriana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Oriana B,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and also for your kind review.
We are happy to have met your expectations and we are very much looking forward
welcoming you back soon
Best regards
Begoña Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,452
    1,213
    426
    121
    103
See reviews for
2,322
2,240
67
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Incredible experience when you first arrive in the dark. Waterfalls, jungle sounds, lights, tropical forests. Amazing never experienced anything quite like it. You could be in Las Vegas! Really beautiful resort, pool and all the special effect lights so effective, lovely bars great entertainment like the kind you would hear at high end event in London. we were upgraded to a beautiful ground floor room near the pool. room was gorgeous though a double bed would have been preferable to two single pushed together. Stylish glass bathroom with huge bath and shower system. Toilet separate though a wash basin in the actual toilet would be useful instead of the basin in that main area. Balcony beautiful as twelve steps form a swimming pool. Numerous pools are scattered throughout the resort. Some of these were adult pools and unfortunately children are jumping and splashing in them so they did not respect this rule! We were there at a busy time where there were too many children so that was quite annoying. Sometimes we never got a sun lounger and walked round the entire resort looking for one. So I would recommend you choose this hotel at less busy time you would enjoy it much more. the breakfast was fantastic incredible choice. We were half board food was buffet style vast section and very good especially the lobster tails. My only gripe is that it was very noisy, trolleys with plates and bowls loudly clattering around as they replenished supplies and crockery. It was not exactly relaxing. This was especially noticeable at breakfast if you were dining indoors. Outside the bedrooms there is an enormous atrium with huge palms and exotic plants and ponds with terrapins and exotic fish swimming in them. Its truly amazing the design is just fantastic! Staff were all highly professional and polite. Service was first class. Perhaps just too many children at holiday time. The beach is a short walk away (10 to 15 mins) and really spectacular with amazing sand dunes. I think Grand Canaria has the best beaches in the Canaries! This hotel is definitely the best one on the island and Melonoeras is a classy and tasteful resort. No Club Ibiza here!! Go, just for the experience, at a quiet time for couples and if you have kids you will want to go at peak time to enjoy the liveliness!

Room Tip: Ground floor room near the smaller pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenaScotlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear HelenaScotlandUK,
It is good to hear that you have a good time with us and we thank you letting us know your
opinion.
We are very proud of our African theme and it is always nice to hear that our guests also enjoy
it.
Regarding your comment about the noise in the restaurant during the service, we do apologize for the inconveniences caused and I assure you I'll send them to the person in charge, in order the staff can improve it.
We are looking forward to your next stay and remain
With best regards
Begoña Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We visited the hotel for a week from 21st apr 14 with our 2 1/2 year old and our 7month old girl. This is the 4th visit to the hotel in less than 2 years and it never fails to make us feel good. The hotel staff are fantastic and a real credit to lopesan. Nothing is too much trouble and they are always smiling.
The food is good quality, although the choice was not as good as previously, but maybe the time of year had something to do with this, and we don't have a problem with the food at all.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and this resort as the best resort on the island having stayed in others in the past.
Thanks lopesan, see you later in the year for our next holiday.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Powerkut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Powerkut,
We are glad that you have enjoyed again your stay and also that you have found the time to valuate
us on Tripadvisor. We are happy to know that you have met your expectations with us once more and we hope that you will visit us again in the near future and remain
Withy best regards
Begoña Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Quality environment, quality personnel, quality food, fantastic gardens and beautiful pool area. Originality in the decors. Restaurants have really wide opening hours and serve excellent food.Definitely recommended, and will go back! One lowlight : Wifi very slow and switching off in common areas, not existing in room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Annick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Annick V,
Thank you for having chosen the Lopesan Baobab Resort as the place to spend your holiday
and for taking time to share your opinion regarding our facilities and services in Trypadvisor.
We thank you for your nice comments.We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Please let us add, that new since last week, we have a new service for our guest s regarding
the wifi connection. It is also with charge. Our guests will enjoy WIFI access with the new connectivity service
"Mobile Internet Access" in any location of the island where there is 3g or 4g coverage, and we
trust to have solved our connection problems with this new service.
We would be honored if we could welcome you again in the near future and remain
With best regards
Begoña Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Incredible hotel, like in paradise :) Many pools, beautiful landscape, great facilities, great animation for children and very friendly staff. Downsite: Expensive internet and two mattress for a couple

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Anna P,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel in the first place and also for your kind review on Tripadvisor.
Regarding your comment about the two mattresses in the room,we would like to inform you that due to the room originally booked a double bed was not possible, but when we receive of our guest a request of having double bed, we prepare the 2 single beds together with the beddings of a double bed.
We are very much looking forward welcoming you back soon
Best regards
Begoña Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I visited this hotel alongside my boyfriend and i must say, the best holiday we've ever been on! We stayed for 7 days and from the first moment we arrived, we were amazed! the hotel staff were very accommodating. The room was lovely and clean, food was great (full board); especially liked trying the zebra and ostrich. With 7 pools and great entertainment in the evenings, you certainly never get bored. We did quite a few excursions whilst in Gran canaria such as; palmitos park, the waterpark, trip to playa del ingles, camel ride and even horse riding in the mountains which one of the friendly staff organised for us with a pick up as well. I cannot praise this hotel enough, the only problem is it will be hard to beat this holiday again! Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarawhite93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Sarawhite93,
It is good to hear that you and your boyfriend have a good time with us and we thank you for have chosen us and for sharing your opinion.
We are looking forward to your next stay and remain
With best regards
Begoña Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed as a family at the Lopesan in October 2013 for two weeks and again this Easter for another two weeks.

This hotel ticks all the boxes for us, we are a 70-year old, 50 something and 13-year old boy so to try and find a hotel which keeps us all happy is a challenge at times.

The Lopesan has quiet shady areas in its grounds, plenty of sunbeds in full sunshine for the sun-worshipers and entertainment which is absolutely not 'in your face' should you wish to join in too.

There's a table tennis table near the 'family pool' on the Plaza Marimba which is where the entertainment team appeared from and seemed to be the 'hub' for meeting. The basket ball court is surrounded by palms offering shade at the other end of the hotel. Florijan from the entertainment team exuded great energy and enthusiasm every day and made everyone welcome to join in.

For those who wish to hide in a book, there are loads of places around the pools and gardens which are quiet and surrounded by lovely vegetation. If you like palms trees then this is your place. The gardeners are working day in day pruning and sweeping keeping the grounds immaculate.

Talking of immaculate, the hotel is so clean. I have a thing about public loos...especially those by swimming pools...these are spotless. Everything in the hotel is washed, polished, wiped ad swept continually.

All the hotel staff we encountered were extremely polite and courteous. It was obvious they enjoyed working there.

Rooms, well there are so many to choose from and they all have different features and benefits. Ones with the pool and garden view don't get the afternoon sun for example so its better to have one looking over the front of the hotel. There are two swimming pools near the front of the hotel too.

I used the gym a couple of times only because I packed my kit and felt I ought to. Good equipment, spotlessly clean and plenty of towels.

The food is very nice and caters for all tastes and there is a choice of two restaurants to use - the food is the same in each but it just makes a change. There are two other restaurants a la carte which are not included in the normal half-board package but discounts are available. One serves delicacies such as kangaroo steak, ostrich and other similar items!

Little things make the hotel stay, for example the shower gel is actually really nice! Which with weight restrictions these days is a help. There is a little welcome selection of cleanser, toner, cotton wool etc as well as the usual moisturiser. If you would like a kettle for the room - ask reception for one and it shall be delivered. There is a good size fridge in the room which you can use for your own purchases.

We all had a lovely really relaxing time and are really looking forward to returning to the hotel another time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveHols61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Lois T,
Thank you for taking your time to review our so detailed our hotel and of course for choosing us now for spending your holidays.
We are glad about your positive comments, especially about your kind words about our staff, which is of highest importance for us and the whole group.
We are looking forward to your next stay and remain
With best regards
Begoña Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meloneras
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.4 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
0.2 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 218 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#3 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lopesan Baobab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopesan Baobab Resort

Property: Lopesan Baobab Resort
Address: Mar Adriatico, 1, 35100 Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Meloneras
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lopesan Baobab Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 677
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lopesan Baobab Resort Location Exclusive luxury Lopesan Baobab Resort was inaugurated in 2009; it is located in the south of the island of Gran Canaria, in the exclusive Meloneras holiday area, just a few walking minutes away from the extensive, several kilometres long, Maspalomas beach and the impressive landscape of sand dunes. Famous Maspalomas lighthouse is situated nearby, as well as the long coastside promenade. ExpoMeloneras Convention Centre is also located only a few steps away from the hotel. General description Five-star hotel Lopesan Baobab Resort has become one of the preferred destinations for family holidays of Spanish national tourists. Thanks to the uniqueness of its architecture inspired by the African continent, its impressive water landscapes with pools, rivers and waterfalls, as well as the high quality services offered, this hotel shows off ethnic charm, modernity and refinement. The hotel’s main entrance leads guests over a picturesque wooden bridge to the reception area, passing a grandiose aquatic landscape with waterfalls. From the lobby you can reach the hotel rooms or the large garden area, on a surface of 56,000 square metres, in the centre of which a large 21 metres high wooden African lodge is located; this lodge houses a restaurant and a bar. Common areas are connected by an extensive sheet of water crisscrossed by small bridges. In total there are nine swimming pools (all of them heatable at different temperatures) covering a total surface of 4,245 square metres. Specially outstanding are: the “lazy river”, two artificial beaches, pools with waterfalls and caves, the “chocolate” pool (the name of which refers to its brown colour) and the “two palm trees” pool, as well as a pool with water attractions for children and babies. The hotel’s leisure and recreation areas are enriched even more by a complete entertainment programme with a variety of activities during the day and in the evenings. Materials used for the hotel’s interior decoration and design were carefully chosen searching the appropriate item for every single corner of the hotel complex. On the walls of the hotel’s buffet restaurants guests will appreciate layers of natural coconut and wooden bricks, as well as French porcelain stoneware on the floors of the pool areas. Regarding the hotel rooms an exquisite finishing with high-quality woodwork and sound insulation was chosen. Other materials which can be found around the hotel are dry bamboo, die-cut steel or coloured mortar with added shredded straw to simulate adobe. Rooms The rooms’ interior design carefully combines colour schemes and African ambience. The Lopesan Baobab was built on a plot of 72,000 square metres with a total of 522 standard double rooms, 8 of them modified for guests with limited mobility and 17 deluxe double rooms with pool, perfect for guests looking for privacy, romanticism and/or relaxation; there are also 55 family doubles and 15 family doubles with direct access to the “chocolate” and the “two palm trees” pools, as well as 8 superior double rooms, 40 junior suites, 20 senior suites and 1 royal suite. There is no doubt that the hotel’s different room categories can meet any requirement or need guests may have, since they can choose from comfortable standard rooms, spacious family rooms, luxury rooms or magnificent suites for young and old. All rooms offer excellent views which vary depending on their location, as for example beautiful panoramic views on the dunes, on the nearby palm oasis, on the hotel’s garden area or the island’s mountain landscape. Gastronomy The Lopesan Baobab Resort offers high quality cuisine in all restaurants, characterized by an elevated level of creativity. For this purpose the hotel’s select kitchen staff puts special emphasis on using the best products and on preparing them in presence of the hotel guests. The ‘Akara’ Restaurant is only open for dinner and its name refers to an African recipe; it offers flavours from the very heart of Africa with a menu committed to originality. The hotel’s second a la carte restaurant is the ‘Pili Pili’ Restaurant, open at lunchtime and specialised in paellas, seafood and grilled meat. Furthermore, there are two buffet restaurants, the ’Marula’ and the ‘Baobab’, the premises of which are conveniently separated to provide differentiated atmospheres where delicacies from international occidental cuisine are served. The restaurants’ wine cellar provides an excellent selection of the finest wines from around the world as a complement to the great gastronomic offer. The hotel also hosts five bars, two of them located in the pool areas; Henry Stanley bar and Mungo Park Bar complete the resort’s restaurant and bar options. Leisure and sports activities The hotel has at its guests’ disposal a complete and varied entertainment programme, offering something for everybody. Many of the organised activities take place during the day and in the evenings, when it’s just the right time to have a drink or enjoy professional shows on the hotel’s outdoor plaza, on a specially designed stage, next to the magnificent African lodge. Furthermore the resort offers a fully-equipped gym and a varied wellness programme, as well as other activities for sports fans. For golf fans the golf courses of Meloneras Golf and Maspalomas Golf are available and a free bus shuttle service to these golf courses is provided by the hotel. For the little hotel guests fun is guaranteed at the hotel’s Panchi World Mini-Club with a stage and two pools for children, one of them with a water-slide. The Lopesan Baobab Resort also houses specially equipped rooms for conferences, conventions and events with highly functional and stylish facilities which can be easily modified and adapted to hold particular events. The hotel’s large panoramic ‘Karisimbi’ room is specially outstanding with a size of 1,002 square metres and a capacity for 800 persons, the perfect choice for any kind of celebration, conference or event. To complete the hotel’s range of services there are, among others, a hairdressing salon with beauty treatments and massages, a boutique & souvenir shop and a private parking area (with extra charge), as well as a babysitter/nanny service (with extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lopesan Baobab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lopesan Baobab Hotel Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing