We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort for Families!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lopesan Baobab Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Resort for Families!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Lopesan absolutely nailed it for us! .
Our 18mth yr old daughter couldn't get enough of the daily jaunt around the lovely grounds, floating through the huge interlinked swimming pools, searching for the amazing animals hidden behind every palm tree and building, it certainly kept us busy everyday. Also to note, only ten minutes walk from the safe, vast sandy dune beach of maspalomas.
Resort - as above - well kept, well spread out and the added extra of a zoo (alright it was plastic but still!)
Location - I would definitely pay the extra to get a private transfer to resort as the bus transfer can be a bit tedious. Adjacent to the resort there are plenty of restaurants and bars and a supermarket to get essentials; Bottled water, haribos, inflatable pool toys and a few cheeky beers.
Rooms - were a good size, regularly cleaned and nicely decorated. Request near the lazy river to be on the quieter side of resort.
Food - The buffet at meal times were immense (especially at breakfast!) So much choice and all freshly cooked and sourced. Good for hungry little naïve palates!
Drinks - if you compare to the UK, slightly cheaper but then again it is a 4/5* resort. Away from the hotel, bars were marginally cheaper.
Service - Excellent, and the staff so friendly to the little people!
Entertainment - For the little ones it was throughout the day and evening - our daughter absolutely loved it even if she was a bit young for some bits. For the adults we heard it was great from other guests, but unfortunately missed every night due to retiring to the room to rejuvenate our batteries (especially mum & dads) plan the next days adventure (daughters dreams) oh and consume those "cheeky beers"!

We would definitely recommend to all of you with families, and won't be keeping this secret from our friends and family alike! Cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: All of the rooms surrounding the lazy river (where we were) seemed to be quieter and away from the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eastendhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear eastendhammer,
Thank you for having chosen the Lopesan Baobab Resort in the first place and also for your nice and detailed review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially as it was with your baby, and it's nice to hear that she enjoyed also our hotel.
We would be glad to welcome you again in the near future and remain
With best regards
Begoña Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,634
    1,280
    450
    136
    113
See reviews for
2,485
2,344
69
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (836)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed between 23rd to 30th June, place is perfect for families with young children. Food quality is excellent, staff are all helpful the 7 pools are great. Resort is good too, really clean nice area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ZurgIsMyFather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear ZurgIsMyFather,
Thank you so much for having chosen our hotel for your recent trip to Gran Canaria and also for posting your opinion on Tripadvisor.
We are glad that you have only good things to say and would be delighted to welcome you again soon
With best regards
Begoña Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Another wonderful stay at the Baobab, we can highly recommend this hotel.
Great rooms, wonderful grounds and a lovely area.
We recommend you take the boat from Aguineguin to Puerta Mogan and have lunch


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Michael D,
We are glad that you had a fantastic holiday and we appreciate that you have shared your experiences in the Lopesan Baobab Resort with other travelers on Tripadvisor.
We would be happy to welcome you back again soon and remain
With best regards
Begoña Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our second trip this year to the hotel. We simply had to go back after a lovely Sept trip, but were slightly disappointed second time around. The area is lovely, rather swanky, lacking an evening music bar but very nice and relaxing. The hotel itself has a fantastic pool set up, with a beach pool, lazy river and alternatives. There are always sun beds available (certainly in June). The staff are friendly and professional and in my view the food is excellent. The salad choice is superb and there are meat and fish options every day. Breakfast is plentiful and is served till eleven facilitating a nice relaxing holiday.

The rooms are large and clean, great showers and baths. Our only real complaints are the noise and the internet. This year we had a room in the main reception area and that was a mistake. The reception has no ceiling which looks great but it means that the noise from there and the bar area spreads across the hotel. We are not party animals and were in bed by eleven, but sleep was extremely difficult because of the noise from fellow travellers as they returned to their rooms. The rooms themselves have no sound proofing and you can hear the people next door even when just talking. This really impacted on us, as did the fact that the hotel was packed with young children, many of whom seemed to spend the night crying. The free internet is too bad for words, incredibly slow and unreliable. Strange given that the paid internet reception was excellent
All in all a lovely hotel, great design, great pool, nice staff but a few major issues that are unlikely to see us return

Room Tip: ask for a room away from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dean o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear dean o,
First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the Lopesan Baobab Resort again and also for sharing your experiences with other travelers on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry that we haven´t met with your expectations on your second stay and we would like to apologize for thoses inconveniences you mentioned during your stay. It would be perfect to offer you another room on a quite area of the hotel.
We hope that you will give us a second chance and that we can welcome you again with us on a future stay in Gran Canaria.
Best regards
Begoña Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at the Baobab from 19.6 till the 30.6.2014 This was our fourth stay in this hotel,people might say why and that is easily explained.
Fantastic hotel,spotlessly clean,good food,staff allways pleasant and smiling and will allways speak. The pools are clean and we'll looked after, as for people reserving sunbeds yes this did happened twice but the hotel DID act on this so it is obvious the management is trying to sort this problem out. So will we return yes we will

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Paul W,
Thank you very much for visiting our hotel again, for forth time, and also for your loyalty to the Lopesan Baobab Resort.
We are very happy that we have provided you a perfect holiday and we are very much looking forward to your next stay.
Please do not hesitate to get in contact with us if you have any special wish or request.
Best regards
Begoña Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here for a week in March 2014. As has previously been said the hotel was great, lots of pools and always a sunbed available. The rooms were nice and the wet room bathroom and shower were great. I thought the staff round the pool and in the restaurants were good but some of the reception staff were rude at times and did not provide a great service.

The food in the hotel was of a really good standard. They were more than happy to cook meet and fish fresh in front of you.

The thing that let this hotel down for us was the entertainment. We normally don't finish eating until 9.30pm and by that time the entertainment was finishing. There was a bar upstairs that had a African group but they played the same set list night after night. We found out on our last night that one of the sister hotels has a disco bar and if we had known this earlier in the holiday we would have made use of it. The bars and restaurants in Melanores are within walking distance and they were busy during the day but on a night they were empty, probably because the resort centred around the hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilly1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Gilly1970,
Thank you for visiting the Lopesan Baobab Resort and also for sharing your experiences with other travelers on Tripadvisor.
We are glad that the better part of your experience has been good, but of course we are quite concerned about your comments regarding the friendliness of our reception staff, which normally is one of our most praised qualities.
We would like to mention that our shows start in winter at 21.00 (finish at 21.45) and in summer start at 21.30 (finish at 22.15), but we do have also, as you have mentioned, a home live band daily that finish at 23.30 hrs.
With best regards
Begoña Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Excellent hotel, would definitely recommend it and I will return in the future. Particularly good for young children and families, I have a 4 year old daughter who had a ball. Friendly staff, very clean. Excellent variety of food at both the breakfast and dinner buffets.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marie Therese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Lopesan Baobab Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Marie Therese B,
We would like to thank you for taking your time to evaluate your stay on Tripadvisor and also for choosing our hotel for your recent holidays.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and also that you were so satisfied with quality of our buffet restaurants. We are especially happy that your daughter also had fun.
We are looking forward to your next stay with us and remain
With best regards
Begoña Ramírez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meloneras
0.2 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
0.4 mi away
Lopesan Villa del Conde Resort & Corallium Thalasso
0.2 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,107 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,633 reviews
4.1 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lopesan Baobab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopesan Baobab Resort

Property: Lopesan Baobab Resort
Address: Mar Adriatico, 1, 35100 Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Meloneras
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lopesan Baobab Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 677
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lopesan Baobab Resort Location Exclusive luxury Lopesan Baobab Resort was inaugurated in 2009; it is located in the south of the island of Gran Canaria, in the exclusive Meloneras holiday area, just a few walking minutes away from the extensive, several kilometres long, Maspalomas beach and the impressive landscape of sand dunes. Famous Maspalomas lighthouse is situated nearby, as well as the long coastside promenade. ExpoMeloneras Convention Centre is also located only a few steps away from the hotel. General description Five-star hotel Lopesan Baobab Resort has become one of the preferred destinations for family holidays of Spanish national tourists. Thanks to the uniqueness of its architecture inspired by the African continent, its impressive water landscapes with pools, rivers and waterfalls, as well as the high quality services offered, this hotel shows off ethnic charm, modernity and refinement. The hotel’s main entrance leads guests over a picturesque wooden bridge to the reception area, passing a grandiose aquatic landscape with waterfalls. From the lobby you can reach the hotel rooms or the large garden area, on a surface of 56,000 square metres, in the centre of which a large 21 metres high wooden African lodge is located; this lodge houses a restaurant and a bar. Common areas are connected by an extensive sheet of water crisscrossed by small bridges. In total there are nine swimming pools (all of them heatable at different temperatures) covering a total surface of 4,245 square metres. Specially outstanding are: the “lazy river”, two artificial beaches, pools with waterfalls and caves, the “chocolate” pool (the name of which refers to its brown colour) and the “two palm trees” pool, as well as a pool with water attractions for children and babies. The hotel’s leisure and recreation areas are enriched even more by a complete entertainment programme with a variety of activities during the day and in the evenings. Materials used for the hotel’s interior decoration and design were carefully chosen searching the appropriate item for every single corner of the hotel complex. On the walls of the hotel’s buffet restaurants guests will appreciate layers of natural coconut and wooden bricks, as well as French porcelain stoneware on the floors of the pool areas. Regarding the hotel rooms an exquisite finishing with high-quality woodwork and sound insulation was chosen. Other materials which can be found around the hotel are dry bamboo, die-cut steel or coloured mortar with added shredded straw to simulate adobe. Rooms The rooms’ interior design carefully combines colour schemes and African ambience. The Lopesan Baobab was built on a plot of 72,000 square metres with a total of 522 standard double rooms, 8 of them modified for guests with limited mobility and 17 deluxe double rooms with pool, perfect for guests looking for privacy, romanticism and/or relaxation; there are also 55 family doubles and 15 family doubles with direct access to the “chocolate” and the “two palm trees” pools, as well as 8 superior double rooms, 40 junior suites, 20 senior suites and 1 royal suite. There is no doubt that the hotel’s different room categories can meet any requirement or need guests may have, since they can choose from comfortable standard rooms, spacious family rooms, luxury rooms or magnificent suites for young and old. All rooms offer excellent views which vary depending on their location, as for example beautiful panoramic views on the dunes, on the nearby palm oasis, on the hotel’s garden area or the island’s mountain landscape. Gastronomy The Lopesan Baobab Resort offers high quality cuisine in all restaurants, characterized by an elevated level of creativity. For this purpose the hotel’s select kitchen staff puts special emphasis on using the best products and on preparing them in presence of the hotel guests. The ‘Akara’ Restaurant is only open for dinner and its name refers to an African recipe; it offers flavours from the very heart of Africa with a menu committed to originality. The hotel’s second a la carte restaurant is the ‘Pili Pili’ Restaurant, open at lunchtime and specialised in paellas, seafood and grilled meat. Furthermore, there are two buffet restaurants, the ’Marula’ and the ‘Baobab’, the premises of which are conveniently separated to provide differentiated atmospheres where delicacies from international occidental cuisine are served. The restaurants’ wine cellar provides an excellent selection of the finest wines from around the world as a complement to the great gastronomic offer. The hotel also hosts five bars, two of them located in the pool areas; Henry Stanley bar and Mungo Park Bar complete the resort’s restaurant and bar options. Leisure and sports activities The hotel has at its guests’ disposal a complete and varied entertainment programme, offering something for everybody. Many of the organised activities take place during the day and in the evenings, when it’s just the right time to have a drink or enjoy professional shows on the hotel’s outdoor plaza, on a specially designed stage, next to the magnificent African lodge. Furthermore the resort offers a fully-equipped gym and a varied wellness programme, as well as other activities for sports fans. For golf fans the golf courses of Meloneras Golf and Maspalomas Golf are available and a free bus shuttle service to these golf courses is provided by the hotel. For the little hotel guests fun is guaranteed at the hotel’s Panchi World Mini-Club with a stage and two pools for children, one of them with a water-slide. The Lopesan Baobab Resort also houses specially equipped rooms for conferences, conventions and events with highly functional and stylish facilities which can be easily modified and adapted to hold particular events. The hotel’s large panoramic ‘Karisimbi’ room is specially outstanding with a size of 1,002 square metres and a capacity for 800 persons, the perfect choice for any kind of celebration, conference or event. To complete the hotel’s range of services there are, among others, a hairdressing salon with beauty treatments and massages, a boutique & souvenir shop and a private parking area (with extra charge), as well as a babysitter/nanny service (with extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, TravelUp, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lopesan Baobab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lopesan Baobab Hotel Maspalomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing