We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant stay away from the Baobab!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lopesan Baobab Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Cant stay away from the Baobab!!!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just returned from our third visit to the Baobab. We had looked at other resorts before booking but just couldn't find anywhere to match this hotel.

It is still as excellent as ever! Such lovely lovely staff in every area of the hotel. Food excellent and I would probably say it had the best selection ever in the buffet dinner this year. We were booked in a standard room with Thompson Holidays. Our room was on the first floor (1113) overlooking the Villa del Conde. This was a lovely side to be on. Large balcony with evening sun and very quite. Would definitely request this side again. First week in June is the time to go, the hotel was so quite. There was a conference on so the hotel had very few actual tourists staying and i'm not joking when I say that about 70% of the sunbeds were free, including the beachside ones!! Crazy!

Its almost impossible to fault this hotel or to find anywhere as good for families or couples. I would like to see maybe a movie channel in english on the tv that the kids could watch and maybe a couple of kids options on the pool bar menu.

We cant wait to return again soon and would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone, you will love it!!

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms have bigger balconies and the villa del conde side get the evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank IrelandShelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear IrelandShelly,
We would like to thank you for taking your time to evaluate your stay on Tripadvisor and also for choosing our hotel again for your recent break. I do apologize for being late answering you.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and also that you were so satisfied with quality of our buffet restaurants.
We would be honored to welcome you again soon and remain.
Begoña Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,526
    1,236
    435
    125
    110
See reviews for
2,377
2,292
68
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a great hotel and so relaxing with 9 pools and abundance of sunbeds (no towels down on sunbeds !!). Booked B&B only. Breakfast served until 11am which is magic - great choices. B&B gives you choice of other hotel restaurants and ones outside the hotel. Hotel prices are very reasonable. We travelled with our 9 year old boy and he just had a great time with the animation team. Have to commend Florian for his patience with the boys - football, ping pong, cocktail games, darts.... were all a hit. The mojito workshop for adults was fun and suggest you do more bingo. Florian (from the animation team) is excellent member of staff and made everything so much fun. If you have no kids and are looking for quiet area away from them, that exists also. Compliments to all staff, polite and attentive at all times. We will return......

Room Tip: Most pool facing rooms do not have evening sun. We stayed in room with evening sun and it was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjireland090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear sjireland090,
Thank you very much for your kind review and of course for have chosen us for your holidays. I do apologize for being late answering you.
We are happy that you had a good experience with us and we are especially glad about your comments about our staff, which is of enormous importance for us.
We would be honored to welcome you again soon and remain
With best regards
Begoña Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Well the hotel looks nice and fancy but it is not. Lots of service can not speak English. Rooms and everywhere else wood wood. Boring and no blow. U need to pay extra even for water. Water should be free. It is in all 5 star hotels I have been to. Food was nice every evening something different but every week same so 1 week would be enough :) big area to walk so that's an advantage. I would give maximum 4 stars for this hotel. Overpriced definitely.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ewuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Ewuk,
Thank you very much for your comments and also for your constructive criticism. I do apologize for being late answering you.
Regarding your comment about the skills of our staff in foreign languages, I would like to add, that the most percentage of the staff speaks spanish, english and german, and some of them, speaks also polish, norwegian, swedish, french and italian.
We are happy that overall you enjoyed your stay in the Lopesan Baobab Resort and we would love to welcome you and your family again in the near future.
Best regards
Begoña Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here in March 2013, for a week. Room very modern and reception area impressive with African themed architecture and sound effects. Given a glass of wine/ orange juice upon arrival and staff very friendly. Choice of pools to sit by and plenty of sun beds. Short walk to the beach and from here you can walk right across the sand dunes. Lovely holiday - would visit again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesBecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear JamesBecks,
Thank you so much for having chosen our hotel for your recent trip to Gran Canaria and also for posting your opinion on Tripadvisor. I do apologize for being late answering you.
We are glad that you have only good things to say and would be delighted to welcome you again soon
With best regards
Begoña Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I'm going to keep this review short and sweet - I defy anyone not to love this hotel. Incredible. 2nd visit here and will definitely be returning. Can't pick fault with any part of it. Never a fight for a sun bed, plenty of great pools to choose from, amazing selection of food, bedrooms are fabulous, staff friendly. You get the idea! Book book book! X

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Mullen76
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for second time and also for your kind review on Tripadvisor. I do apologize for being late answering you.
We are happy to have met your expectations and we are very much looking forward welcoming you back soon
Best regards
Begoña Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gb
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is our third visit in 12 months so I suppose that tells you what we think of baobab, the rooms are always immaculate, staff are brilliant and the general attention to detail is impeccable throughout the hotel! Although the hotel is large it is designed in a way were it still feels quite intimate and it never feels crowded you really need to go to see for yourself how well everything is kept and the friendliness of the staff which create a very pleasant atmospher

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Isellcars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Isellcars,
Thank you so much for your loyalty. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay for third time in this year with us.
I do apologize for being late answering your nice posting in Trypadvisor. Thank you.
We would be honored to welcome you again soon and remain
Kind regards,
Begoña Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We don't normally return to a hotel as we like to visit different places but this was our second visit to Lopesan Baobab. We stayed for 2 weeks last August, and have just spent another week during school half term in May. Most people that we spoke to in the hotel are return visitors. The coach transfer even told its own story, with 90% of the passengers on board getting off at this hotel.
Our recent visit was just as good as the first. Anyone who has a problem with this hotel must be very fussy or very unlucky, we could not fault it again. Every member of staff deserves a special mention because everything runs so smoothly throughout the hotel. The bar staff, restaurant staff and reception staff are all very friendly and helpful, the cleaners and gardeners are meticulous in their work as everywhere is spotless.
It is a very big hotel and we even found some areas that we did not see last year! The African theme and stunning architecture make it a beautiful place to stay.
Wifi and TV does not interest us while we are on holiday, but both are available.
We saw some evidence of the reserving of sun beds rule being enforced, which made it easy to find a sun bed at any time of the day. Last year some people were reserving 2 sets of sun beds each ( one in the sun, one in the shade).
The surrounding area is also lovely, although we did not venture out too often as the hotel experience is so wonderful. We watched a film at the moonlight cinema nearby, which was lovely.
All in all, if you want a relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings and friendly staff, this place is perfect. The only down side is that you have to come home and trying to book anywhere better for next year could be very difficult. We will almost certainly return again.
We did have some issues with Thomson prior to the holiday, but the holiday itself was great.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanKim66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear AlanKim66,
Thank you very much for your kind review and for have chosen us for second time. I do apologize for being late answering you.
We are happy that you had a good experience with us and we are especially glad about your comments about our staff, which is of enormous importance for us.
We would be honored to welcome you again soon and remain
With best regards
Begoña Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meloneras
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.4 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
0.2 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,075 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#5 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,587 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#3 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lopesan Baobab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopesan Baobab Resort

Property: Lopesan Baobab Resort
Address: Mar Adriatico, 1, 35100 Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Meloneras
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lopesan Baobab Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 677
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lopesan Baobab Resort Location Exclusive luxury Lopesan Baobab Resort was inaugurated in 2009; it is located in the south of the island of Gran Canaria, in the exclusive Meloneras holiday area, just a few walking minutes away from the extensive, several kilometres long, Maspalomas beach and the impressive landscape of sand dunes. Famous Maspalomas lighthouse is situated nearby, as well as the long coastside promenade. ExpoMeloneras Convention Centre is also located only a few steps away from the hotel. General description Five-star hotel Lopesan Baobab Resort has become one of the preferred destinations for family holidays of Spanish national tourists. Thanks to the uniqueness of its architecture inspired by the African continent, its impressive water landscapes with pools, rivers and waterfalls, as well as the high quality services offered, this hotel shows off ethnic charm, modernity and refinement. The hotel’s main entrance leads guests over a picturesque wooden bridge to the reception area, passing a grandiose aquatic landscape with waterfalls. From the lobby you can reach the hotel rooms or the large garden area, on a surface of 56,000 square metres, in the centre of which a large 21 metres high wooden African lodge is located; this lodge houses a restaurant and a bar. Common areas are connected by an extensive sheet of water crisscrossed by small bridges. In total there are nine swimming pools (all of them heatable at different temperatures) covering a total surface of 4,245 square metres. Specially outstanding are: the “lazy river”, two artificial beaches, pools with waterfalls and caves, the “chocolate” pool (the name of which refers to its brown colour) and the “two palm trees” pool, as well as a pool with water attractions for children and babies. The hotel’s leisure and recreation areas are enriched even more by a complete entertainment programme with a variety of activities during the day and in the evenings. Materials used for the hotel’s interior decoration and design were carefully chosen searching the appropriate item for every single corner of the hotel complex. On the walls of the hotel’s buffet restaurants guests will appreciate layers of natural coconut and wooden bricks, as well as French porcelain stoneware on the floors of the pool areas. Regarding the hotel rooms an exquisite finishing with high-quality woodwork and sound insulation was chosen. Other materials which can be found around the hotel are dry bamboo, die-cut steel or coloured mortar with added shredded straw to simulate adobe. Rooms The rooms’ interior design carefully combines colour schemes and African ambience. The Lopesan Baobab was built on a plot of 72,000 square metres with a total of 522 standard double rooms, 8 of them modified for guests with limited mobility and 17 deluxe double rooms with pool, perfect for guests looking for privacy, romanticism and/or relaxation; there are also 55 family doubles and 15 family doubles with direct access to the “chocolate” and the “two palm trees” pools, as well as 8 superior double rooms, 40 junior suites, 20 senior suites and 1 royal suite. There is no doubt that the hotel’s different room categories can meet any requirement or need guests may have, since they can choose from comfortable standard rooms, spacious family rooms, luxury rooms or magnificent suites for young and old. All rooms offer excellent views which vary depending on their location, as for example beautiful panoramic views on the dunes, on the nearby palm oasis, on the hotel’s garden area or the island’s mountain landscape. Gastronomy The Lopesan Baobab Resort offers high quality cuisine in all restaurants, characterized by an elevated level of creativity. For this purpose the hotel’s select kitchen staff puts special emphasis on using the best products and on preparing them in presence of the hotel guests. The ‘Akara’ Restaurant is only open for dinner and its name refers to an African recipe; it offers flavours from the very heart of Africa with a menu committed to originality. The hotel’s second a la carte restaurant is the ‘Pili Pili’ Restaurant, open at lunchtime and specialised in paellas, seafood and grilled meat. Furthermore, there are two buffet restaurants, the ’Marula’ and the ‘Baobab’, the premises of which are conveniently separated to provide differentiated atmospheres where delicacies from international occidental cuisine are served. The restaurants’ wine cellar provides an excellent selection of the finest wines from around the world as a complement to the great gastronomic offer. The hotel also hosts five bars, two of them located in the pool areas; Henry Stanley bar and Mungo Park Bar complete the resort’s restaurant and bar options. Leisure and sports activities The hotel has at its guests’ disposal a complete and varied entertainment programme, offering something for everybody. Many of the organised activities take place during the day and in the evenings, when it’s just the right time to have a drink or enjoy professional shows on the hotel’s outdoor plaza, on a specially designed stage, next to the magnificent African lodge. Furthermore the resort offers a fully-equipped gym and a varied wellness programme, as well as other activities for sports fans. For golf fans the golf courses of Meloneras Golf and Maspalomas Golf are available and a free bus shuttle service to these golf courses is provided by the hotel. For the little hotel guests fun is guaranteed at the hotel’s Panchi World Mini-Club with a stage and two pools for children, one of them with a water-slide. The Lopesan Baobab Resort also houses specially equipped rooms for conferences, conventions and events with highly functional and stylish facilities which can be easily modified and adapted to hold particular events. The hotel’s large panoramic ‘Karisimbi’ room is specially outstanding with a size of 1,002 square metres and a capacity for 800 persons, the perfect choice for any kind of celebration, conference or event. To complete the hotel’s range of services there are, among others, a hairdressing salon with beauty treatments and massages, a boutique & souvenir shop and a private parking area (with extra charge), as well as a babysitter/nanny service (with extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotelopia, Prestigia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lopesan Baobab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lopesan Baobab Hotel Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing